Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th June 2009, 06:34   #91
BHPian
 
hrishig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 372
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Use WDTV + take blue ray MKV which should be around 4GB-6GB( search net for the rips)

I have 1000+DVD collection, but after looking at the blue ray quality , I simply started replacing DVD's with the blue ray.

Beware that this should be done only where Hi picture quality can be justified. i. e movies after 2007. Before that I think it's better to stick to DVD rips.

And PS3 vs WDTV it's like maruti vs Merc. simple can not compare.

If you are playing games and ready to spend money PS3 is the way . But in such case both wireless controllers+ games etc etc will easily take your budget above 20 k

If audio / video is the only reason then WDTV it is.& can be brought at 6/6.5k if searched properly.


Put rest on the money in a proper universal remove. Chroma is offering Logitech harmony at reasonable price.

For VFM 5.1 THX solution look at Logitech z5500 awsome sound. After proper EQ settings this setup ( WDTV + Z5500+ Good 40+ inLCD + Universal Remote ) will bring Real Cinema at dirt cheap price in your home.
hrishig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 08:59   #92
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 443
Thanked: 63 Times
Default

But this setup will always involve converting those Blu-rays to MKV first isnt it? If we can replace the WDTV with a good Blu-ray player, then that hassle is gone right? Sure, you do lose out on the ability to play your xvid and other HD content off USB, but there may be Blu-ray players having USB support isnt it?
kalpeshc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 09:16   #93
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

But why replace? You can have WDTV and Blu-ray player. I am planning to attach both DVD player and WDTV to the plasma. My only problem is my Plasma has only one HDMI input.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 09:25   #94
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 443
Thanked: 63 Times
Default

^ Simple question of economics

But the question now is whether a good Blu Ray standalone player would read off a HDD too!
kalpeshc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 09:27   #95
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
But why replace? You can have WDTV and Blu-ray player. I am planning to attach both DVD player and WDTV to the plasma. My only problem is my Plasma has only one HDMI input.
Simple solution. Get a HDMI Switcher. Monoprice has a few. If you don't want to get from them, then MX has a few models. I would go the MX way for the ease of getting it from them.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 09:52   #96
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
But why replace? You can have WDTV and Blu-ray player. I am planning to attach both DVD player and WDTV to the plasma. My only problem is my Plasma has only one HDMI input.
component output should give you the same HD experience.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 10:28   #97
BHPian
 
hrishig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 372
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
component output should give you the same HD experience.
Hmm , I have my own doughts if HDMI experience = Component experience.

But hey i am not the expert.

"But this setup will always involve converting those Blu-rays to MKV first isnt it? If we can replace the WDTV with a good Blu-ray player, then that hassle is gone right?"

Blue Ray = 25+ GB ,
Good ripped MKV =
4 GB for 720p ,
8 Gb for full HD

So unless you purchase the blueray or storing it on blueray Disk , MKV is still the way to go. Max external HDD is still 2TB.

Let's face it ..

Almost all (99.99999999....%)network media tanks are used for playing pirated/ ripped VCD/DVD/HDDVD/BlueRays .


So if you are ready to keep stack of CD/DVD/Bluray's then yes its the way to go. But Searching ,sorting , maintaining 300+ DVD's become pain and they tend to get scratches over period of time. For 1000+ dvd's it becomes horror story


If you have Huge collection of these things then WDTV + good external HDD (say 1TB) offers compact solution.
WDTV official firmware still doen't offer facility to sort video files by gener / year etc etc( but works for Audio files ), but hoping to see these things in next 6 months in atleast unofficial firmware
hrishig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 13:25   #98
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalpeshc View Post
^ Simple question of economics

But the question now is whether a good Blu Ray standalone player would read off a HDD too!
In the near future, Blu-Ray player and Blu-ray discs can't be mentioned along with the word economy. You can get WDTV for the price of 3-4 Blu-ray discs in India. Also, there is the question of convenience, I can probably store all my DVD collection into couple of 2TB USB drives. That is my current plan.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 13:40   #99
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalpeshc View Post
^ Simple question of economics

But the question now is whether a good Blu Ray standalone player would read off a HDD too!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
But why replace? You can have WDTV and Blu-ray player. I am planning to attach both DVD player and WDTV to the plasma. My only problem is my Plasma has only one HDMI input.
A new contender from the house of Popcorn Hour has been announced. The Popcorn C-200. It plays everything that you can throw at it.

Going by the price of the earlier Popcorn Hour in India, this will cost a bomb.
Attached Thumbnails
Networked Media Players - Play External HDD Content on TV-c200rcantenna.jpg  

Attached Images
 
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 13:45   #100
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrishig View Post
And PS3 vs WDTV it's like maruti vs Merc. simple can not compare.

If you are playing games and ready to spend money PS3 is the way . But in such case both wireless controllers+ games etc etc will easily take your budget above 20 k

If audio / video is the only reason then WDTV it is.& can be brought at 6/6.5k if searched properly.
I dont think that kind of analogy prevails. What I have heard about the PS3 is that quality is 'faily decent' but not outstanding. Plus, Blue ray DVD playback is possible and HDMI output option exists. So I guess that much quality is sufficient for an average Joe, na?

I was wanting to know the quality of avis being played off a PS3, so that within the same amount I can get gaming capabilities as well.

I will have to compromise on the sound that will be from LCD speakers. But I am ok with that at the moment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrishig View Post
For VFM 5.1 THX solution look at Logitech z5500 awsome sound. After proper EQ settings this setup ( WDTV + Z5500+ Good 40+ inLCD + Universal Remote ) will bring Real Cinema at dirt cheap price in your home.
What you have quoted will also come to the same thing as a PS3 na? WDHDTV for 7k+Logitech z5500 for 17k = Rs ~25k
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 13:59   #101
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
I have started converting my decade old original DVD collection to MKV....
Samurai,

Are these MKVs lossless?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
But why replace? You can have WDTV and Blu-ray player. I am planning to attach both DVD player and WDTV to the plasma. My only problem is my Plasma has only one HDMI input.
As SumitB says, a HDMI switch is one way. (Though using component is also a great and easy idea!)

I purchased this one from monoprice : For only $60.75 each when QTY 50+ purchased - 4X2 True Matrix HDMI 1.3a Powered Switch w/ Remote Controller (Rev. 3.0) | Auto/Powered HDMI Switch

Its a true-matrix 4x2. That means 4 inputs 2 outputs, and any input can be mapped to either/both outputs simultaneously.

I got this so i can switch between a computer monitor and projector / or run them simultaneously.

Only issue im facing at the moment is that the monitor is 1920x1200, and for some reason my computer only wants to output 1080p (1920x1080) when i connect the monitor to the computer via the HDMI switch (DVI > HDMI > SWITCH > HDMI > DVI). When connected directly it does 1920x1200 fine. I think this has something to do with the graphics driver version and its limitations. (Unfortunately the newer ATI drivers were not allowed to be installed on my laptop as it said i should only use the drivers supplied by the manufacturer!)

Also the clarity of the image on the monitor through the switch is not as good as the clarity of a direct DVI-DVI connection. The text is not as crisp, though you wouldn't notice unless it was a side-by-side comparison. This was a little surprising to me, being entirely digital. (and yes, monitor is locked to 1:1 pixel ratio)

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 18th June 2009 at 14:03.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 14:08   #102
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Samurai,
Are these MKVs lossless?
Oh yeah, the file size is same as the DVD size. MakeMKV does no compression. Eats up too much space though.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 14:20   #103
Senior - BHPian
 
Ajaybiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,354
Thanked: 140 Times
Default

I am using Philps DVD player its some 3996 model for playing movies from HDD through its USB input, most of them are divX movies and after upscaling it comes well in my Plasma, still not felt that i need Blueray may be later on once it comes down i'll upgrade it, thinking of buying WD player as my Philps player dosent reads from NTFS formatted discs and it dosent support bigger HDD like my WD 1TB.
Ajaybiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 14:25   #104
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Samurai, why don't you just copy the whole dvd onto the hard drive and then try playing the same on the WDTV. You will have 2 folders, Audio_TS and Video_TS. The WDTV should be able to play it without issues. You then won't have to convert them to mkv!
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 16:29   #105
BHPian
 
hrishig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 372
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SumitB View Post
Samurai, why don't you just copy the whole dvd onto the hard drive and then try playing the same on the WDTV. You will have 2 folders, Audio_TS and Video_TS. The WDTV should be able to play it without issues. You then won't have to convert them to mkv!
But then It will be 4+ GB or 8GB if dual layer. if we are ok with this space then better to convert DVD in single ISO file and use.


nishantgandhi->
WDHDTV for 7k+Logitech z5500 for 17k = Rs ~25k

for PS3 it will be
PS3+ Logitech z5500 + remotes + games = Rs40k Min.


Comparison is WDHDTV vs PS3 do not bring speakers here.

Earlier Ps3 was the cheapest blurray option but now it is no more.


For gaming PS3 ( 20 k)

For A/V WDTV ( 6+k)


It is as simple as that.
hrishig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External USB HDD would not mount kpbhatt Gadgets, Computers & Software 18 22nd December 2009 06:53
Backup Solutions : Windows 2003 compatible External HDD ? Need help ! FlyingSpur Gadgets, Computers & Software 36 11th November 2009 15:35
Install Ubuntu on External HDD rahulsingh007 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 17th February 2009 09:59
HDD External Casing adityamunshi Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 3rd February 2008 21:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:00.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks