Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th November 2010, 19:20   #136
Senior - BHPian
 
anilisanil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,435
Thanked: 287 Times
Default

^^ It does work on PCs. Symbian and Windows based mobiles do not have all the features incorporated. In fact I am not too sure if you can actually edit a map on your mobile (adding roads, junctions, POIs etc.). So Waze does work on PCs it works in chrome better than IE.
anilisanil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2010, 06:14   #137
BHPian
 
sanagg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: HIMALYAS
Posts: 274
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanagg1 View Post
Dear Bhpian
Request for help. I want to be part of WAZE-TBhp community

I am using BT-GPS with my Netbook.

1. Can I log into WAZE ? If yes How?
2. Which version should I install ? My Netbook runs on Win-Xp

Thanx in anticipation

Cheers
Quote:
Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
^^ It does work on PCs. Symbian and Windows based mobiles do not have all the features incorporated. In fact I am not too sure if you can actually edit a map on your mobile (adding roads, junctions, POIs etc.). So Waze does work on PCs it works in chrome better than IE.
I have downloaded the waze-for windows-touchscreen and tried installing it. The _setup.XML file is not read/run by PC.
How to go ahead for installation with .XML file please help

Thanks
Cheers
sanagg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2010, 11:11   #138
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
^^ It does work on PCs. Symbian and Windows based mobiles do not have all the features incorporated. In fact I am not too sure if you can actually edit a map on your mobile (adding roads, junctions, POIs etc.). So Waze does work on PCs it works in chrome better than IE.
i was not referring to the Waze website when i said it does not work on PCs. i was referring to the Waze application that runs on smartphones - that does not work on PCs as far as i know.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2010, 14:00   #139
BHPian
 
ByDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 436
Thanked: 228 Times
Default

Another interesting feature, don't know if anyone else noticed this.

I was driving the other day, someone pinged me, so I was trying to reply while I was driving. One hand on the steering, and the other on my iphone screen trying to type (yes I got a 3GS 32GB, my moto droid is collecting dust now). While I was driving/typing (bad boy), waze disabled the keyboard and said "Do not type while driving!"

Crazy? How did it recognize me? Cause I was fumbling around so much with the keyboard?
ByDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2010, 14:40   #140
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
Another interesting feature, don't know if anyone else noticed this.

I was driving the other day, someone pinged me, so I was trying to reply while I was driving. One hand on the steering, and the other on my iphone screen trying to type (yes I got a 3GS 32GB, my moto droid is collecting dust now). While I was driving/typing (bad boy), waze disabled the keyboard and said "Do not type while driving!"

Crazy? How did it recognize me? Cause I was fumbling around so much with the keyboard?
hehe.. yeah, it does that! it is mentioned in the Guided Tour - Note that for your safety, typing is disabled when your car is in motion..
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 14:38   #141
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
Another interesting feature, don't know if anyone else noticed this.

I was driving the other day, someone pinged me, so I was trying to reply while I was driving. One hand on the steering, and the other on my iphone screen trying to type (yes I got a 3GS 32GB, my moto droid is collecting dust now). While I was driving/typing (bad boy), waze disabled the keyboard and said "Do not type while driving!"

Crazy? How did it recognize me? Cause I was fumbling around so much with the keyboard?

Also it has nothing to do with your fumbling. It knows your speed remember.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 15:49   #142
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pantnagar--> Kanpur-->Noida
Posts: 25
Thanked: Once
Default

Hey people

Just installed waze on SGS and joined the group. Give me a holler if you see me driving around in Delhi-NCR. I usually go out in Noida and Ghaziabad so maybe I can map out some routes for you guys

Nishant
Nishant B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 19:31   #143
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

i passed two Wazers today:

1. stupendous man at Audugodi

2. john on Hosur road

are these BHPians?
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 20:30   #144
BHPian
 
sajands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 133 Times
Default

Hi All,

I need help on how to download waze onto my BB 8900 curve. I scanned the website and no luck on how to download the application onto my mobile. Bhpian's please help on how to download and use the same.

Regards,
Sajan.
sajands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 20:34   #145
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajands View Post
Hi All,

I need help on how to download waze onto my BB 8900 curve. I scanned the website and no luck on how to download the application onto my mobile. Bhpian's please help on how to download and use the same.

Regards,
Sajan.
not sure where to get the download for BB, but try m.waze.com from your phone. some folks here have got Waze on their BB i think.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 20:40   #146
BHPian
 
sajands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 133 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
not sure where to get the download for BB, but try m.waze.com from your phone. some folks here have got Waze on their BB i think.
Hi IronH4WK,

I tried the mobile version as well but no luck, how did you install the application on your phone?

-Sajan
sajands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 21:02   #147
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajands View Post
Hi IronH4WK,

I tried the mobile version as well but no luck, how did you install the application on your phone?

-Sajan
went to m.waze.com, selected Touchscreen WVGA and downloaded it to my external memory. then installed it from there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newpunter View Post
There seems to be Beta version of the app available for Blackberry right now, but the supported phones are only Bold 9700, Tour 9630, Bold 9000 and Curve 8900.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 23:06   #148
BHPian
 
sajands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 133 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
went to m.waze.com, selected Touchscreen WVGA and downloaded it to my external memory. then installed it from there.
Hi IronH4WK,

Found the way in, enabled Wi-Fi and went to m.waze.com and it worked

Joined into team-bhp community, now to learn how to use this on the road.

-Sajan
sajands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 23:19   #149
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajands View Post
Hi IronH4WK,

Found the way in, enabled Wi-Fi and went to m.waze.com and it worked

Joined into team-bhp community, now to learn how to use this on the road.

-Sajan
kewl!

actually, i did use the wifi to download the setup as it kept getting timed out on the GPRS. forgot to mention that, my bad.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 23:39   #150
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 283
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

@sajands go into app world and search for waze. This is the BB cleared version and links through the BB service. It will only work with BB's that have GPS. It will still work without but won't let you post like my 8520 curve.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash Navigation vs Navigation Module vs Separate Navigation SirAlec In-Car Entertainment 27 20th January 2014 22:19
India to have its own Satellite Navigation system soon! smartcat Shifting gears 31 3rd April 2013 15:41
Skoda Superb - Satellite Navigation integration? PM - B In-Car Entertainment 4 25th March 2012 18:16
Nokia offering maps and navigation for free joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 132 23rd September 2011 16:32
Hyundai launches i20 with satellite navigation h@r$h@l The Indian Car Scene 87 3rd June 2011 13:50


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:20.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks