Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th December 2010, 15:46   #856
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
Is anyone able to play "Angry Bird- Seasons" on Galaxy 3 or any other sub 15k Android properly ?

Its too slow on my Galaxy 3, much slower than the original Angry Birds.

However, on my iPod Touch 2G, both games work like a charm. Pity full versions are paid apps in Apple store.
Try memory booster lite, then play, Angry birds works fine on mine when i start it after memory optimization.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2010, 16:06   #857
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,037
Thanked: 464 Times
Default

I will try with memory booster.

BTW, just noticed something. Suppose i am on a call and the phone is close to my ears. The screen goes off. And when i bring it away from the ears, the screen comes on (so that i can touch the End Call button).

Nice feature.
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2010, 16:15   #858
BHPian
 
patron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 187
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I will try with memory booster.

BTW, just noticed something. Suppose i am on a call and the phone is close to my ears. The screen goes off. And when i bring it away from the ears, the screen comes on (so that i can touch the End Call button).

Nice feature.
It's called the Proximity Sensor. Yes it is a nice feature to have.
patron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2010, 16:44   #859
BHPian
 
Sowmya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 494
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Is any body has used Motorola Charm ? It has android 2.1 with 600Mhz Processor ? Any feedback ?
Sowmya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2010, 17:09   #860
BHPian
 
ajman28's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chennai
Posts: 277
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy_foot View Post
The GPS on the Galaxy S sucks, i am convinced that i dont own a lemon but its a problem with all the Galaxy S's. Yesterday i was out and in the GPS test application the max i could get was 3 Satellites. There were buildings around, but my N82 does better.Btw i am on FroYo official Indian version. How does the GPS on your Galaxy S's work?
the same goes for the Samsung galaxy 3 too. The gps does not even lock in mine. I have given up on this feature!

I see that there are a lot of users for galaxy 3 here. Are you guys facing the same problem too? If it's not a common issue Then i guess i need to exchange the handset.
ajman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2010, 17:49   #861
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I will try with memory booster.

BTW, just noticed something. Suppose i am on a call and the phone is close to my ears. The screen goes off. And when i bring it away from the ears, the screen comes on (so that i can touch the End Call button).

Nice feature.
The two small holes near ear piece is the proximity sensor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajman28 View Post
the same goes for the Samsung galaxy 3 too. The gps does not even lock in mine. I have given up on this feature!

I see that there are a lot of users for galaxy 3 here. Are you guys facing the same problem too? If it's not a common issue Then i guess i need to exchange the handset.
I was able to use GPS many times without any noticable issues.
On first use to locate you, it would need a few minutes to do the same, please make sure you are under the sky for 2-7 minutes atleast on first GPS use.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2010, 18:06   #862
BHPian
 
patron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 187
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajman28 View Post
the same goes for the Samsung galaxy 3 too. The gps does not even lock in mine. I have given up on this feature!

I see that there are a lot of users for galaxy 3 here. Are you guys facing the same problem too? If it's not a common issue Then i guess i need to exchange the handset.
GPS sucks on both Galaxy 3 and 5. It takes ages to get a lock. When it does, it doesn't stay on.
patron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2010, 23:26   #863
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Nexus s is out with 2.3 ginger bread. spec looks identical to galaxy s. so sgs might get 2.3 pretty soon, but not officially though.

Nexus S ? The new Android phone from Google
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 01:08   #864
BHPian
 
mashmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 350
Thanked: 117 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post

I was able to use GPS many times without any noticable issues.
On first use to locate you, it would need a few minutes to do the same, please make sure you are under the sky for 2-7 minutes atleast on first GPS use.
I use a Nokia 5800 and Google Maps to navigate. Very happy with it. Its fast and accurate. It got me out of the gallis of Charminar in Hyderabad.

Now in the same fight as many. Need to upgrade and deciding between the Iphone 4 and an Android. Nexus looks great, but its from Samsung, not sure how good the combination is. I heard Android and HTC get along the best. Correct?
mashmash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 02:03   #865
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mashmash View Post
I heard Android and HTC get along the best. Correct?
Except the Battery, you would end up with Empty battery in just a few hours.
people reported they purchased additional charger for home/office/car to live with HTC

Galaxy 3 is better than HTC in terms of Battery.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 02:15   #866
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,223
Thanked: 570 Times
Default

Got the galaxy 3 delivered today.
Nice display and easy to use.
Now-
1-How can applications be installed on it if we dont have an internet connection on phone. Can that be done via laptop?
2- Any tips and tricks?
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 02:45   #867
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

^^^Errr, dude - Galaxy 3 and "nice" display?? You really gotta check out better screens...
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 02:58   #868
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,223
Thanked: 570 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raccoon View Post
^^^Errr, dude - Galaxy 3 and "nice" display?? You really gotta check out better screens...
its galaxy 3 i5801.
Ofcourse cant be compared to galaxy s for display but whatever is there is fine.Moreover i am a bb user so. This phone is for my good friend.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 06:49   #869
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 645
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raccoon View Post
^^^Errr, dude - Galaxy 3 and "nice" display?? You really gotta check out better screens...
For 11K you cannot get better screen than in galaxy 3 i guess, Wildfire which costs 14.5k screen resolution is pretty bad compared to Galaxy 3. You know any android around 11k which has better display for this price?
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2010, 09:20   #870
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Got the galaxy 3 delivered today.
Nice display and easy to use.
Now-
1-How can applications be installed on it if we dont have an internet connection on phone. Can that be done via laptop?
2- Any tips and tricks?
Congrats on Galaxy 3 purchase,
which online store you purchased it from ?
you can use wifi connection to connect the phone to internet.
you cannot access apps market without internet until you root the phone which i am sure would void the warranty.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:55.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks