Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th November 2010, 11:34   #571
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,134
Thanked: 3,732 Times
Default

Dell are launching the XCD25 & 28 in India. Dell launched XCD28 & XCD35, 3G Android mobiles in India | Eminent Column
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 11:40   #572
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,064
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Another day, another issue. My phone seems to be hell bent on giving trouble. Nowadays I'm facing issue with connecting to internet via Wi-Fi. Strangest thing is that all google related apps work(gmail, gtalk, google maps, google search etc) but nothing other than works. Whenever I try to open a website it just stops after sometime saying "Data connectivity problem. The server failed to communicate. Try again later." No facebook, no twitter, no yahoo mail, nada, nothing. This stupid thing is driving me nuts and there seems to be no solution for it. I've kind started hating google for making such crappy software.
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 12:15   #573
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,037
Thanked: 464 Times
Default

I am looking to buy an Android phone with following features:

1. 3G
2. Push Email for both Gmail and Office emails
3. WiFi

Anything around 10-12 k ?
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 12:36   #574
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 645
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I am looking to buy an Android phone with following features:

1. 3G
2. Push Email for both Gmail and Office emails
3. WiFi

Anything around 10-12 k ?
Should be Galaxy 3, its will cost you 11.5 k.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 13:24   #575
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,077
Thanked: 2,028 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
Oh my. Why should your desktop hang? That's got nothing to do with the upgrade process. If you are coming to the lavasa meet this weekend or anytime to pune, come home. We can try the upgrade on my laptop.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace F355 View Post
Raj, Please take time to go to Xperia X10 section of XDA Developers website and you can find all information about how to update to 2.1.

I have already provided the XDA thread link in my reply to Revtech a few posts back. In less than 5 minutes, your phone can be on 2.1.

thanks a lot friends. I have updated my phone to 2.1 & it works like a charm!

I just love the Live wallpapers & HD recording! the new UI looks ultra cool & all the new softwares works like a dream. Finally, i am very happy that i chose this over the iPhone.
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 14:11   #576
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,027
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
Another day, another issue. My phone seems to be hell bent on giving trouble. Nowadays I'm facing issue with connecting to internet via Wi-Fi. Strangest thing is that all google related apps work(gmail, gtalk, google maps, google search etc) but nothing other than works. Whenever I try to open a website it just stops after sometime saying "Data connectivity problem. The server failed to communicate. Try again later." No facebook, no twitter, no yahoo mail, nada, nothing. This stupid thing is driving me nuts and there seems to be no solution for it. I've kind started hating google for making such crappy software.
Two things I can suggest.

1. Well just check if the same sites work on other device at the same time or not. If not then change the DNS setting on your router from default ( your ISPs) to some open free DNS such as 8.8.8.8 ( provided by Google).

2. Sometimes it is problem due to lingering time that is if you are using DHCP then DHCP server times out the assigned IP , renewing the IP helps.

Reboot the phone and try if it helps. If this is the case go to DHCP settings of you WiFi router and increase the timeout value to more then 24 hours.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 14:52   #577
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: chandigarh,melbourne
Posts: 598
Thanked: 235 Times
Default

Hi guys , I just picked up a samsung galaxy s and installed some applications. I noticed alot of applications ( voice recorder/gtalk/ymail etc) automatically start running in the background without me selecting them .Can i disable all the applications from running on their own and make them run only when i click on the respective icon? thanks
bigron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 14:57   #578
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,433
Thanked: 685 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I am looking to buy an Android phone with following features:

1. 3G
2. Push Email for both Gmail and Office emails
3. WiFi

Anything around 10-12 k ?
Why dont you check out the newly launched DELL XCD. one of the models is priced at 10,990/-. Andriod 2.1.
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 15:13   #579
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,064
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Two things I can suggest.

1. Well just check if the same sites work on other device at the same time or not. If not then change the DNS setting on your router from default ( your ISPs) to some open free DNS such as 8.8.8.8 ( provided by Google).
Nope, the sites are working from my laptop. That's not the issue for sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
2. Sometimes it is problem due to lingering time that is if you are using DHCP then DHCP server times out the assigned IP , renewing the IP helps.

Reboot the phone and try if it helps. If this is the case go to DHCP settings of you WiFi router and increase the timeout value to more then 24 hours.
Rebooted the phone few times. Didn't help. Don't think it's a DHCP issue as in this case even the google applications wouldn't have worked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigron View Post
Hi guys , I just picked up a samsung galaxy s and installed some applications. I noticed alot of applications ( voice recorder/gtalk/ymail etc) automatically start running in the background without me selecting them .Can i disable all the applications from running on their own and make them run only when i click on the respective icon? thanks
Install Advanced Task Killer and then add the Widget to your homescreen. And now you just need to touch the widget to kill all those buggers .
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 15:20   #580
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: chandigarh,melbourne
Posts: 598
Thanked: 235 Times
Default

@ kaushik s : thanks for the reply mate. i have task killer installed and thats how i know i had running applications. but can i not stop them from running completely until desired?
bigron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 15:36   #581
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,027
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
Rebooted the phone few times. Didn't help. Don't think it's a DHCP issue as in this case even the google applications wouldn't have worked.
Are you sure Google applications work or they just appear to work ? I have observed that on my phone Google home page does not throw error as it gets displayed from cached content , Similarly gmail shows the old mails and no new mail download happens but it shows no error either in such scenario. Where as facebook app show explicit connection error.

If Google Apps are working and google sites are accessible then it points to a DNS resolution issue becuase there is nothing to filter traffic based on the websites in between.
Does restarting the modem-router solve the issue ?
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 15:53   #582
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 645
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigron View Post
Hi guys , I just picked up a samsung galaxy s and installed some applications. I noticed alot of applications ( voice recorder/gtalk/ymail etc) automatically start running in the background without me selecting them .Can i disable all the applications from running on their own and make them run only when i click on the respective icon? thanks
Also download AutoStart Killer. This should take care of all autostart applications.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 16:58   #583
Senior - BHPian
 
pjbiju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Karamattom, Aluva, Kotagiri, Yercaud, Hospet, Indore, Nashik, Pune (now)
Posts: 1,177
Thanked: 457 Times
Default Help in Connecting to a Broadband LAN.

I have a BSNL broadband connection at home with a modem that also has a wireless connection. This shows up in the wi-fi list of my phone. But there is no option to provide the user name and password to connect to it. Is this possible by Android 2.1? How do I do that? My phone is the Samsung Galaxy Spica.

-Biju
pjbiju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 17:05   #584
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,027
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjbiju View Post
I have a BSNL broadband connection at home with a modem that also has a wireless connection. This shows up in the wi-fi list of my phone. But there is no option to provide the user name and password to connect to it. Is this possible by Android 2.1? How do I do that? My phone is the Samsung Galaxy Spica.

-Biju
If you are securing your wifi using WPA/PSK2 you have only one key to enter.
Once the network appears in the WiFi list just tap on it , If it is secured then a popup window will appear where you can enter the key/ If it is unsecured on tap it will try to get IP from the network directly without any popup.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 17:15   #585
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,064
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Are you sure Google applications work or they just appear to work ? I have observed that on my phone Google home page does not throw error as it gets displayed from cached content , Similarly gmail shows the old mails and no new mail download happens but it shows no error either in such scenario. Where as facebook app show explicit connection error.
Pretty sure about google apps being working. Just now refreshed gmail and I got the new mails and now it's showing same new mails as my laptop browser is showing. Also I'm getting gtalk IM's(haven't tried replying though) and google maps is also getting properly updated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
If Google Apps are working and google sites are accessible then it points to a DNS resolution issue becuase there is nothing to filter traffic based on the websites in between.
That;s why it's very very strange to me. If every google application works then other internet based apps also should. But somehow something is amiss, dunno what. It's not just facebook or twitter, any website I try to open is not opening. I tried to do google search and it shows me the search results in a jiffy but once I click the links it just doesn't go anywhere. Checked the imdb app also, not working. BTW, strangely the stock ticker is working

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Does restarting the modem-router solve the issue ?
Nope, restarted the modem/router many times in last few days.
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:22.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks