Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th November 2010, 07:16   #151
BHPian
 
sanagg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: HIMALYAS
Posts: 274
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
went to m.waze.com, selected Touchscreen WVGA and downloaded it to my external memory. then installed it from there.
Instead of "Touchscreen WVGA" there is a direct link to blackberry at no.3

Happy wazing all BB users

Cheers
sanagg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 11:29   #152
Senior - BHPian
 
sushrutha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chikmagalur/Ban
Posts: 1,702
Thanked: 322 Times
Default

I did download waze from the mobile site.
But it's not supporting my BB STORM fully. (Did download from the link to BB)
Keyboard is eating up half of the screen, I'm not able to disable this KB from the screen. How can I get rid of this KB from then screen and fully utilize WAZE ?
sushrutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 13:57   #153
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanagg1 View Post
Instead of "Touchscreen WVGA" there is a direct link to blackberry at no.3

Happy wazing all BB users

Cheers
yes, but i don't have a Blackberry. i've a HD2 running WinMo 6.5 Pro
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 14:45   #154
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 384
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planet_rocker View Post
My phone (Samsung OmniaPRO GT-B7320 Windows phone) is not listed there - will it work. The phone supports GPS application.
Can you check whether this download will work on ur phone. I too have the same model and it seems for WinMo nontouch they have only this beta version. Will myself try later.
emkay456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 10:30   #155
Senior - BHPian
 
sushrutha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chikmagalur/Ban
Posts: 1,702
Thanked: 322 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushrutha View Post
IKeyboard is eating up half of the screen, I'm not able to disable this KB from the screen.
I disabled the keyboard by DISABLING COMPATIBILITY, KB gone, after this i'm not able to to scroll on the KB.
Seems like WAZE is not for BB STORM :-(
sushrutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 11:38   #156
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 504
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Waze routing is inconsistent. Sometimes it just says, server not responding even at home on my high speed internet.

Map browsing is also slow. And the complete routing thing is tricky.

I hope it improves overall on speed of app/map/routing.
devrajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 11:46   #157
BHPian
 
Neilguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 172
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

Why does the group say only 11 members? Did many of you leave the group? I joined it today.

Last edited by Neilguy : 10th November 2010 at 12:00.
Neilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 13:22   #158
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
Why does the group say only 11 members? Did many of you leave the group? I joined it today.
hmm.. this is weird! looks like users were dropped from the group. i don't see any of the people joined when the group was created first! i don't even see my name in it!

even my points show zero now! the last update shows October 17th! definitely a DB crash and restore gone wrong!

Last edited by IronH4WK : 10th November 2010 at 13:25.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2010, 17:57   #159
BHPian
 
gadadhar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 790
Thanked: 210 Times
Default

I have purchased by HTC Desire couple of days back, was disappointed to see that Google Navigation is not supported in our country. I was looking for other options and was considering Brut Maps based on other BHP threads.

My queries are

1) Whether Brut Maps or Waze a better option based on your experience
2) I missed picking a Micro SD with a larger memory and is running on my default 2 GB that comes with phone and is planning to change it in next few days. Does it makes a difference if I download one Brut/Waze today, does it installs anything on SD card
3) Last but not least, I see the enthu in the thread has come down last few days, any reason?
gadadhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2010, 18:13   #160
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sudev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,435
Thanked: 1,914 Times
Default

Waze will install itself locally so it is better that you put in the MSDCard first.

Waze is good and if even if enthu is lesser you are getting it for free!
sudev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2010, 18:30   #161
BHPian
 
gadadhar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 790
Thanked: 210 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sudev View Post
Waze will install itself locally so it is better that you put in the MSDCard first.

Waze is good and if even if enthu is lesser you are getting it for free!
Thanks Sudev, will upgrade the SD card this w/e and then join the group, hope to see you all there soon
gadadhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2010, 19:20   #162
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
hmm.. this is weird! looks like users were dropped from the group. i don't see any of the people joined when the group was created first! i don't even see my name in it!

even my points show zero now! the last update shows October 17th! definitely a DB crash and restore gone wrong!
okie, my points are back and so is the rest. i sat and updated the map today - few roads were not showing up.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2010, 15:01   #163
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 543
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

I am using waze on my BB for few weeks now and only once it took a long time to open so I closed it, other than that, it didn't give up on me.

Doubt~ is it like the more we use waze the more it learns about thr routes, like evolving on its own ?
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2010, 15:36   #164
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 283
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

I used waze on an iphone yesterday and man is it accurate. It however does not leave its predetermined route easily! Unlike my BB on the iphone it precaches all the maps in 3D even. And this with my friends data line disabled coz he had no balance :-D we went out for a late night cruise and the thing is VERY accurate! It guided us back from palace road to my friends house without data! It *NEVER* does that on my BB.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2010, 15:37   #165
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 283
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Sorry this came as a double post and the connection dropped. So ill reply to quadra in it.

@quadra yes it memorises your daily route and even finds you secondary/alternate routes. It even makes you a path breaking bulldozer when you travel on a road that doesn't exist in its data systems. However except roadgoodies and chit-chat disable everything else it ends up becoming a resource hog!

Last edited by valhallen.282 : 13th November 2010 at 15:42.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash Navigation vs Navigation Module vs Separate Navigation SirAlec In-Car Entertainment 27 20th January 2014 22:19
India to have its own Satellite Navigation system soon! smartcat Shifting gears 31 3rd April 2013 15:41
Skoda Superb - Satellite Navigation integration? PM - B In-Car Entertainment 4 25th March 2012 18:16
Nokia offering maps and navigation for free joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 132 23rd September 2011 16:32
Hyundai launches i20 with satellite navigation h@r$h@l The Indian Car Scene 87 3rd June 2011 13:50


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks