Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th July 2012, 01:34   #10336
BHPian
 
negativeH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 182
Thanked: 52 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
the network signal strength drops, becomes zero and a cross appears on it. When I try calling it at that moment it shows " not registered on network". Then after 10-15 sec it becomes normal and signal strength regains.
This is most probably a network issue. Where are you based?
Are you running the phone in WCDMA mode all the time? Try keeping it on GSM and see if you face the issue again. Also try a popular hub spot where there are no network issues for your provider.

If it ain't a network issue, then could be a problem with your Sim slot in the phone. I had faced a similar one in my old Wave, was changed under warranty.
negativeH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 06:07   #10337
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 449
Thanked: 99 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by offroad_maniac View Post
Which provider? May be some upgrade / maintanace is being carried out?
Is the same issue observed on same network but on different phone?
Any new app you installed?
No not observing this issue on any other mobiles that I have. The phones are Galaxy Note and Iphone 4. I have BSNL connection like both the phones that I mentioned. This is problem is not there in those phones. And yes I installed an app called SET India. In this we can watch TV serials that are aired on Sony like CID, etc. I think its a problem of my phone.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 07:29   #10338
BHPian
 
deep_bang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore / Boise
Posts: 591
Thanked: 288 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie
Since yesterday I have started facing a strange problem. Suddenly the network signal strength drops, becomes zero and a cross appears on it. When I try calling it at that moment it shows " not registered on network". Then after 10-15 sec it becomes normal and signal strength regains. Since yesterday it has happened about 5-6 times. By the way I updated my phone to Android 2.3.3 a month ago. My phone is LG Optimus One. Please help.
I had a similar issue on iPhone and the root cause was that 3g was enabled. Once I disabled it things were fine. This is ofcourse assuming that you don't have a 3g connection...
deep_bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 07:45   #10339
Senior - BHPian
 
fiat_tarun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pune / Mysore
Posts: 1,113
Thanked: 582 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Since yesterday I have started facing a strange problem. Suddenly the network signal strength drops, becomes zero and a cross appears on it. When I try calling it at that moment it shows " not registered on network". Then after 10-15 sec it becomes normal and signal strength regains. Since yesterday it has happened about 5-6 times. By the way I updated my phone to Android 2.3.3 a month ago. My phone is LG Optimus One. Please help.
I have read about this problem somewhere else as well. I'm guessing you are on Vodafone 3G ? If this is the case, its something to do with the sim card being 32K while these phones require atleast 64K. You might need to get a new sim card.
fiat_tarun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 09:25   #10340
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 412
Thanked: 90 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Since yesterday I have started facing a strange problem. Suddenly the network signal strength drops, becomes zero and a cross appears on it. When I try calling it at that moment it shows " not registered on network". Then after 10-15 sec it becomes normal and signal strength regains. Since yesterday it has happened about 5-6 times. By the way I updated my phone to Android 2.3.3 a month ago. My phone is LG Optimus One. Please help.
If your other phones are having no issues with this particular SIM card, this may happen due to baseband issues in your phone. If you haven't done any customizations, this can be ruled out. For e.g. Defy, if on a wrong baseband will show very low signal levels. If the case is similar in all of your phones, then it might probably be a network issue.

Also, are you in a place where you're using 3G and your network provider is not directly providing the 3G service (Like in Kerala, Airtel don't have 3G license and they're providing 3G through Idea Network.). In that case, this issue can happen. I don't think this has any relation with the SIM being 32K or 64K. It only differ in their inbuilt memory for contacts and messages.

Last edited by bhp_maniac : 27th July 2012 at 09:27.
bhp_maniac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 09:43   #10341
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 412
Thanked: 90 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

For the users of Neo/Neo V and having unlocked boot loader, here's some exciting news for you. The new NightElf v10.1 kernel for stock ROM is out and its simply excellent

Test Phone:

1) Xperia Neo (MT15i)
2) Stock GB ROM (.42)
3) Over 200 apps installed
4) Network connected to 3G 24/7 with data and sync on for Whatsapp, Viber, Endomondo, Gmail and Exchange activesync.

A short review

1) Performance - With Interactive as governor and CPU set to 122Mhz-1.1GHz, the phone is simply lag free.
2) Free RAM - I got a whopping 230MB free RAM just after boot on stock ROM. Users of other custom ROM's are reporting 280+ MB of free RAM. Simply excellent. Low memory was one single reason I was worried on this phone.
3) Battery Life - Here comes the best one, I used to lose 5-6% of battery every hour on 3G network with full time data & sync on and average use. This has reduced to 2-2.5% on this kernel.
4) It comes with inbuilt USB OTG support for Keyboard, Mouse and Mass storage.
5) Lite and Full version depending upon usage pattern.
6) After settling in with all necessary background services running (Enhanced Email, Llama, Lightflow, FB, PowerAmp, Viber, Whatsapp), I am having a free RAM of 150+ MB which used to be 80-85MB before.

For those with unlocked boot loader, this is the best you can get out there as of now. For those who are still locked, go get a piece of wire and unlock it cos your life on Android can't end in a locked cage

Last edited by bhp_maniac : 27th July 2012 at 09:45.
bhp_maniac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 09:58   #10342
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 449
Thanked: 99 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Guys let me clear my statement. The other phones that I have, have different SIM cards but of BSNL. I have not put the SIM card that I am using with Optimus One in those phones. And I dont use 3G. I have disabled it to increase battery life. For net surfing I use wifi. I havnt done any modifications to the phone though I rooted my phone earlier but removed it by upgrading my phone to Gingerbread. I am from Lucknow so connectivity of BSNL is very good. Normally the signal bar is green but today when I tried to call I saw the signal bar was white. And after sometime it again became green. And I could not make any call. This the whole situation. Hope now I am clear.

Last edited by HappyRoadie : 27th July 2012 at 10:01.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 10:08   #10343
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,229
Thanked: 416 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Can anyone help me with taking backup of my phone.

I am using a HTC Sensation that is running ICS4.0.3 stock ROM supplied by HTC. I am thinking of playing with different ROMs available on XDA. So I was thinking of rooting the device.

Now the problem with rooting is all the data on the device will be lost. So I need to take a backup first. In Play store I looked at Titanium backup but it looks like it works only with a rooted device.

So the question to all knowledgable folks here is - how to take backup of an unrooted device thats running on ICS. Any help would be much appreciated.
joslicx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 10:19   #10344
BHPian
 
Parthasarathig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pothole-city
Posts: 878
Thanked: 489 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joslicx
.

So the question to all knowledgable folks here is - how to take backup of an unrooted device thats running on ICS. Any help would be much appreciated.
Ive used Sandisk Memory Zone software that backs up everything and i mean everything onto your memory card. And you dont require to connect to the pc.
A month back i was in the same place as you are and ultimately opted for the Sandisk app. Its great.
Parthasarathig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 10:31   #10345
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 412
Thanked: 90 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by joslicx View Post
Can anyone help me with taking backup of my phone.

I am using a HTC Sensation that is running ICS4.0.3 stock ROM supplied by HTC. I am thinking of playing with different ROMs available on XDA. So I was thinking of rooting the device.

Now the problem with rooting is all the data on the device will be lost. So I need to take a backup first. In Play store I looked at Titanium backup but it looks like it works only with a rooted device.

So the question to all knowledgable folks here is - how to take backup of an unrooted device thats running on ICS. Any help would be much appreciated.
Titanium backup needs root to work. The other option is CWM. For that you should have an unlcocked boot loader or a rooted device. I think, you won't lose any data by rooting it. Only while unlocking you will lose your data.
bhp_maniac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 10:53   #10346
BHPian
 
Racer_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Pune
Posts: 268
Thanked: 114 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I have HTC Desire S with HBOOT 2.00.002, stock ROM.

Revolutionary does not have the exploit for HBOOT 2.00.002 and I would require to downgrade the HBOOT using Zergrush or Tacoroot which is not working. I get on Hellions with BLUE flames message on the command prompt.

Some reason I am unable to get temp root "#" after following the instruction on "xda developlers". I badly want to root my phone and run custom ROMS.

Can anyone help me with a fool proof method to root my phone with S-OFF.

Thanks!

Last edited by Racer_X : 27th July 2012 at 10:57.
Racer_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 11:23   #10347
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Hi guys, I'm back in the market looking for a mid-range Android. My budget is between 12-15k. I don't particularly want an AMOLED display or dual/quad core processor. But I definitely want a good display, processor and RAM (will I get 1 GHZ/1 GB RAM in this price?).

I shortlisted these:
1. Moto Defy+
2. Moto Defy XT
3. Sony Xperia U

Questions:
1. I'm pretty sure I'll be modding the phone in a few months and installing CM7/8 to get ICS on the Moto. However, I'm wondering how good it will run on a single core 1 Ghz processor?

2. I can't seem to figure out any difference between Defy+ and XT except slimmer profile and MotoSwitch UI on the latter. How good/bad is Switch over Blur?

3. How's the dev community support for Sony phones? Although they officially have ICS already.

Lastly, any other phone in my budget which is better than the above? (If I get the discontinued Nexus S, I'll be very happy!)
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 11:25   #10348
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 352
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

I've noticed that there are some versions of the galaxy S3 which come with 2gb ram...!

Will the 2gb version outlast/outperform the 1gb version ?

Will the 2gb version have more longevity and get more OS updates than the 1gb version...?
rana_kirti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 12:19   #10349
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,229
Thanked: 416 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp_maniac View Post
Titanium backup needs root to work. The other option is CWM. For that you should have an unlcocked boot loader or a rooted device. I think, you won't lose any data by rooting it. Only while unlocking you will lose your data.
Problem is for everything the bootloader needs to be unlocked first.

Now, if I try unlocking the bootloader, then the process wipes everything on the phone! I'll lose all data, contacts etc.

Before running the bootloader unlock program I want to take backup of all my apps, sms, phone numbers etc. Now how to do that ?
joslicx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 12:24   #10350
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 412
Thanked: 90 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
Questions:
1. I'm pretty sure I'll be modding the phone in a few months and installing CM7/8 to get ICS on the Moto. However, I'm wondering how good it will run on a single core 1 Ghz processor?

2. I can't seem to figure out any difference between Defy+ and XT except slimmer profile and MotoSwitch UI on the latter. How good/bad is Switch over Blur?

3. How's the dev community support for Sony phones? Although they officially have ICS already.

Lastly, any other phone in my budget which is better than the above? (If I get the discontinued Nexus S, I'll be very happy!)
Answers:

1) It'll run perfectly, don't worry
2) XT got a front cam and less internal memory
3) Sony phones have decent dev support, but not as much as Defy/Defy+
4) Decent deals are there on Nexus S on eBay. Do check out.
bhp_maniac is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks