Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st September 2012, 10:34   #11506
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 336
Thanked: 309 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
If you look up on line for "download and install xxle2 on s advance" you will come across several sites where instructions are given and also if u read through the user feedback; you shall notice that network issue is resolved.
Thanks for the above information. I searched the internet and many people have reported that the network issue is resolved. Now, I will consider Samsung Galaxy S Advance too. Hope Samsung releases upgrade to JB soon.
Simhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2012, 10:50   #11507
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,429
Thanked: 680 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simhi View Post
Thanks for the above information. I searched the internet and many people have reported that the network issue is resolved. Now, I will consider Samsung Galaxy S Advance too. Hope Samsung releases upgrade to JB soon.
Hi,

Glad i could help.

You may refer to the below link for the process as well as feedback from several users. Some stores even claiming that company has acknowledged the issue and new lots are coming with the issue resolved.

http://techdraginfo.blogspot.com/201...alue-pack.html

Regards,
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2012, 11:25   #11508
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,491
Thanked: 713 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Had some irritating moments with one of the apps I bought from Google Play. It kept saying, it couldn't get the licensing info. Later google play kept complaining that background data is disabled (it wasn't and I didn't even know it could be disabled).
Wiped the data and did a restart and it works fine now. But I lost the app and have to buy it again :(. Play is screwed up in its design.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2012, 13:28   #11509
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,429
Thanked: 680 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Had some irritating moments with one of the apps I bought from Google Play. It kept saying, it couldn't get the licensing info. Later google play kept complaining that background data is disabled (it wasn't and I didn't even know it could be disabled).
Wiped the data and did a restart and it works fine now. But I lost the app and have to buy it again :(. Play is screwed up in its design.
HI,

Once you buy a app from Play Store you dont have to buy it again. You just have to Install it. I too have purchased a few apps and i keep wiping my phone time to time to try out different ROM's. Just go into your play store and search for that app and it should say "PURCHASED" .attached pic might give you an idea.


thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-aa.jpg  

h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2012, 15:35   #11510
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,491
Thanked: 713 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
HI,

Once you buy a app from Play Store you dont have to buy it again. You just have to Install it. I too have purchased a few apps and i keep wiping my phone time to time to try out different ROM's. Just go into your play store and search for that app and it should say "PURCHASED" .attached pic might give you an idea.


thanks.
No, for me it shows the price. Somehow it doesn't know that I had purchased it. Later, if I click on the price, it does show the payment details that belong to me!
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2012, 16:01   #11511
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,429
Thanked: 680 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
No, for me it shows the price. Somehow it doesn't know that I had purchased it. Later, if I click on the price, it does show the payment details that belong to me!
Can you check with your CC / Bank if that earlier payment has gone through? I have about 8 purchased apps and i keep flashing between roms almost every 2-3 weeks and never have i faced such an error. Or may be yours is one of those unfortunate case
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2012, 16:04   #11512
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,491
Thanked: 713 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
Can you check with your CC / Bank if that earlier payment has gone through? I have about 8 purchased apps and i keep flashing between roms almost every 2-3 weeks and never have i faced such an error. Or may be yours is one of those unfortunate case
I bought the app 4 months ago and it was paid by my CC. I think there was a problem within Play on my phone which might have led to this. I have seen similar ones reported on the Net and so there are more unfortunate ones.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2012, 17:01   #11513
BHPian
 
sbala's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 390
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devil_klm
Thanks All for the replies and suggestions. I will check craig list also. Main reason i am considering used market from US is it is dirt cheap compared to India. And these online shops has return policy also in case of any issues.
And about unlocking, Shall we do it our self or do we need to get help of a mobile shop guy?
The one i checked in cowboom is from AT&T.
We can get the code online. I got it thru ebay.
sbala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2012, 17:39   #11514
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,087
Thanked: 586 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simhi View Post
Sony Xperia S: Only phone from Sony Xperia Range which is currently satisfying all requirements. Also, it is being considered by Google for AOSP. Also has good CPU and GPU. However, price is only the issue. If it were below 25K INR, I could have pushed my budget. Best price at Adexmart is 25990 INR. A

Samsung Galaxy S2: I have waited so long for Ace 2 that I don't want to consider S2 now. Also beyond budget.
If you're willing to stretch your budget to around 23.5K, You can get the SGS2. There's a superdeal on the S2 and S3 on Homeshop18 starting tomorrow evening. The prices haven't been announced yet, but I think S2 would be around 23.5K and S3 about 33.5K.

http://superdeals.homeshop18.com/dea...ple-superdeal/
kala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2012, 01:46   #11515
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by kala View Post
If you're willing to stretch your budget to around 23.5K, You can get the SGS2. There's a superdeal on the S2 and S3 on Homeshop18 starting tomorrow evening. The prices haven't been announced yet, but I think S2 would be around 23.5K and S3 about 33.5K.

http://superdeals.homeshop18.com/dea...ple-superdeal/
I doubt if this is the right time to buy S2/Note. Prices have been reduced and it'll take a while for online stores to capture the same. So its recommended to hold on right now.

Source: http://www.androidos.in/2012/09/sams...drop-in-india/
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2012, 06:24   #11516
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 336
Thanked: 309 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
I doubt if this is the right time to buy S2/Note. Prices have been reduced and it'll take a while for online stores to capture the same. So its recommended to hold on right now.

Source: http://www.androidos.in/2012/09/sams...drop-in-india/
Thanks for the above information. The official price now is 25900 and I hope it is available below 25K in online and retail stores in few weeks time.
Simhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2012, 09:28   #11517
Senior - BHPian
 
naveen.raju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cochin
Posts: 3,662
Thanked: 2,880 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Samsung Galaxy Note coming to India on Sept 27th. Also, they have reduced the rates of Galaxy Note by 3k and S2 by 2k.
naveen.raju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2012, 11:55   #11518
Senior - BHPian
 
naveenroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,315
Thanked: 686 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

And the Micromax A90 is all out of stock at all online stores even. Though I want to buy it at a physical store, exchanging my P500, it is not even available anywhere now. Sold like hot cakes I guess! And I still have not seen one physical phone yet!
naveenroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2012, 14:13   #11519
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 401
Thanked: 83 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustCause View Post
Attachment 989504
Mine is also 1200MHz. It shows in AnTuTu after I performed a hard reset for ADB root.
Anyone of you Atrix 2 friends using exchange activesync out there and are on ICS? If yes, please tell me what all are the difference in the stock e-mail client.
bhp_maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2012, 14:18   #11520
Senior - BHPian
 
ninjatalli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: BOM
Posts: 1,596
Thanked: 1,166 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveenroy
And the Micromax A90 is all out of stock at all online stores even. Though I want to buy it at a physical store, exchanging my P500, it is not even available anywhere now. Sold like hot cakes I guess! And I still have not seen one physical phone yet!
From what I understand it never reached the stores. When I was checking out the A100 online and in stores from the day it was launched, I was also keeping a lookout for the A90, but never saw one. A few of the online stores did show it available but the feedbacks said otherwise.
ninjatalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« The iPhone Thread | - »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks