Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th December 2012, 12:52   #13321
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,586
Thanked: 638 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Guys please tell me whether HTC One V has network signal reception issue and Wifi issue? Users please let me know. Hope to hear soon.

Thanks
Dear HR,

1. Your phone's baseband is crashing.
OR
2. Your sim slot is faulty.
OR
3. Your phone doesnt have an IMEI and it is not able/allowed to register on the network

Either of these three.
F150 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 12:55   #13322
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 4,056
Thanked: 3,250 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Guys please tell me whether HTC One V has network signal reception issue and Wifi issue? Users please let me know. Hope to hear soon.

Thanks
Hey, did you reset your phone yet?
Sameer here is using the same phone, and no such issues.
mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 13:45   #13323
Senior - BHPian
 
lohithrao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kudla/Mangaluru
Posts: 3,124
Thanked: 161 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Finally, am a "smartboy" after 2months of looking around for a upgrade from a "Dumb" phone to a "smart phone". finally the search came to an end yesterday with me picking "XOLO X900"

I bought it from Flipkart for 15500, the 2k cash back offer helped me to decide on this phone, also the reviews on net helped me decide on this..

The phone is pretty good build wise and i do like the display, video quality is good in daylight, however i dint like the micro slim slot function, opening the slot is a pain and the loudspeaker is not that loud..

Now, suggest me some mush have aps thanks
lohithrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 14:23   #13324
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Guys,

Would appreciate help from you guys who are into Anti-Theft software for Android smartphones.

I recently lost my Samsung Galaxy S to a theft. I did not have any anti-theft software installed on that phone unfortunately. :(

Have got a new phone now, which is a Samsung Galaxy S Advance. Needless to say, my topmost priority is to get a good anti-theft solution.

I have installed a software named "Cerebrus" from the Android market. Also activated mobile tracking via the Samsung Account.

But here is the catch. Applications like Cerebrus work well only when your data connection is Switched on when your phone is at the hands of a Thief. For example, a thief enters invalid Lock pattern on so this app takes a photo from the front camera and via the GPS it gathers the location info and sends an Email with the same. However, I do not normally keep my data connection ON always.

Is there any other app that does not rely on Data connection ? OR, is there any way i can enable Data connection and GPS on my phone when it is Restarted ?
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 15:37   #13325
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
Is there any other app that does not rely on Data connection ? OR, is there any way i can enable Data connection and GPS on my phone when it is Restarted ?
You can use SMS based apps. These apps, will alert you via SMS if a new SIM is inserted.

E.G.: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...Notifier&hl=en

However, in case thief is a professional then first thing that is done is full wipe of hardware so none of the apps are going to work.

Make sure that encryption is turned on for phone, otherwise someone can get all your facebook accounts / emails / sms would be accessible and can be used for accessing your back accounts etc (Emails will provide details like DOB/Pincode that are used for verification by call centers).

Unless phone is encrypted, no anti \-theft solution saves data if phone is turned off and memory is accessed directly via JTAG.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 16:24   #13326
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 92 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150 View Post
Dear HR,

1. Your phone's baseband is crashing.
OR
2. Your sim slot is faulty.
OR
3. Your phone doesnt have an IMEI and it is not able/allowed to register on the network

Either of these three.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
Hey, did you reset your phone yet?
Sameer here is using the same phone, and no such issues.

I have talked to the seller and he is ready to replace the phone. I have asked him to give me a non rooted phone this time. I have shipped back the phone to him. He was also saying that if I want to go with some other phone he will do it. Thats why I am asking the question. Should I go with One V only or some other phone?
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 16:53   #13327
BHPian
 
sids911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 385
Thanked: 39 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by phamilyman View Post
but seriously, for god's sakes. why the hell does one need that ginormous amount of RAM in a phone for simple lag free usage? Either google doesnt know how to code android, or samsung's touchwiz is crap. contacts should not lag for that reason!!
I really dont think the problem is in Google's code for stock android. The Galaxy Nexus works pretty fine with 1 GB RAM on stock JB.

I believe its Samsung's touchwiz overlays and feature additions which create havoc with android's memory management. 1 GB RAM should really be sufficient for a well functioning Unix based OS, especially when the kernel is optimized and toned down for smartphones. Else, another Unix based smartphone OS (iOS) would not have run so well on 512 MB Ram of older iDevices.

But, I am not sure whats the deal with S3 JB. ICS on S3 ran pretty fine decimating benchmarks and all!
sids911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 17:37   #13328
Senior - BHPian
 
bluevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,892
Thanked: 2,047 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Should I go with One V only or some other phone?
Go for One V. It's a nice phone with excellent camera and good enough battery backup.
bluevolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 19:23   #13329
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Touchwiz is a royal mess, this and Kies are examples of why Samsung should give up on writing software.
Another such example, this the Home Page of Samsung services.


Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-samsung-account-error.png
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 21:09   #13330
BHPian
 
Binzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kochi/Trivandrum
Posts: 66
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post

Is there any other app that does not rely on Data connection ? OR, is there any way i can enable Data connection and GPS on my phone when it is Restarted ?
Am not sure about other phones, but on touchwiz based phones, even you leave data on, a thief can easily disable data connection despite the phone being pattern/pin locked. This is a big disadvantage.
Binzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 21:27   #13331
Distinguished - BHPian
 
drmohitg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 4,400
Thanked: 3,429 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Got a query. I was using whats app on my phone. Now I have changed my number. But the whats app on my phone is perhaps tuned to the old number. Can I change this? Or would a simple re-install would take care of the problem. Will I lose my contact list if I re-install it?
drmohitg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 22:36   #13332
BHPian
 
nkg77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Trivandrum, Kerala
Posts: 233
Thanked: 141 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drmohitg View Post
Got a query. I was using whats app on my phone. Now I have changed my number. But the whats app on my phone is perhaps tuned to the old number. Can I change this? Or would a simple re-install would take care of the problem. Will I lose my contact list if I re-install it?
Delete your what'sapp account from whatsapp with your old sim. Then you can put the new sim and activate whatsapp with the new number.
nkg77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2012, 14:02   #13333
BHPian
 
doxinboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 44
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Hi people,
Got myself A110 and I like it, would like to know if a screen guard is required. I feel there is a need for a case. Is there any exclusive case for this product?
doxinboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2012, 14:09   #13334
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Home
Posts: 179
Thanked: 104 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by doxinboy View Post
Hi people,
Got myself A110 and I like it, would like to know if a screen guard is required. I feel there is a need for a case. Is there any exclusive case for this product?
I dont think the phone comes with Gorilla glass, so it might be more prone to scratches than most of the new releases on the market today. The cases are available on the market - on ebay and at B&M stores, but the quality isnt up to the mark.
Recompose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2012, 14:19   #13335
BHPian
 
doxinboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 44
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Recompose View Post
I dont think the phone comes with Gorilla glass, so it might be more prone to scratches than most of the new releases on the market today. The cases are available on the market - on ebay and at B&M stores, but the quality isnt up to the mark.
Thanks, was really concerned about this. Appreciate your help.
doxinboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« The iPhone Thread | - »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks