Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th November 2011, 14:51   #6601
BHPian
 
hrman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 907
Thanked: 349 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
I have P500 with CM 7,1 ,
Bluetooth doesn't work, it simply can't be switched on.
Are you also facing the same issue ?
I have a Galaxy S I9000 and had this Bluetooth problem when I flashed with CM7.1.
I reinstalled the ROM via CWM by clean wipe/ factory reset. Wipe dalvik cache.
When restoring the apps via Titanium, you should restore only "Missing Apps with data". Bluetooth will work then.
If you restore all Apps+ user data, somehow the bluetooth settings of the previous ROM mess up CM7 bluetooth settings.
To experiment, you can re-flash CM7 via CWM and after it boots, see if Bluetooth works. It will work. It gets messed up after restoring previous settings via Titanium.
hrman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2011, 15:09   #6602
BHPian
 
dr.faramroze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valsad/Mumbai
Posts: 157
Thanked: 13 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

And if this doesnt work, try flashing a different kernel compatible with CM7 bases. Normally Cyanogen Mods have well working kernels. But the above info is definitely the cause of bluetooth stack not starting. Best is don't restore any apps if comming from a different ROM.
dr.faramroze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2011, 15:13   #6603
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore/Gulbarga
Posts: 161
Thanked: 30 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Poor guys they think its a hardware problem and replacing the motherboard, but do check if it will retain its water proofing once its opened up for parts replacement.
@Jaggu: Thanks for the response. I didn't know this will be one more issue to sort out!! One of the strongest reason for me to go for Defy was for it's waterproof feature. . .How do I ensure that the service center people do it? I thought, authorized service centers will take care of all this by default Yes, I am worried about their incompetence in identifying and fixing the firmware issue!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
Sorry to hear about that.
Don't know what went wrong in your case, but I am planning to upgrade my completely stock Defy with 2.2.2 to 2.3.

I have a green lens so I guess official 2.3 will not work in my case, right?

I have faced several stability issues with 2.2.2 and I don't see 2.3 faring worse that that. Plus with Sygic (maps), the performance is bad - sometimes the phone takes several minutes to get back in control.

I am trying to trace the simplest set of instructions to do the upgrade.
I first want to backup everything that I have on the phone and card.
I assume I should root first and then do the backup, right?
@S_U_N: Hope you got your answers by now from our valuable t-bhpians like phamilyman. . I suggest you to contact them when you are in the process of flashing your phone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
I suggest you should consider using a custom ROM. You have been using for real long time, so I guess there is no critical issues - PITAs, yes; but not real show stoppers.

I have not used Moto phones, but I guess at this stage, (if some kind of logo comes up), you can still try some other ROM / recovery image to salvage the phone. I suspect taking to the service center was your mistake #2.
@BaCkSeAtDrIVeR: It was a bricked phone for me as I couldn't do anything further to bring it back to life (obviously due to my poor knowledge of the process. . .) I agree, if the animated Android logo was ON, it was alive.

I don't think it was my 2nd mistake!! considering the situation, that was the best option that I had as the phone is in warranty. . .but, those people are telling the same reason for over 12 days and I am not happy!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Athani View Post
My guess is that your phone was not bricked at all. If you can get into recovery, the phone is not bricked. In fact, if the phone even responds to adb from the computer, it is not bricked.
@Athani: I agree sir. But, I could not progress in bringing it back to life.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluengel180 View Post
Word of caution to every Android tinker out there.

NEVER downgrade.if you've flashed 2.3 NEVER try to go back to to 2.2.as gingerbread changes the bootloader and when you downgrade all you get is a brick
@Bluengel180: Thanks for the info. I was not aware of it. And as per phamilyman, it should not be an issue so, you experts need to tell us NooBs what is right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phamilyman View Post
No yaar.

That is the exact problem with half information. You needed to do more homework. I have downgraded to UK Froyo.

Let me say this for those who will read it in the internet and get scared from HALF information:
CHINESE FROYO IS NOT RECOMMENDED. Alot of things don't work - stuff like FM Radio & Flashlight (it can permanently get off). Why did you use Chinese Froyo?

That said, in your case - did you wipe both cache and DATA as well? If the phone booted, it is NOT BRICKED. BRICK is when phone does NOT boot at all. Here is how I learned the hard way: xda-developers - View Single Post - [DEV][ROM] CyanogenMod 7.1.0 (Android 2.3.7) (my issue was solved over next 3-4 pages). I am quite sure that if your phone booted and showed android logo then it would have no issue. My problem was that my phone's down button" works in 2nd-init only if I press it 30% mid-way. In your case did you try reflashing? Did it enter recovery at all?

@Bluengel - Gingerbread on Defy uses the 2nd init - it DOES NOT REPLACE the bootloader by default IIRC. All "gingerbread" Defys for instance have Froyo with 2nd init operational that brings in GB from thereon. Only a few guys use the "leaked" GB ROM (or custom ROMs based on it) that itself have lots of problems.

@BSD: Boss, EVERY manufacturer's process is different. You cannot make one advice which works for all. 99.999% much more than meets the eye.

General advise to all defy owners - before you guys have any such problems that warrants visiting the service center - please STOP & drop me a line. I should be able to help out in 99% of cases - having been there myself! Of course, I undertake no warranty for my advice!!

So for defy owners wanting to downgrade to official ROMs - the step is SIMPLE:
  1. Reboot, enter recovery (on blue LED, press down)
  2. Wipe cache and then wipe data. wipe dalvik as well (advanced->dalvik)
  3. Go back to previous menu and switch off
  4. wait a few seconds (or maybe i'm superstitious) - then press up button and switch on. You will see the bootloader mode.
  5. Connect USB, and flash the SEA ROM or the UK ROM (what i use most often).
Reboot and enjoy. If there is a problem, ask here/PM me. or head over to the XDA thread here: [DEV][ROM] CyanogenMod 7.1.0 (Android 2.3.7) - xda-developers - you should get lovely knowledgeable real time help there. 99.9999% cases its near impossible to brick a Defy (in my experience). A bit of patience and xda wisdom should win the day.

Whitesquall,

If i were you, I would head over tomorrow to the service center, try and enter recovery or reflash the phone. "board having a problem" sounds like typical service center incompetence. if the phone booted enough to show android logo (and i'm assuming the logo was animated, right?) then i dont see where the board should develop an issue, honestly.
@phamilyman: I am really happy and appreciate your enthusiasm to help fellow t-bhpians. I did think of contacting you and held myself back coz I did not want to disturb you at odd hours (I did all this on Oct 31st night).

You are absolutely right in pointing out about doing enough homework. But, for me, the issue was different! Though I did lot of reading, I could not follow some of the writeups as the technicalities were beyond my understanding (I got confused with information overload!!). I tried and failed.

Yes, on a second thought, I should have contacted experts like you (I did not know your inclination to help others in odd hours).

Quote:
Originally Posted by phamilyman View Post
@Whitesquall- any update on your phone? Did u get time to go n try what I recommended?
@phamilyman: I posted the story only after I handed over my phone to the service center. I am still wating for them to come back to me. . .I gave it to them on 2nd NOV. It's already 12 days!! God, please help!

Last edited by whitesquall : 14th November 2011 at 15:17.
whitesquall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2011, 16:24   #6604
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klub Class
Urgent :

I'm about to flash a custom ROM on my O1. But, I'm clueless after reading the below sentence :

Basically, what is signature verification? And how can I disable it so as to enjoy this particular custom ROM.

Clevermax? Phamilyman?
Signature verification ensures that only signed packages get installed. In Htc, S-ON flag is the equivalent.

Hope that our chat helped in disabling signature verification in your phone, please post the results...?

Last edited by clevermax : 14th November 2011 at 16:54.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2011, 16:56   #6605
Senior - BHPian
 
Klub Class's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: KA17|KL65|KL41
Posts: 3,742
Thanked: 835 Times
Default

YES! I successfully flashed a CM7.1 based ROM.

Many thanks to Clevermax for answering my queries.

Name:  screenshot1321269786997.png
Views: 438
Size:  65.5 KB
Klub Class is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2011, 17:53   #6606
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,716
Thanked: 7,402 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitesquall View Post
How do I ensure that the service center people do it?
Check with them when you collect it back, thats what i meant.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2011, 22:56   #6607
BHPian
 
karty_83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 398
Thanked: 165 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Has anyone bought a mobile on Sulekha.com ? They seem to have the best deals as of now. Would like to know if they are genuine.
karty_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 00:16   #6608
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,594
Thanked: 3,407 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by prajwalkashyap View Post
Anyone here knows how to increase the font sizes without rooting the phone?

Prajwal
Atleast on my Defy running a custom ROM, there is an item under Settings -> (Personal tab) Font settings where you can choose 1 of 4 sizes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
Sorry to hear about that.
Don't know what went wrong in your case, but I am planning to upgrade my completely stock Defy with 2.2.2 to 2.3.

I have a green lens so I guess official 2.3 will not work in my case, right?

I have faced several stability issues with 2.2.2 and I don't see 2.3 faring worse that that. Plus with Sygic (maps), the performance is bad - sometimes the phone takes several minutes to get back in control.

I am trying to trace the simplest set of instructions to do the upgrade.
I first want to backup everything that I have on the phone and card.
I assume I should root first and then do the backup, right?
there are two things u can do:
a. Just root and use setvsel (market) to overclock it to 1000 mhz. For rooting - SuperoneClick from Special version SuperOneClick:root froyo/2.51 easily! - xda-developers . Safe frequencies: 300-30, 600-46, 1000-58
You need ONE reboot for the applications to recognize the rooting, though.
b. Install CM7 (Motorola Defy Ownership | FreeRiding or the main FAQ: [FAQ] Cyanogenmod 7 by Quarx - xda-developers will work). Just be sure to download the latest stable CM7 from CyanogenMod Mirror Network - Powered by TDRevolution

But in both cases, these changes void warranty. You can always return to stock ROM for claiming warranty if you so desire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitesquall View Post
@Bluengel180: Thanks for the info. I was not aware of it. And as per phamilyman, it should not be an issue so, you experts need to tell us NooBs what is right.



@phamilyman: I am really happy and appreciate your enthusiasm to help fellow t-bhpians. I did think of contacting you and held myself back coz I did not want to disturb you at odd hours (I did all this on Oct 31st night).

You are absolutely right in pointing out about doing enough homework. But, for me, the issue was different! Though I did lot of reading, I could not follow some of the writeups as the technicalities were beyond my understanding (I got confused with information overload!!). I tried and failed.

Yes, on a second thought, I should have contacted experts like you (I did not know your inclination to help others in odd hours).



@phamilyman: I posted the story only after I handed over my phone to the service center. I am still wating for them to come back to me. . .I gave it to them on 2nd NOV. It's already 12 days!! God, please help!
Firstly, any auth service center is staffed by people who couldnt do better. The smart folk will either setup their own business or become management. The line guy is often a joker (as with A.S.S). Why don't you go over there and see what they've done. If they have kept it closed (which they should have) and the battery is charged, u can boot it and see.

Just boot into recovery - when booting up, press down the Volume key. (stock recovery): It will show an android icon + exclamation. Press Vol Up+Down simultaneously. You can choose to wipe cache/factory reset the user data. In your case, do both. Then reboot and enjoy.

What Bluengel said is valid for his phone, but not for our Defys. Again, when u flash SBFs - you must be absolutely certain of downloading the correct SBF as per the link, then its a one-click process and then chilling for 10 odd min!

Last edited by phamilyman : 15th November 2011 at 00:20.
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 11:16   #6609
BHPian
 
chetans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 227
Thanked: 73 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by karty_83 View Post
Has anyone bought a mobile on Sulekha.com ? They seem to have the best deals as of now. Would like to know if they are genuine.
Have googled quite a lot on that.
And read that their customer care is pathetic. (only weekdays 9am-6pm)
For example, they dont list the courier/airway tracking number.
The customer care calls doesnt get through, and you can rely on email.

But they do deliver the product although there might be delays.
expect roughly 15days of delivery time.

Also note that if octroi is applicable to your region, then you will have to
pay it. I think thats not the case with flipkart and letsbuy.
so for cost comparison across these portals, do consider the octroi part.

The good think is that sulekha does flash the octroi payment message when you select the shipping destination.

Overall expect the product via bad service.
chetans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 11:57   #6610
BHPian
 
San Phrangmung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Guwahati
Posts: 581
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

I have all my contacts in the sim but as i moved from a nokia to galaxy tab not a single number is shown.
What the reason? Is there some steps to be taken for the sim contacts to show in the galaxy tab or its not possible at all.
San Phrangmung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 17:09   #6611
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by San Phrangmung View Post
I have all my contacts in the sim but as i moved from a nokia to galaxy tab not a single number is shown.
What the reason? Is there some steps to be taken for the sim contacts to show in the galaxy tab or its not possible at all.
Do you have the similar option in your dialer set to read SIM contacts?
Name:  screenshot1321357409244.png
Views: 364
Size:  92.9 KB

You can also dial any sim contact directly by entering its serial number and pressing # key.

Storing contacts in the SIM is a primitive way and it is time to move on to Google contacts

Last edited by clevermax : 15th November 2011 at 17:16.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 17:41   #6612
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,781
Thanked: 380 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitesquall View Post

@S_U_N: Hope you got your answers by now from our valuable t-bhpians like phamilyman. . I suggest you to contact them when you are in the process of flashing your phone.
I am going through xda threads and trying to put steps together. There is way too much information (sometimes that is bad. )


Quote:
Originally Posted by phamilyman View Post
there are two things u can do:
a. Just root and use setvsel (market) to overclock it to 1000 mhz. For rooting - SuperoneClick from Special version SuperOneClick:root froyo/2.51 easily! - xda-developers . Safe frequencies: 300-30, 600-46, 1000-58
You need ONE reboot for the applications to recognize the rooting, though.
b. Install CM7 (Motorola Defy Ownership | FreeRiding or the main FAQ: [FAQ] Cyanogenmod 7 by Quarx - xda-developers will work). Just be sure to download the latest stable CM7 from CyanogenMod Mirror Network - Powered by TDRevolution

But in both cases, these changes void warranty. You can always return to stock ROM for claiming warranty if you so desire.

Thanks for those inputs.
I would somehow prefer to be on 2.3 if it is at least as stable as 2.2.2 (my existing version) - hopefully I should get some new features and get rid of some problems.
e.g.
If I set a timer, after the timer goes off, there is no way for me to stop it from ringing and vibrating. I have to reboot the phone.

Sometimes while getting an incoming call, I cannot swipe across to receive the call (when phone is locked).

At the same time, reading the XDA threads, it looks like there are several users who are facing issues either with battery (CM7) or with wifi (official 2.3.x)
I would not want a loss of functionality like camera/ video recording, wifi and 3G.

I came across this interesting page: Motorola Defy - XDA-Developers
It should take me a couple of weeks to read through that

However, when I read this, it is a bit scary.
<quote>
You WONT be able to install full SBFs of any Éclair or Froyo since these Androids have lower CG Versions.
**NOTE*: I just rephrased the original post since it can be a bit confusing, it is linked as source below.
**NOTE2**: If you are using a non-Chinese defy, DO NOT USE THE CAMERA FLASH while on the Chinese rom, it WILL kill your LED.
<quote end>
[GUIDE] All-in-One Defy Beginner's guide - xda-developers

Last edited by S_U_N : 15th November 2011 at 17:43.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 18:53   #6613
BHPian
 
San Phrangmung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Guwahati
Posts: 581
Thanked: 75 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax

Do you have the similar option in your dialer set to read SIM contacts?
<img src="http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=842595"/>

You can also dial any sim contact directly by entering its serial number and pressing # key.

Storing contacts in the SIM is a primitive way and it is time to move on to Google contacts
Haha, yes definately have to upgrade to google contacts. Thats what i have been trying to do for a long time and finally after pressing every button inside every menu sub menu finally was able to copy all contacts.

Thanks CMax.
San Phrangmung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 20:43   #6614
Senior - BHPian
 
dkaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Meerut, India
Posts: 2,972
Thanked: 3,990 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Nexus-S CDMA. Landing cost just 12k. Got 2.

Name:  IMG_2218.JPG
Views: 320
Size:  222.7 KB

Already on 2.3.7. Will be amongst the first to get Ice Cream Sandwich
Name:  IMG_2217.JPG
Views: 319
Size:  272.2 KB

Got 2, one each for my wife and my bro's wife. Value for money at 12k each. (GSM sAMOLED one retails at about 30K; 20K for sLCD one)
Name:  IMG_2219.JPG
Views: 593
Size:  170.8 KB

Miny review here - Review: Samsung Google Nexus-S 4G From Sprint - Curvy Babe... - Reliance Mobile (CDMA & GSM) - Discussion Forums
dkaile is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 22:44   #6615
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,542
Thanked: 1,587 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrman View Post
I have a Galaxy S I9000 and had this Bluetooth problem when I flashed with CM7.1.
I reinstalled the ROM via CWM by clean wipe/ factory reset. Wipe dalvik cache.
When restoring the apps via Titanium, you should restore only "Missing Apps with data". Bluetooth will work then.
If you restore all Apps+ user data, somehow the bluetooth settings of the previous ROM mess up CM7 bluetooth settings.
To experiment, you can re-flash CM7 via CWM and after it boots, see if Bluetooth works. It will work. It gets messed up after restoring previous settings via Titanium.
Thanks a ton !
It worked.
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:52.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks