Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th October 2010, 19:56   #91
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogeshnaik View Post
Is this application stable on Windows mobiles?
Waze is stable on WinMo if you don't do multitasking when its running. you can make/receive calls - no problems with that. it just resumes once you're done with the call. it would be advisable to disable certain features to reduce sluggishness and accept the fact that there will be a 1-2sec delay when you navigate the menus.

i'm running 6.5 Pro on HD2. which is your handset?

folks have you noticed how Waze changes from day mode to night mode? neat!

btw, i found out that when using the "Resume Manually" feature, my phone was intermittently hanging until i opened Waze again. a bit irritating, specially if one has to make or receive a call, but i can live with it!

another irritating thing about Waze is the time is takes to lock on to GPS satellites. sometimes have to wait a good 10-15mins for it to happen!
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2010, 20:17   #92
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default me too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilisanil View Post
Albeit I am the only Pune T-Bhpian here! Would love to see more from Pune joining there. :P
I am located at Pune. Have joined Waze. Hope to see you soon.

BTW, which maps does Waze download on user's mobile? These are not yahoo, ovi, google or anything else I know.

And in many cases these maps are bare and have very few road names and annotations. How does one get more info from Waze?
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2010, 10:42   #93
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
Fellow Wazers, we continue to be the Waze Group with the highest population, 52!! Way to go!!!
It was 54 before I joined

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
I noticed another interesting feature today. I had Waze on while driving to work in the morning. I ran into some really slow moving traffic in front of Forum. I was coming from Dairy Circle. When I stationary in front of Forum I noticed that the road behind me had turned red indicating slow moving traffic with an average speed of 12 kmph.

I think it has some logic built into it that if my average speeds drops below a certain limit it automatically triggers a traffic jam alert for that road. This is just my assumption and I am not sure if this is the case. I for sure did not report any traffic jam.
Thats a neat feature.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2010, 19:44   #94
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

Many thanks to the wazer(s) who posted about traffic jam on dickensen road. I managed to avoid it by taking brigade road!
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2010, 20:50   #95
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
Many thanks to the wazer(s) who posted about traffic jam on dickensen road. I managed to avoid it by taking brigade road!
There!! The first T-BHP success story for Waze!!

I have been posting alerts as and when, but unfortunately haven't encountered much from Chennai Wazers - couple of times from neoranjit, thats it.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2010, 21:51   #96
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
Many thanks to the wazer(s) who posted about traffic jam on dickensen road. I managed to avoid it by taking brigade road!
umm.. was that the time when you saw me around in that area?
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 09:44   #97
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
umm.. was that the time when you saw me around in that area?
Yes. It kept showing me your location somewhere near Commercial Street.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 12:17   #98
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
Yes. It kept showing me your location somewhere near Commercial Street.
hmm.. i parked my car on Dickenson road and without exiting Waze, started walking towards Commercial Street. maybe because of my walking speed, Waze thought i was in traffic and marked that road red


was that why you avoided Dickenson road?
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 12:43   #99
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
hmm.. i parked my car on Dickenson road and without exiting Waze, started walking towards Commercial Street. maybe because of my walking speed, Waze thought i was in traffic and marked that road red


was that why you avoided Dickenson road?
LOL. No
There were other waze users who were reporting traffic jam on dickensen road, with messages like "Absolute standstill" etc. It had marked Dickensen Road and MG Road from Dickensen Road to Trinity Circle as red.

EDIT: Just checked the logs. It was Bennet and Stupendous Man who had reported this jam

Last edited by amitoj : 27th October 2010 at 12:45.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 12:57   #100
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
LOL. No
There were other waze users who were reporting traffic jam on dickensen road, with messages like "Absolute standstill" etc. It had marked Dickensen Road and MG Road from Dickensen Road to Trinity Circle as red.

EDIT: Just checked the logs. It was Bennet and Stupendous Man who had reported this jam
okie - i'm safe then. but, i'll never walk around with Waze active (unless i'm really lost)
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 12:58   #101
Senior - BHPian
 
deky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jaipur
Posts: 1,192
Thanked: 1,029 Times
Default

I joined waze a couple of days back, but I dont think i have got a hang of it. Maybe you guys can help me with a few answers.

1. when I go to my groups on my phone and enter, it says feature not supported, where as I have joined the group Tbhp thru my PC.

2. Where is the option to change map from 3g-2g or vice-versa?

3. If there are other waze'rs in the vicinity logged on can I see them on the map?

4. what are these candies that keep on popping up from time to time on the map?

5. I saw IronH4wk "chit Chat" yesterday, and added a comment on it, will he be able to see my comment? If someone adds a comment on my chit-chat, how will I get a notification?

Thanks and Regards
deky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 13:06   #102
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deky View Post
I joined waze a couple of days back, but I dont think i have got a hang of it. Maybe you guys can help me with a few answers.

Thanks and Regards
Q&A


1. when I go to my groups on my phone and enter, it says feature not supported, where as I have joined the group Tbhp thru my PC.
yes, it's not support on certain phones right now.

2. Where is the option to change map from 3g-2g or vice-versa?
More > Settings > Display

3. If there are other waze'rs in the vicinity logged on can I see them on the map?
yes, they'll show up on your map

4. what are these candies that keep on popping up from time to time on the map?
when you go over them, you get points.

5. I saw IronH4wk "chit Chat" yesterday, and added a comment on it, will he be able to see my comment? If someone adds a comment on my chit-chat, how will I get a notification?
yep, everyone can see that message. when someone replies, you'll get a pop-up on your screen.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 15:09   #103
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default

Waze in action!

Name:  _MG_6351.JPG
Views: 373
Size:  151.2 KB
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 15:28   #104
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
2. Where is the option to change map from 3g-2g or vice-versa?
More > Settings > Display
If tphe hone is one with a keyboard (like the Nokia E72), then there wont be a Display option under Settings, rather the shortcuts are listed under Menu > Help/Support > Shortcuts. For 2D/ 3D, the shortcut is 5.

Other shortcuts:
Zoom in: *
Zoom out: #
Day / Night mode: 2
Align map to north: 1 (guess this will work only on phones with compass)

This is not documented, but works on my E72 nevertheless:
Mute / unmute: 3
Show / hide alerts: 4 & 6 (both does the same, works only if there are alerts)
Report New Roads, house numbers, map error: 7
Drive to: 8 (search for destination)
Exit application: 9
Favorites: 0 (if you have favorites saved)
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 16:06   #105
BHPian
 
arunkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 183
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Yet to try out the app, but was checking out the Maps on the website for its accuracy. The maps coverage seems pretty much spot on but I am not able to find Point Of Interests like in other GPS Apps. Only the roads and street names are available, but lets say if i want to go to Forum Mall, or some hotel etc, its not shown in the maps. Is it like that in the mobile map also?
arunkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash Navigation vs Navigation Module vs Separate Navigation SirAlec In-Car Entertainment 27 20th January 2014 22:19
India to have its own Satellite Navigation system soon! smartcat Shifting gears 31 3rd April 2013 15:41
Skoda Superb - Satellite Navigation integration? PM - B In-Car Entertainment 4 25th March 2012 18:16
Nokia offering maps and navigation for free joecherian Gadgets, Computers & Software 132 23rd September 2011 16:32
Hyundai launches i20 with satellite navigation h@r$h@l The Indian Car Scene 87 3rd June 2011 13:50


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks