Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th November 2009, 18:30   #226
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,209
Thanked: 1,195 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Your Home Theatre System means your A/V Receiver I suppose. I don't recall ever seeing an A/V Receiver without digital input. I only use the digital out, therefore trouble with sound at all.
So are you using the Toslink cable? I use my Home Theatre system only for better sound---my audio out from the Plasma is connected to the audio in on the Home Theatre system.

Last edited by Samurai : 29th November 2009 at 20:39. Reason: typo in my post
vnabhi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 19:06   #227
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
So are you using the Toslink cable? I use my Home Theatre system only for better sound---my audio out from the Plasma is connected to the audio in on the Home Theatre system.
Ideally, you should get the sound output from your media playing device to the home theator system, rather than routing it via your plasma.

OT: Has anyone got / ordered Xtreamer eTrayz? Just wanted to know if someone has already ordered and if I can get some first hand review on it!
I have already ordered one and waiting on shipping. I shall be able to provide some inputs once I start using it, my requirements going to be limited though.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 20:42   #228
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,496 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
So are you using the Toslink cable? I use my Home Theatre system only for better sound---my audio out from the Plasma is connected to the audio in on the Home Theatre system.
My HTS is setup like this: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadge...re-system.html

I use the TV speakers only for Tata Sky.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 10:24   #229
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

^ Is it because you have only composite output on your T-Sky? What I have done is used two different composite cables. One for video that goes from T-Sky to TV directly and second one for audio going to HTS.
presently the only device where I use TV speakers is Xbox, the HDMI output from Xbox is just going to be a pass thru audio and I will hvae to do alternate arrangement (cables) for a seperate digital audio for that (which my kid is not demanding at the moment) - rest all devices have digital audio o/p that I can feed to HTS easily.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 10:48   #230
BHPian
 
anurag_p80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 313
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Venu, you are still having trouble with DTS? There are free tools available on the net which will convert the audio from DTS to AC3 6 channel, which can then be decoded by your WDTV (but I guess it only decodes it as 2 channel stereo). The source files are in .mkv format, I assume since this is the only format the converter will work with. Hang on while I dig for the linky

EDIT: Here is the download link:
http://audioconverter.heartware.dk

Guide:
Tutorial for converting audio tracks with HeartWare MKV Audio Converter

Last edited by anurag_p80 : 30th November 2009 at 10:56.
anurag_p80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 10:58   #231
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,209
Thanked: 1,195 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anurag_p80 View Post
Venu, you are still having trouble with DTS? There are free tools available on the net which will convert the audio from DTS to AC3 6 channel, which can then be decoded by your WDTV (but I guess it only decodes it as 2 channel stereo). The source files are in .mkv format, I assume since this is the only format the converter will work with. Hang on while I dig for the linky
Thanks Anurag---you are a saviour. Nearly 70% of the HD movies I have got hold of are in Digital format, which means I am sunk.

Do let me know whatever you get.

I know that the optimum way to utilize the output is to connect the WD Player to the Home Theatre System.But I am forced to direct the output from the Plasma to the HTS as there is no hdmi input on the HTS---it is an 8 year old Panasonic Home Theatre system that merely has an S Video output apart from AV inputs and outputs. I had paid neary 33 K for it and don't wanna dispose of it---it also plays the 100s of cassettes that I still have. It also has a 5-CD changer that plays Mp3 too, apart from DVDs and VCDs
vnabhi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 22:23   #232
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,209
Thanked: 1,195 Times
Default

Thanks to Anurag, I was able to download the requisite software to convert DTS tracks to Dolby Digital---each movie takes about 25 minutes to convert, and I've already converted and tested two.

Anurag---I will buy you your favourite lemonade when we meet next.

I've also applied the upgrade patch to the WD player and now the look and feel is better.

Cheers!
vnabhi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 12:45   #233
BHPian
 
anurag_p80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 313
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Venu, glad that you got the solution. And I am never one to say no to a free drink of course....
anurag_p80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2010, 08:44   #234
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Guys,

I'm planning to buy a 3.5 internal HDD for my e-Trayz. I'm looking for 2TB (unless 1.5TB is way cheaper than 2TB).

I guess, I've got two options here.

1> Segate
2> WD

I understand that WD has got less failure rate but Segate gives around 5 years warranty. Looking at the warranty period by Segate (and couple of my friends got replacement on bad blocks if I remember right), do you think its good to go for Segate?
To start with my application will be storing movies and little bit of other data, not sure if I'm going to store critical data (that needs backup) on this.
Your inputs are welcome.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2010, 09:34   #235
BHPian
 
Fillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 271
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketan View Post
Guys,

I'm planning to buy a 3.5 internal HDD for my e-Trayz. I'm looking for 2TB (unless 1.5TB is way cheaper than 2TB).
Hi Ketan,

What are the ongoing prices for 1TB and 2TB ?
i.e. in Bangalore.

I too am thinking of getting a new disk for my PCH

-Fillmore
Fillmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2010, 09:44   #236
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

@computerwarehouse website, I see 1TB Sata (WD) at around 4.5K and 2TB at 9450 (WD again).
2TB (segate) @ 9850. However, we should be able to bargain bit more once we go to SP road, this can just be indicative prices.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2010, 10:14   #237
Senior - BHPian
 
SkyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,531
Thanked: 122 Times
Default

Since my brother was travelling, i picked up his WDTV for 3 months and i just love the thing. I have to return it in May, so i been thinking about purchasing it. I looked at the new model Live, but seems like the only difference is added Ethernet support (where's Wifi?).

Any other players i should look at? To me the format support is a must - must play various mpeg4 formats and should support mkv container. I dont care much about music, photos etc.

Picking it up from Amazon. Cost is said as 99$ with free shipping. Newegg has refurbished ones for 60$, but i usually stay away from refurbished.
SkyWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2010, 11:11   #238
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

^ There are other options if you are planning to play various formats. WD had still got limited formats even with the latest model per my understanding.
Look for Xtreamer and other digital media players that can paly multiple formats. However, go for something with better support and market value where you get frequent firmware accomodating new formats and fixing issues around.

We should be seeing this technology soon integrated within the STB or may be in the TV itself in near future, but I guess it will be lil far for India to see that happening.

Dont look for wifi unless you are sure going to have N series or higher. Media streaming will need good bw if you are playing 8GB movie. I have prefer / connected mine using cable eventhough I have wifi anteena.
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2010, 11:53   #239
Senior - BHPian
 
SkyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,531
Thanked: 122 Times
Default

Ketan - thanks for your response. My main asks are Mpeg4 and MKV and currently WDTV supports almost all of them. Xtreamer is costs 50% more (WDTV is 99$, WDTV Live 119, XStreamer 149$). Any key reasons why the premium is justified?

STBs - yes that should take some time. Well, technically my DVD Player and Wii console can play the files from USB HDD, but the results aren't as pretty as WDTV and they choke on 1080p HD media.

LAN/WiFi isn't a main criteria, thats why i was looking at WDTV instead of the Live version. But if i have to connect i would prefer WiFi over wired Ethernet (and i have a N).
SkyWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2010, 15:54   #240
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

I think you should also checkout ASUS O'Play
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External USB HDD would not mount kpbhatt Gadgets, Computers & Software 18 22nd December 2009 06:53
Backup Solutions : Windows 2003 compatible External HDD ? Need help ! FlyingSpur Gadgets, Computers & Software 36 11th November 2009 15:35
Install Ubuntu on External HDD rahulsingh007 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 17th February 2009 09:59
HDD External Casing adityamunshi Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 3rd February 2008 21:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks