Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th December 2012, 08:12   #13006
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
Has anyone here used dx? How is it? Reliable? Do they ship to India?
Regards,
If you meant dealextreme, they have got cool gadgets. I will think twice before placing any order though - because of customs. Large sized packages may attract their attention. I had bought DRLs for my car from their site. It was a good quality product and still works fine after almost an year unlike the local LED stuff. Customs had blocked it for several weeks and I had to go there with the invoice and payment details to get it released.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 09:03   #13007
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
Hmmm.
So did you use flashtool?
I was going to unlock my ion, and I got directed to sonys website, telling me about warranty.
No such thing happened with my x10 .

Not much available for the ion so far, so I decided to hold for now.
I think I did. I used the instructions from this post on xda-developers to lock bootloader.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1134335
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 11:50   #13008
Newbie
 
C4CAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hosur
Posts: 9
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Just got my Nexus 7+With Mobile Data. 32 GB. Costed me $330.

Used Airtel sim activated with 3G, Works fine. Just that we need to tweek the APN settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by C4CAR View Post
Yes, The model name is Nexus 7 with Mobile Data. 32GB costs $299. I am getting mine in Dec
Got. Looks stunning. Used Airtel Micro Sim for 3G. Needs little tweeking of APN settings though.

Name:  Nexus.jpg
Views: 860
Size:  24.0 KB

Last edited by Vid6639 : 10th December 2012 at 12:31. Reason: merging back to back posts. Please use the edit option when quoting within 30mins.
C4CAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 12:24   #13009
Senior - BHPian
 
agambhandari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Delhi,Ludhiana
Posts: 1,104
Thanked: 811 Times
Default

Check out my Phone's Model and Horsepower!

Name:  20121210122158.jpg
Views: 582
Size:  79.7 KB
agambhandari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 13:05   #13010
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by C4CAR View Post
Just got my Nexus 7+With Mobile Data. 32 GB. Costed me $330.

Used Airtel sim activated with 3G, Works fine. Just that we need to tweek the APN settings.



Got. Looks stunning. Used Airtel Micro Sim for 3G. Needs little tweeking of APN settings though.

Attachment 1025461
I'd suggest unlocking the boot loader before going ahead and making the tablet yours (setting up accounts and stuff)

I updated my nexus 7 to use Franco kernel and experiencing noteable performance improvement overall. Are you running 4.2.1?

Last edited by clevermax : 10th December 2012 at 13:06.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 15:28   #13011
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,615
Thanked: 6,703 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by C4CAR View Post
Just got my Nexus 7+ ... Got. Looks stunning...
As does your photo. Brilliant "pose" --- very professional
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 15:28   #13012
Senior - BHPian
 
naveenroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,313
Thanked: 684 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
You can plug in a portable hdd in USB to use any amount of storage 32 GB limit only applies to SD Card slot.
Ah, I was thinking you can only use the SD card for storage. Thanks for the headsup

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp_maniac View Post
Combined with this, an XBMC for android installation on this device should be the ultimate home entertainment system, and that too almost "hidden" by that size.
Yes, sounds very interesting. Will be my first buy next year....
naveenroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 18:35   #13013
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 353
Thanked: 121 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by C4CAR View Post
Just got my Nexus 7+With Mobile Data. 32 GB. Costed me $330.

Used Airtel sim activated with 3G, Works fine. Just that we need to tweek the APN settings.



Got. Looks stunning. Used Airtel Micro Sim for 3G. Needs little tweeking of APN settings though.
Am getting mine next week. Can you please share the APn settings that you used for Airtel?
chennai-indian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 07:44   #13014
Newbie
 
C4CAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hosur
Posts: 9
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
As does your photo. Brilliant "pose" --- very professional
Thank you Ginathom. Photography is my Part time profession http://500px.com/chetuzz

Quote:
Originally Posted by chennai-indian View Post
Am getting mine next week. Can you please share the APn settings that you used for Airtel?
Key in below details only.

APN: airtelgprs.com
MMS protocol: WAP 2.0
MCC:404
MNC: 94
APN type: default,hipri

Save the settings, Switch off Wi-Fi and restart the device.

*This was tested on Airtel - TN sim.
C4CAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 08:35   #13015
Newbie
 
C4CAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hosur
Posts: 9
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
I'd suggest unlocking the boot loader before going ahead and making the tablet yours (setting up accounts and stuff)

I updated my nexus 7 to use Franco kernel and experiencing noteable performance improvement overall. Are you running 4.2.1?
Oh no! i already configured . Wont warranty get void if i do so?

JC
C4CAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 10:21   #13016
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by C4CAR View Post
Oh no! i already configured . Wont warranty get void if i do so?
JC
You can always re-lock the bootloader in nexus devices very easily. It is just a command from fastboot - "fastboot oem (un)lock" - to lock and unlock.

The reason why it is recommended to unlock it before you configure your device is that unlocking *may* erase all userdata. So when the tab is new, you don't have any userdata and don't have to worry about losing anything at all. When I unlocked my Galaxy Nexus after using it for a month, luckily it didn't wipe any userdata. So I could just unlock, root and go on with the same setup. This is not guaranteed though.

Unlocked boot-loader will be required if you need to root the device in future. I always keep both my devices unlocked.

Last edited by clevermax : 11th December 2012 at 10:22.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 12:49   #13017
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: On The Net
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
You can always re-lock the bootloader in nexus devices very easily. It is just a command from fastboot - "fastboot oem (un)lock" - to lock and unlock.

The reason why it is recommended to unlock it before you configure your device is that unlocking *may* erase all userdata. So when the tab is new, you don't have any userdata and don't have to worry about losing anything at all. When I unlocked my Galaxy Nexus after using it for a month, luckily it didn't wipe any userdata. So I could just unlock, root and go on with the same setup. This is not guaranteed though.

Unlocked boot-loader will be required if you need to root the device in future. I always keep both my devices unlocked.
[GUIDE] Internal Memory Data Recovery - Yes We Can!
pmbabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 14:17   #13018
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmbabu View Post
Thanks for that link, but too late in my case...! I didn't lose a byte of data though - everything was always being backed up in my DropBox account.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 15:27   #13019
Newbie
 
C4CAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hosur
Posts: 9
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
You can always re-lock the bootloader in nexus devices very easily. It is just a command from fastboot - "fastboot oem (un)lock" - to lock and unlock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmbabu View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
Thanks for that link, but too late in my case...! I didn't lose a byte of data though - everything was always being backed up in my DropBox account.
Thank you Guys. Will try this today. Also will OTG work on Nexus 7? The verge review says MHL and OTG doesn't work. Any help?

JC
C4CAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2012, 15:52   #13020
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 4,056
Thanked: 3,246 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
Unlocked boot-loader will be required if you need to root the device in future. I always keep both my devices unlocked.
Is this just for nexus devices?
I'm asking since I'm rooted,but still have not unlocked.
mayankk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« The iPhone Thread | - »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:12.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks