Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st November 2010, 23:31   #526
BHPian
 
ajman28's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chennai
Posts: 277
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Hello people.....
Need some help on Samsung galaxy3. Got one recently, pretty happy with it. Lately found an issue with the calls being dropped quite often. Now i don't know if its the fault with the phone or with the network. Can someone tell me how to determine this?
ajman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2010, 00:52   #527
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 645
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajman28 View Post
Hello people.....
Need some help on Samsung galaxy3. Got one recently, pretty happy with it. Lately found an issue with the calls being dropped quite often. Now i don't know if its the fault with the phone or with the network. Can someone tell me how to determine this?
Should be network only, i dont have such problem, using it from 1 month.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2010, 08:06   #528
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 161
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajman28 View Post
Hello people.....
Need some help on Samsung galaxy3. Got one recently, pretty happy with it. Lately found an issue with the calls being dropped quite often. Now i don't know if its the fault with the phone or with the network. Can someone tell me how to determine this?
I have no such problem on my galaxy 3 either. One way to determine if the problem is related to network or phone is to check if the problem reoccurs with another sim from a different service provider.
adnaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2010, 17:41   #529
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

I think samsung Galaxy 3 (5801) is USB compatible . from what i saw every where, if i am not mistaken.

however just saw samsung website which says USB : NO
Name:  5801.jpg
Views: 528
Size:  53.5 KB

how can such a big company make this blunder with its popular model ?
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2010, 09:17   #530
BHPian
 
munchy_cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: void (0)
Posts: 96
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

@ghpk - Samsung is a very careless company, they do not upgrade there phones to the latest Android as fast as HTC, have a look at the Galaxy S, that phone still does not have the official Android 2.2.
Another example is the Samsung Spica, a very capable phone but Samsung havent written drivers for a lot of things like the 3d driver from Samsung is pathetic, the phone has multitouch capability but no drivers (even though I now have multitouch on it) and the proximity sensor also does not have drivers coded.

All in all Samsung makes good phones but they are not able to support them with updates, HTC is way better than Samsung in this case.
munchy_cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2010, 12:51   #531
BHPian
 
hiren959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 339
Thanked: 50 Times
Default

I think Motorola Quench XT5 will be the best entry level Android 2.1 phone compare to Samsung Galaxy 3 and HTC Wildfire.
hiren959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2010, 22:48   #532
BHPian
 
akshay_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 363
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by munchy_cool View Post
Another example is the Samsung Spica, a very capable phone but Samsung havent written drivers for a lot of things like the 3d driver from Samsung is pathetic, the phone has multitouch capability but no drivers (even though I now have multitouch on it) and the proximity sensor also does not have drivers coded.
I agree with what you said, My spica with multitouch and wifi tether is as good as a 20k + android phone.
And are you sure about the proximity sensor on the spica?
akshay_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2010, 09:17   #533
BHPian
 
munchy_cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: void (0)
Posts: 96
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay_b View Post
I agree with what you said, My spica with multitouch and wifi tether is as good as a 20k + android phone.
And are you sure about the proximity sensor on the spica?
Well mine now has CyanogenMod Android 2.2 and the hardware shows it has a proximity sensor which was never coded for, the developers are as of now working on enabling the FM Radio which would make it a 22k phone and once the 3d drivers from one of the developers over at samdroid.net are complete it will be one hell of a phone.

The proximity sensor is not a priority among the developers as of now as they are working to get to Beta for Android 2.2 based on CyanogenMod's latest sources (6.1 Release Candidate 1).
munchy_cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2010, 09:56   #534
BHPian
 
schitre05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 430
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KRN View Post
In case you haven't figured it out yet:

Just press and hold the widget/icon that you want to delete. After half a second of holding, the phone will give haptic feedback (vibrate a bit) and you will now see a "remove" button at the bottom of the screen. Now, drag the widget/icon to the remove button and release your finger. It will be gone!
Thanks for that tip.... and no i hadn't figured that out, guess one needs to be smarter than that to actually use a smartphone

now HTC sync troubling me, does not recognize my phone (says phone not connected ?)
schitre05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2010, 11:42   #535
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chennai
Posts: 97
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Sometime in Dec, I might be in U.S for few weeks. Would a Android phone from U.S make sense? ( I guess most of the Androids in U.S is in CDMA)... is there a model I can get @ 200$.
Pardon my ignorance, is Android also locked to provider like iphone? and if so, how easy or hard to unlock in Chennai, do it yourself?
KumaravelS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2010, 12:45   #536
BHPian
 
akshay_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 363
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by munchy_cool View Post
Well mine now has CyanogenMod Android 2.2 and the hardware shows it has a proximity sensor which was never coded for, the developers are as of now working on enabling the FM Radio which would make it a 22k phone and once the 3d drivers from one of the developers over at samdroid.net are complete it will be one hell of a phone.

The proximity sensor is not a priority among the developers as of now as they are working to get to Beta for Android 2.2 based on CyanogenMod's latest sources (6.1 Release Candidate 1).
How does the 2.2 perform compared to the 2.1 kitchen mod? what are the few features of the phone that don't work with the 2.2?
akshay_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2010, 17:17   #537
BHPian
 
munchy_cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: void (0)
Posts: 96
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

@akshay_b - please read this post http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ml#post2127012 (My new Gizmo : Samsung Galaxy Spica (i5700) with Android 2.1)

As of now 2.2 is not as optimized as the 2.1 kitchen, but the performance is the same as per my personal experience.
munchy_cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2010, 19:34   #538
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,889
Thanked: 2,464 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KumaravelS View Post
Sometime in Dec, I might be in U.S for few weeks. Would a Android phone from U.S make sense? ( I guess most of the Androids in U.S is in CDMA)... is there a model I can get @ 200$.
Pardon my ignorance, is Android also locked to provider like iphone? and if so, how easy or hard to unlock in Chennai, do it yourself?
Android Phones from AT&T & T-Mobile are GSM which includes the Galaxy S & Google's G2 & a few others. All of them are avilable with or without contracts but they are all locked.

You wont get any phone without contract in $200, they are all $500+ but I believe thats still cheaper than the Indian price.

Though you can also look at criagslist for a used one.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2010, 02:26   #539
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Android Phones from AT&T & T-Mobile are GSM which includes the Galaxy S & Google's G2 & a few others. All of them are avilable with or without contracts but they are all locked.

You wont get any phone without contract in $200, they are all $500+ but I believe thats still cheaper than the Indian price.

Though you can also look at criagslist for a used one.
In India you get samsung Galaxy 3, with bill and warranty, with no locks to hold you on a single network for 275usd
I think that's the best to learn and play on your first device with Android.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2010, 01:37   #540
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,988
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

a friend of mine has the Sony Ericsson X10 running 1.6 and was wondering how he can update it to 2.1 is there a way he can do it himself or does he have to go to the service centre..

That brings me to the question, for the Galaxy S once the update is released how do we update it ? will it be OTA like it is for the nexus one ?


rev
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks