Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th October 2010, 20:25   #16
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

That's strange. What is the firmware version of your Wave? Mine is - S8500DDJH1_INU. If yours is different than you are not running the latest firmware available in India. Connect your Wave to Kies and upgrade to latest firmware.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2010, 23:43   #17
UKR
BHPian
 
UKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trivandrum/Bangalore
Posts: 90
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Upgrade to OS version 1.2?

Has anyone upgraded the OS to version 1.2? I have read that the new version has swype feature, has better memory management and is faster than the current version.

Also I had selected UK as my country while installing Kies so that I could access the app store through Kies. Now Kies is showing that a firmware upgrade is available. I was wondering if it would cause any problem if I upgrade the firmware on a device bought in India with country set to UK in Kies?
UKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 09:08   #18
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKR View Post
Has anyone upgraded the OS to version 1.2? I have read that the new version has swype feature, has better memory management and is faster than the current version.
I have not. I'm still waiting for official release from Samsung. Actually I don't have direct access to any windows machine to can't connect my Wave to Kies. Once bada 1.2 is officially available, I'll loan a windows machine from friend and upgrade. From there on, I can upgrade the firmware over the air on wi-fi.

Quote:
Also I had selected UK as my country while installing Kies so that I could access the app store through Kies. Now Kies is showing that a firmware upgrade is available. I was wondering if it would cause any problem if I upgrade the firmware on a device bought in India with country set to UK in Kies?
Are you really able to download the apps available in UK store? If yes, I want to do it too. The number of apps available in UK store are 3 times more than in India store.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 10:58   #19
BHPian
 
Newpunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 640
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
Folks, which OS is the Samsung Star Superb running- I just could not locate any OS information ? If it is Bada, then I want apps !!
The Star is just a feature phone running on Java with Touchwiz UI on top. So while you can install any Java app , I doubt you can get Bada apps for it.
Newpunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 11:39   #20
UKR
BHPian
 
UKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trivandrum/Bangalore
Posts: 90
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandhi View Post
I have not. I'm still waiting for official release from Samsung. Actually I don't have direct access to any windows machine to can't connect my Wave to Kies. Once bada 1.2 is officially available, I'll loan a windows machine from friend and upgrade. From there on, I can upgrade the firmware over the air on wi-fi.

Are you really able to download the apps available in UK store? If yes, I want to do it too. The number of apps available in UK store are 3 times more than in India store.
I am not really sure whether I am being shown the Indian app store or the UK one. But initially when I tried to access it, it was telling app store not available for your country. So I tried reinstalling Kies with country set to UK. I was then able to access the app store.

Could you please tell me how to upgrade firmware over the air?
UKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 11:49   #21
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,007
Thanked: 1,427 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newpunter View Post
The Star is just a feature phone running on Java with Touchwiz UI on top. So while you can install any Java app , I doubt you can get Bada apps for it.
Thanks for that clarification - its the clearest I've received! Let me start searching Java apps then.
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 12:09   #22
BHPian
 
Newpunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 640
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
Thanks for that clarification - its the clearest I've received! Let me start searching Java apps then.
You can get thousands of Java apps on getjar.com, but bear in mind that most of them are designed for feature phones with tiny screens and would look like crap on the bigger screen of the Star. But you can select your phone at the top and find apps for that.
Newpunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 12:10   #23
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKR View Post
I am not really sure whether I am being shown the Indian app store or the UK one.
If you can see total number of apps through Kies, you can figure out if it is India store or UK store. Here are the numbers as of today -

India - 898
UK - 2184

Quote:
Could you please tell me how to upgrade firmware over the air?
OTA firmware upgrade is supported on bada 1.0.2 onwards only. AFAIK, in India the latest bada version is still 1.0 so we need to upgrade to at least 1.0.2 to get OTA firmware upgrades.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
Thanks for that clarification - its the clearest I've received! Let me start searching Java apps then.
GetJar - Appsolutely Everything for Nokia, BlackBerry, Android, Samsung, Sony Ericsson, LG, Palm. is your friend.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 13:45   #24
BHPian
 
Cesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philly, Gurgaon
Posts: 629
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

^^ A flag also appears on top showing which country's app store you are in.

And yes you can download apps from the UK store. Only thing is you can only download free apps - or use a UK credit card to download the paid ones. I downloaded NFS from the UK store long time ago and have also downloaded few other apps of late.
Cesc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 14:33   #25
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cesc View Post
And yes you can download apps from the UK store. Only thing is you can only download free apps - or use a UK credit card to download the paid ones. I downloaded NFS from the UK store long time ago and have also downloaded few other apps of late.
Damn. I don't have Kies as I don't have any windows machine. When will Samsung give a Mac version of Kies .
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 14:54   #26
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 38
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

I bought Samsung Wave in the month of August. I had installed NFS Shift from Samsung apps. Recently I had a problem with the time shown for my messages received in the mobile when compared to the time shown in the home screen. So I took the mobile to Samsung Service center to check it. The personnel at Service center did a hard reset of my mobile which erased everything which was in my phone memory. But even then the issue was not fixed & he told me that he would be calling me as soon as he finds a solution.

So came back & tried installing all my lost apps from KIES, but could not install NFS shift. It gave me an error stating "update card details in my page". I then tried accessing Samsungapps.com website to download NFS shift, but it stated page not available. Kindly let me know what need to be done to get the game back.
mvaidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 15:07   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,270
Thanked: 333 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
Folks, which OS is the Samsung Star Superb running- I just could not locate any OS information ? If it is Bada, then I want apps !!

theMAG, the OS what you have in Samsung Star is just Samsung Proprietry Platform(SHP - Samsung Handset Platform). bada is extension to SHP for the capability of downloading third party applications. Lets not call it OS. By the way SHP runs on Nucleus RTOS.

To check Firmware version use *#1234#


Folks, I have question.

What is the best Social feature you like in Samsung Wave? How are the preinstalled applications Twitter, Facebook? Have you used Social Hub and MyAccount?

Last edited by anujmishra : 7th October 2010 at 15:08.
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 15:24   #28
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
What is the best Social feature you like in Samsung Wave? How are the preinstalled applications Twitter, Facebook? Have you used Social Hub and MyAccount?
I haven't used the social apps on Android or iPhone but the ones on bada are good enough for me. I don't use them extensively so won't be able to give you exact details.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 16:06   #29
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

After trying lot of different widgets etc, I have a home screen of my taste. This is how it looks like now -

Name:  20101007160319.jpg
Views: 2772
Size:  260.9 KB
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 16:24   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,491
Thanked: 713 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

@Gandhi, look nice. Should have had the current date though since you have days listed.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda Civic- Tips/Tricks/Hacks iTNerd Technical Stuff 125 14th June 2015 12:07
Samsung bada o/s : Will it take off muni Gadgets, Computers & Software 36 8th October 2010 21:22
Xbox hacks, tips and tricks needed DCEite Gadgets, Computers & Software 23 28th January 2009 01:45
New to 4 Wheelers and hope to learn good tips and tricks to maintain my car. tango6996 Introduce yourself 3 24th March 2007 12:27


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:01.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks