Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th December 2012, 11:06   #13096
BHPian
 
vinu_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 261
Thanked: 63 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
It would have been better, if they added 3g and gps and priced it just below 10k.
Would be interesting if it'll let us use 2g from both SIM cards simultaneously. We may not miss 3g then. A 4" IPS, 1 Ghz, 512 MB RAM and microsd at Rs. 6,500 is still very good.
vinu_h is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 11:07   #13097
Senior - BHPian
 
agambhandari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Delhi,Ludhiana
Posts: 1,183
Thanked: 900 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax

It would have been better, if they added 3g and gps and priced it just below 10k.
Lava has also launched a similarly priced and specced phone. It has 3g and GPS too. That looks like the better bet.
agambhandari is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 12:09   #13098
Senior - BHPian
 
SunnyBoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mysore / B'lore
Posts: 1,582
Thanked: 2,767 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

There was a recent deal on Karbonn phones on HomeShop18. There was A15 for 4.4K and A9+ for 6750.

A9+ has 1.2GHz dual core processor, ICS, 5MP with flash, 4inch IPS Screen. SPec sheet looked good and I ordered one.

Got the phone yesterday. First off, phone was responsive. As I had read online on many forums, the capacitive buttons hardly work when you do not keep the phone in your hand.

Well then synced with google. When all of my 400 contacts came in, Contacts app started to lag a LOT.

TOok some photos indoors, pathetic low light capability, and there is this flare which comes up if flash is enabled.

Name:  IMG_20121215_171752.jpg
Views: 511
Size:  51.8 KB

Name:  IMG_20121215_171811.jpg
Views: 506
Size:  56.8 KB

Then went outside, got coupla calls and the ear piece is hardly loud enough to hear outside. THis was with max volume. External speaker is loud though.

An hour later, the phone hangs. No buttons/etc work, pulled out the battery. Wont boot on since then :|

Raised a DOA RMA request on HS18, hoping for a refund. Back to good ol' Nexus One, had enough of experimenting on cheap phones.

Last edited by SunnyBoi : 16th December 2012 at 12:10.
SunnyBoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2012, 21:07   #13099
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,600
Thanked: 402 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Installed Paranoid Android based on Jellybean 4.2.1, on Nexus 7.

Why?

Because Google doesn't give a tablet UI with 4.2.x on Nexus 7 anymore, it will be basically a Phone UI, but you can tweak it with the risk of crashing everything.

This ROM just gives you true tablet interface and even more - custom layout and DPI settings per app. Apps have different layouts stored in them and you only get to see one layout usually, depending on your device. With this ROM, I can explore all that layouts any app is capable of, and choose the right one for myself.

Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-screenshot_20121216195541.png

Configuring apps now, next step - change stock kernel to francos

Last edited by clevermax : 16th December 2012 at 21:12.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 12:02   #13100
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,600
Thanked: 402 Times
Default

Facebook is no longer compatible with my phone!

Is it just me? Yesterday it said that the app is incompatible with my device, and then I un installed it hoping a reinstall would solve the issue. Now Facebook app is not even getting listed for my phone (Galaxy Nexus)

Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-screenshot_20121217115645.png

Can anyone confirm if this is the case? Especially Galaxy Nexus users?

Btw, this all started with the Facebook update which rolled out yesterday. The new update is definitely much better than how the app was before. I could update and run it in Nexus7.

Last edited by clevermax : 17th December 2012 at 12:08.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 12:14   #13101
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,557
Thanked: 646 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Hey CM,

I have FB on my phone and upgraded to the latest version recently. I am on YAKJU JB 4.2.1.

Appears to be an issue with Paranoid ROM.
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 12:19   #13102
Senior - BHPian
 
Desmosedici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,378
Thanked: 407 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
Facebook is no longer compatible with my phone!

Is it just me? Yesterday it said that the app is incompatible with my device, and then I un installed it hoping a reinstall would solve the issue. Now Facebook app is not even getting listed for my phone (Galaxy Nexus)

Can anyone confirm if this is the case? Especially Galaxy Nexus users?

Btw, this all started with the Facebook update which rolled out yesterday. The new update is definitely much better than how the app was before. I could update and run it in Nexus7.
I have never used the fb app and have been using the mobile version. Had always read about the app being buggy.

I checked playstore and the fb app is available for download.

Name:  ForumRunner_20121217_121802.png
Views: 356
Size:  237.0 KB

Last edited by bblost : 17th December 2012 at 12:26.
Desmosedici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 13:01   #13103
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,600
Thanked: 402 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150 View Post
Hey CM,

I have FB on my phone and upgraded to the latest version recently. I am on YAKJU JB 4.2.1.

Appears to be an issue with Paranoid ROM.
I am on stock rom and on the same version as yours! Paranoid android runs on my nexus 7..

I have manually copied Facebook apk from nexus 7 to Galaxy Nexus and it is working now.

Still it is listed incompatible. No clue. May be it is my dpi setting. (I use 280 instead of 320)
Name:  20121217 13.03.12.JPG
Views: 511
Size:  120.1 KB

Last edited by clevermax : 17th December 2012 at 13:08.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 13:47   #13104
BHPian
 
hellmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GTA
Posts: 810
Thanked: 637 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by alto99 View Post
I got micromax A110 last month and its worth the price (10k-11k).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadgetfreak View Post
+1 for Mircomax A110, I am using Samsung Galaxy NoteII and bought micromax for dad, was really impressed with quality and size of the phone for the price.
I was honestly surprised by this offering. I never remember it showing up in "hot phones" list or any other list on online shopping websites, although it seems to be selling hot.

If this phone was for me I'd have probably bought it, but since it is for dad and I wouldn't want him to get stuck with a dead phone with no service center around (he lives nearly in a jungle) and given Micromax's unknown device & service quality, we decided to stretch our budget a bit and got the Xperia Sola for 16.5K. It arrived just today.

Thanks guys!
hellmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 14:08   #13105
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,600
Thanked: 402 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellmet View Post
If this phone was for me I'd have probably bought it, but since it is for dad and I wouldn't want him to get stuck with a dead phone with no service center around (he lives nearly in a jungle) and given Micromax's unknown device & service quality, we decided to stretch our budget a bit and got the Xperia Sola for 16.5K. It arrived just today.

Thanks guys!
Nice move.

I was in the same boat. Had been contemplating on Micromax for my dad but later, switched to a slightly more expensive Nokia Windows phone, for the same reason.

I can't think of using a WP myself though. How am I gonna quench my modding thirst with a Windows Phone!

Last edited by clevermax : 17th December 2012 at 14:12.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 14:18   #13106
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: India
Posts: 610
Thanked: 590 Times
Default

Paranoid Android rocks. Thanks a lot guys for helping me root and find a good Customer Rom.

I have not yet fully understood all it's features but my S3 is blazing fast now and I love the fact that there is no Samsung bloat ware that I was trying to get rid of.
Pedaltothefloor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 15:19   #13107
BHPian
 
mukeshgoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 737
Thanked: 369 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedaltothefloor View Post
Paranoid Android rocks. Thanks a lot guys for helping me root and find a good Customer Rom.

I have not yet fully understood all it's features but my S3 is blazing fast now and I love the fact that there is no Samsung bloat ware that I was trying to get rid of.
Great. I have recently rooted my S3 and installed CWM. I am sick of those lags on the stock firmware.

Can you please PM me the link on XDA (???) which you followed to install Paranoid Android?
mukeshgoel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 15:40   #13108
Senior - BHPian
 
naveenroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,319
Thanked: 694 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
How to change?

If your phone is rooted, simply use a root explorer to edit /system/build.prop file. There is a line in it which sets the lcd density -

ro.sf.lcd_density=320

you can change it to 240 or a value you like.
I do not find this line in my build.prop line. Using a Micromax A110
naveenroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 17:11   #13109
BHPian
 
flyingkolors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 212
Thanked: 57 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post
I do not find this line in my build.prop line. Using a Micromax A110
Suggest you not to play around with build.prop unless you're absolutely sure about what you're doing.

It may crash your OS or result in infinite boot loops if not done correctly.
flyingkolors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 17:21   #13110
Senior - BHPian
 
naveenroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,319
Thanked: 694 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingkolors View Post
Suggest you not to play around with build.prop unless you're absolutely sure about what you're doing.

It may crash your OS or result in infinite boot loops if not done correctly.
Ah not to worry - phone is rooted and CWM installed.
naveenroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks