Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd June 2012, 11:28   #9811
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 92 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I have installed Clockwork Mod recovery. Now I would like to ask is that can I change the Micro SD? Can I install new SD card? Will the Clockwork Mod recovery still work after changing the SD card?
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2012, 11:46   #9812
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,574
Thanked: 631 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
I have installed Clockwork Mod recovery. Now I would like to ask is that can I change the Micro SD? Can I install new SD card? Will the Clockwork Mod recovery still work after changing the SD card?
Yes it will. Go ahead with your change.

Which phone is it by the way ?

Last edited by F150 : 23rd June 2012 at 11:49.
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2012, 12:14   #9813
BHPian
 
Bluengel180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 119
Thanked: 58 Times
Lightbulb Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

HomeShop18.com Superdeals: Nokia Lumia 800, Sonyr Xperia P, HP DreamScreen
Bluengel180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2012, 13:55   #9814
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 92 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150 View Post
Yes it will. Go ahead with your change.

Which phone is it by the way ?
My phone is LG Optimus One.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2012, 13:59   #9815
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,574
Thanked: 631 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie

My phone is LG Optimus One.
It will work. No issues. Cwm should be on the phone or. OS partition
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2012, 14:56   #9816
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 359 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I installed Swiftkey trial and is loving it. Was getting bored with Swype and it was increasingly mis-judging my input these days.

The prediction in Swiftkey is awesome and I can type fast. I might end up buying it.

BTW, one of my iPhone friend is saying that these keyboards will be stealing your passwords..,I just laughed at him.

Last edited by clevermax : 23rd June 2012 at 14:58.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2012, 16:10   #9817
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,606
Thanked: 6,692 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
I don't use a task killer. Now I don't even check whether an app is running the background or not. I don't know how you guys noticed that it is coming back - is it showing up the UI or in the notification? In my case, after I exit, it never shows up. If it is just a live process in the processes list and as long as it doesn't interfere with what I am doing on the phone, I really don't care ...
Yes, I suspect that we don't need to care.

It isn't "coming back" as in seeing the application running, it is running as a service on the list of running apps, and that is where is is coming back. As a matter of principle, if we kill a process, it should stay dead, but in practice I doubt it matters too much.

Systems guys?
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2012, 16:17   #9818
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

This is what I got now when I connected the S3 to the PC.

Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-s3update.jpg

WIP as I type this
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2012, 01:29   #9819
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Yes, I suspect that we don't need to care.

It isn't "coming back" as in seeing the application running, it is running as a service on the list of running apps, and that is where is is coming back. As a matter of principle, if we kill a process, it should stay dead, but in practice I doubt it matters too much.

Systems guys?
It matters in that it is taking up precious RAM! Have a few apps like that and your phone will crawl... and may also crash. I was facing crashes, esp. when running Flash. Now that I'v nuked a lot of stuff and now things are running way more smooth. So yes, you should care.

That fact that its not staying down could suggest bad coding and/or nefarious activities in the background; esp. since the app does enjoy a lot of permissions.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2012, 06:58   #9820
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,574
Thanked: 631 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raccoon

It matters in that it is taking up precious RAM! Have a few apps like that and your phone will crawl... and may also crash. I was facing crashes, esp. when running Flash. Now that I'v nuked a lot of stuff and now things are running way more smooth. So yes, you should care.
Which task killer are you using?
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2012, 12:38   #9821
BHPian
 
prateekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai & BLR
Posts: 755
Thanked: 307 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

If your Samsung Note gets a firmware update, don't do it. A couple of my friends did it, their phone seems to have been bricked. It does not boot up, just the Samsung logo comes and then goes into a boot loop. A friend went to the service center where they confirmed that there are many other users who have brought in their Note for the exact same problem.
prateekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2012, 12:47   #9822
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,574
Thanked: 631 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
If your Samsung Note gets a firmware update, don't do it. A couple of my friends did it, their phone seems to have been bricked. It does not boot up, just the Samsung logo comes and then goes into a boot loop. A friend went to the service center where they confirmed that there are many other users who have brought in their Note for the exact same problem.
ooh, i am gonna buy the note today, so should i not do the firmware update which version is this ?
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2012, 12:48   #9823
BHPian
 
Athani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 56
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150

ooh, i am gonna buy the note today, so should i not do the firmware update which version is this ?
Are you sure you don't want to wait for the Note 2? Rumored to be coming in October.
Athani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2012, 12:50   #9824
BHPian
 
prateekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai & BLR
Posts: 755
Thanked: 307 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150 View Post
ooh, i am gonna buy the note today, so should i not do the firmware update which version is this ?
I actually don't know the exact version, since I didn't do the update as my Note is in for warranty claim (the display got kaput). Will let you know if I get the exact version number or any further details.

Here's a linky from XDA of a few people having the same problems: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=27810992

EDIT: Asked a friend whose phone got bricked, he said that the update was 7.5-7.8mb in size but didn't remember the exact firmware version.

Last edited by prateekm : 24th June 2012 at 13:02.
prateekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2012, 12:55   #9825
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy
This is what I got now when I connected the S3 to the PC.

WIP as I type this
Stupid kies. Haven't been able to update yet. says the phone has disconnected when it is actually connected.......damn
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:03.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks