Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th December 2012, 12:42   #13231
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 344
Thanked: 56 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay380 View Post
A strange problem with my MMX A90S running OOTB ICS. In contacts, I have set it up to display only 'Phone' contacts and it works perfectly. Now when I go to Messaging--> New Message--> Add contacts, It shows all the contacts from my contact list! ie gmail/outlook/whatspp etc etc. This is very frustrating. Any suggestions?
Contacts filter works only in contacts app. Even in A110 I can see all contacts while messaging.
Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay380 View Post
Also anyone in Bangalore willing to help me to root my phone?
Rooting A90s : http://www.droidiser.com/2012/11/roo...owtoguide.html
alto99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 13:28   #13232
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,555
Thanked: 646 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post

Galaxy Nexus | 1.6 GHz | Franco kernel r342 | 4.2.1
Hey CM,

Could you help me with the instructions for installing CWM recovery and Franco's kernel ?

Did you try the louder audio mod by misledz ?
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 13:36   #13233
BHPian
 
akshay380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Goa
Posts: 725
Thanked: 549 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by alto99 View Post
Contacts filter works only in contacts app. Even in A110 I can see all contacts while messaging.

Rooting A90s : http://www.droidiser.com/2012/11/roo...owtoguide.html
Yes got it from another friend and rooted and CWMed couple of hours back. Thanks anyways
akshay380 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 13:54   #13234
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,789
Thanked: 7,108 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
Recd my iMito MX2 Mini Android PC today. I had ordered it on 13th dec and recd it today.

Love
the mini-PC! I'm very tempted by these new miniature devices, either component, like Raspberry Pi, or complete, like yours.

I'm also tempted by a tablet or a Transformer.

The trouble is that I can't justify any of it except as a toy, and I don't really have the budget for that :(



.

Last edited by Thad E Ginathom : 24th December 2012 at 13:56.
Thad E Ginathom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 14:15   #13235
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 364 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150 View Post
Hey CM,

Could you help me with the instructions for installing CWM recovery and Franco's kernel ?

Did you try the louder audio mod by misledz ?
It is a simple procedure, first you need to download CWM recovery image and the kernel boot image from

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1757146

and

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1367341

Latest kernel is r348, but I am still on 342.

Once you have these two img files, enter fastboot mode in your phone, and connect it to your PC. Then you can use the fastboot command to flash the recovery and then flash the kernel.

fastboot flash recovery <cwm_recovery_file.img>
fastboot reboot-bootloader

fastboot flash boot <franco_boot.img>
fastboot reboot-bootloader

power off and restart the device.

Once booted up, confirm the kernel version from "About Phone" in settings. But before that, you might be able to notice another big change - the screen will no longer be having that green tint on white colors!

To easily tweak the kernel settings and overclock, there is an apk which is sold by franco himself, which is available in the market. It is called franco kernel updater. This app can later take over the updates of the kernel releases too. Will PM you regarding this.

I am using TWRP recovery in my Nexus7 and said goodbye to CWM. It seems to be better than CWM. By the way, I haven't installed any custom recovery on the phone. Whenever I need to enter recovery, I just boot into it by connecting to PC and using fastboot boot command.

No, I didn't try out the louder audio mod yet. But I have noticed that yakjuxw was louder in general than yakju

Last edited by clevermax : 24th December 2012 at 14:35.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 20:09   #13236
Senior - BHPian
 
sachinj12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,188
Thanked: 161 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Any Atrix2 users facing issues with GPS? The GPS doesnt lock if I have used navigation previously. However, on restarting the phone, the GPS locks instantly. Phone is stock, no custom roms installed.
sachinj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 23:04   #13237
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,521
Thanked: 8,443 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sachinj12 View Post
Any Atrix2 users facing issues with GPS? The GPS doesnt lock if I have used navigation previously. However, on restarting the phone, the GPS locks instantly. Phone is stock, no custom roms installed.
Never had such problems. I have used both Google maps and Sygic.
Though I must admit I might not have stress tested it. But I am sure I have toggled GPS on/off more than once before the map usage and it has worked.

(Not to mention, its on ICS)
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 00:01   #13238
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 233
Thanked: 336 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Hey guys,

After using blackberry for quite a while, got myself my first android phone - LG Optimus L9:

http://www.engadget.com/2012/08/28/l...-l9-announced/

It's looks stunning in white and is so slim just at 9 mm! I had apprehensions over using a touch screen after being used to blackberry's physical keypad but boy I was in for a pleasant surprise. It is so easy to type because of the large 4.7 inch screen.

It's also got a massive battery of 2150 mAh, easily lasts me more than a day with moderate usage.

The build quality is good and the white color looks fab! There are some good inbuilt features like quick memo and quick translator. I am glad i bought this instead of the regular samsung and sony.

LG has made a wonderful product.

Cost me 18800/-

Totally loving the touchscreen experience.
Rating - 5/5
trek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 07:56   #13239
Senior - BHPian
 
sachinj12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,188
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post



(Not to mention, its on ICS)
Has it got anything to do with gingerbread OS? I haven't installed the ICS yet.
sachinj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 09:41   #13240
Senior - BHPian
 
fiat_tarun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pune / Mysore
Posts: 1,110
Thanked: 578 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sachinj12 View Post
Has it got anything to do with gingerbread OS? I haven't installed the ICS yet.
I don't have the issue either. Any reason you're sticking to GB ? I find ICS really slick and nice.
fiat_tarun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 09:50   #13241
Senior - BHPian
 
sachinj12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,188
Thanked: 161 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiat_tarun View Post

I don't have the issue either. Any reason you're sticking to GB ? I find ICS really slick and nice.
I am a noob with this update/rom flash thing. Waiting for my cousin's exams to get over so that he can install the ICS or root the phone. Until then I gotta make use of GB
sachinj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 09:55   #13242
Senior - BHPian
 
fiat_tarun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pune / Mysore
Posts: 1,110
Thanked: 578 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sachinj12 View Post
I am a noob with this update/rom flash thing. Waiting for my cousin's exams to get over so that he can install the ICS or root the phone. Until then I gotta make use of GB
The update is very simple and no data is lost.

Go to settings ---> about phone ---> system update

That's it. Make sure you are on wifi and download the update.
fiat_tarun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 12:47   #13243
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,521
Thanked: 8,443 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sachinj12 View Post
Until then I gotta make use of GB
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiat_tarun View Post
The update is very simple and no data is lost.

Go to settings ---> about phone ---> system update

That's it. Make sure you are on wifi and download the update.
+1 to Tarun. The update is very simple as he mentioned. Only point to note (as Tarun also mentioned) is its good to update through the Wifi+Home
Broad Band rather than 3-G
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 19:28   #13244
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 448
Thanked: 98 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Guys I need help. My brother recently purchased HTC One V with seller warranty. So when the phone arrived and my broter switched it on there was no Google Play store, gmail, youtube app installed in the phone. When he tried to install google play app from internet it downloaded but it was not working. Then he downloaded youtube and it is working fine. So have neglected the google play store issue. Also one thing that is bothering my brother is the network signals reception is very strange. Loke today it happened. My house is in the heart of the city. All my phones show full signal strength but HTC One V shows only 2-3 bars. Today he went to a mall and there it was showing 0 bars and a red cross was appearing on the network signals bar. This sometimes happens in my house also. The red cross appears suddenly and then again it starts showing signal strength.

Today evening the phone showed a software update for the phone. When it was downloaded a message came that said " The device software has been modified. Please revert back to the original software." So please tell me what is the problem with my phone. I even talked to HTC customer care people about the signal reception issue andvthere reply wa that the phone does not have any such issue. So please tell what to do. Should I ask the seller for refund? Please help.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 19:34   #13245
Senior - BHPian
 
DRIV3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,650
Thanked: 1,094 Times
Default

^ The phone is rooted in all probability. Unroot the phone and flash the HTC provided firmware and see if the issue exists, if yes ask seller for the refund.

Search xda forums on how to root a HTC One V. All the best!
DRIV3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks