Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th December 2010, 07:40   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,205
Thanked: 1,195 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hells_Fury View Post
I have checked out the Blu-Rays in some of the stores in Bangalore. Most of the discs that I came across were region-free. I checked only Hollywood movies, so no idea about Indian language films.
Thanks, that surely helps. I watch Hollywood flicks most of the time.
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2010, 12:17   #32
BHPian
 
Visaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 575
Thanked: 199 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Thanks for all the comparisons but a more detailed report will help.

I am also more tipped toward the PS3 cause its a complete package with storage, connectivity and stuff like that.

I would like to know how the gaming options are in both the consoles.
PS2 was pathetic.,Even 10yr old computer games had better.

How do you rate the internet browsing ability with the help of the PS3
and how do you interface the laptop/network data to the TV with the Ps3?
Visaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2011, 21:38   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,205
Thanked: 1,195 Times
Default Dilemma over PS3 Console: 160 GB or 320

I visited GameStop and Sony shops at Pentagon City Mall yesterday. I was thinking that the 160 GB PS3 was a better bet than the 320 GB one, as it costs 100 USD less. This apart, I already own a 1 TB external hard drive, so space will not be a constraint if I go for the 160 GB console.

But I realised that though the 160 set costs 300 USD, I'd still need to pay 100 USD for the Move add on. Therefore the 320 GB console that costs 399 USD makes a better buy as it has the Move bundle free, and costs the same as a 160 GB set plus Move bundle

In all likelihood, I shall pick up my set from Heathrow, where it costs 241 GBP (equal to 399 USD) on my way back next month. At least I shall save around 30 USD on a 220 V adapter.

A few questions to PS3 gurus before I buy anything here:-
  1. I guess games bought here will play in an Indian-made or UK-made console too (someone said they would), but wanted a confirmation. I found many used games at Gamestop for 35 to 40 USD, compared to new ones of 55 to 59 USD.
  2. Is it worthwhile buying a second wireless controller, or would a second Move controller make sense? I suppose either of these would also work on an Indian/ UK-made console?
  3. I am not sure which games would need an additional wireless controller or a second Move remote. Any suggestions? The additional remote for either wireless of Move costs around 55 USD, which I suppose is cheaper than those in India, where each costs around Rs 3500 (might have changed though).
Please respond guys.
Thanks in advance
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 01:37   #34
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

^^ PS3 games are region free and controllers will also work with any PS3 irrespective of region.
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 03:44   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,205
Thanked: 1,195 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
^^ PS3 games are region free and controllers will also work with any PS3 irrespective of region.
Thanks Jassi. I just returned from a visit to Best Buy and the guy there said the same thing. But I wonder why they have a symbol of a globe with '1' written over it when the game disc's cover is viewed from the thinner side.

As regards prices of wireless controllers and Move remotes, I visited the Sony India website and found out that they are similarly priced---perhaps 3 to 4 dollars more in India. Better buy those in India itself.

My only question remaining is whether at all to buy an additional wireless remote (dual shock is what I think it is called) or an additional Move controller. I am not sure what games require those.
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 10:00   #36
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
My only question remaining is whether at all to buy an additional wireless remote (dual shock is what I think it is called) or an additional Move controller. I am not sure what games require those.
i have no experience with the move controller - but that is used more for Wii like games where you need to swing the controller to cause an action on the screen (eg tennis or sword fighting). If you are into those kind of games and will be playing those with an oponent then get an additional move controller.
On the other hand if you are mostly playing regular games like the god of war series, need for speed, gran turismo 5, you'd be better off with a dual shock controller. Not only is it useful for 2 player, but in extensive gaming when one dies, you have another fully charged remote waiting for you
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 21:01   #37
BHPian
 
yajaman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

I recently picked up a PS3 (320GB) here in Bangalore for around Rs 23K with two free games instead of the Move Package. Having used the EYE TOY on my PS2 decided to wait till the Move has some more games under its belt which would suit my needs. Currently Playing Assassins Creed II and loving it.
Being a PS, PS2 and PSP user the PS3 was an obvious choice, it rocks.

OT: Just one query, i have a 320GB hdd with NTFS partitions my PS3 does not recognize the disk. I did Google and found PS3 does not support NTFS so wanted to check if others here have a way to getting NTFS partitions read.
yajaman99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 02:37   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

@Vnabhi, afaik you don't need a 220V adapter for PS3, it comes with a 120-220V power supply.
Get a 2nd dualshock as most of the games are currently can be played only with the DS controller and mulitplayer of some of the games are just amazing fun. You can buy it India itself as you can get them for very good price at ebay or places like that.
PS3 games are not region locked, so you can buy anything from US blindly. I've quite a few US and european made games.
@Visaster, don't even compare PS2 to PS3, there is a day and night difference. PS3 is light years ahead of PS2. To connect PS3 to Laptop/PC you need to install a PS3 media server on your PC/laptop and then it can connect to the the PS3 over the Wi-fi or wired network. Then PS3 can play any of the contents (movies/pictures/music) from your computer. Haven't tried internet browsing so won't comment.
@yajaman99, PS3 media server is the answer to get your NTFS formatted drive's data to become readable by PS3. Basically your drive would be connected to PS3 via your computer over your LAN. PS3 can't read NTFS via USB, only FAT32 is supported. Wish it could read NTFS :(

Anyway, me too planning to jump into the PS3 move bandwagon. Hoping for more and more games(specially games like CoD n UC) become compatible to move.

Last edited by kaushik_s : 4th January 2011 at 02:42.
kaushik_s is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 02:48   #39
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 125
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

^^ I was told that the latest ps3's do not have the 220v converter inbuilt. It was not mentioned in my 2008 bought ps3. Do we have anybody who bought the ps3 from US recently and get it working without a 220v converter?
Ford_madhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 10:05   #40
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Quote:
Originally Posted by yajaman99 View Post
OT: Just one query, i have a 320GB hdd with NTFS partitions my PS3 does not recognize the disk. I did Google and found PS3 does not support NTFS so wanted to check if others here have a way to getting NTFS partitions read.
format it to FAT - not sure if MS allows formating FAT partitions greater than 32GB though. I use Linux so not an issue!
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 14:34   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford_madhan View Post
^^ I was told that the latest ps3's do not have the 220v converter inbuilt. It was not mentioned in my 2008 bought ps3. Do we have anybody who bought the ps3 from US recently and get it working without a 220v converter?
PS3's sold in US has a power rating label of 110V but actually inside it has a universal power supply. If there is any change in end of last year then I've no idea. But many of the posts from different users mentioning that they are using US PS3's with 220v power supply without any issue. Infact people are seems to be having problems if they are using step-down transformers(most probably due to bad quality transformers in India). But anyway, better to be careful. Check some of the posts here at CNET ->ps3 power supply:is it universal? - CNET Games & gear Forums, most of them have reported to have used their PS3's in 220V power supply.
kaushik_s is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 18:50   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,205
Thanked: 1,195 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Thanks to @jassi, @ford_madhan and @kaushik_s for the clarifications given. Now I am really getting tempted to buy one in the US as I'd save around 5000 rupees, now that it has been clarified that i need not buy a 220 V adapter (I did buy one for the wii last time).

The only disadvantage is that I lose the 1 year warranty and also would be restricted to US region blu ray movies and dvds, which i may be ok with.

Does anyone know if the ps3 box will fit in my hand-baggage (my wii box did in my last trip). I do not want to risk carrying it in my checked in baggage.
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 21:59   #43
BHPian
 
kraft.wagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: LA <---> Coimbatore
Posts: 935
Thanked: 247 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Thanks to @jassi, @ford_madhan and @kaushik_s for the clarifications given. Now I am really getting tempted to buy one in the US as I'd save around 5000 rupees, now that it has been clarified that i need not buy a 220 V adapter (I did buy one for the wii last time).

The only disadvantage is that I lose the 1 year warranty and also would be restricted to US region blu ray movies and dvds, which i may be ok with.

Does anyone know if the ps3 box will fit in my hand-baggage (my wii box did in my last trip). I do not want to risk carrying it in my checked in baggage.
Yes it will easily sit in your back pack, I had carried PS3 with my laptop in the same bag
kraft.wagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2011, 05:55   #44
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

I never check-in any of my gadgets. I got the PS3 from US to India (costs under 25k so no issues with customs) - put the PS3 unit in your laptop bag and remaining stuff like cables, conrollers, in check-in baggage. Make sure you have the bill with you incase the customs guys ask.
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2011, 07:28   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,205
Thanked: 1,195 Times
Default Re: Playstation Move Vs. Microsoft Kinect

Quote:
Originally Posted by kraft.wagen View Post
Yes it will easily sit in your back pack, I had carried PS3 with my laptop in the same bag
Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
I never check-in any of my gadgets. I got the PS3 from US to India (costs under 25k so no issues with customs) - put the PS3 unit in your laptop bag and remaining stuff like cables, conrollers, in check-in baggage. Make sure you have the bill with you incase the customs guys ask.
Thanks guys. I guess I'd need to unpack the contents then if I bought it in the US.

The only issue is if i buy it at London Heathrow, I would need to try to put the box with all its contents in my standard size handbag (i carry my laptop also in a separate backpack). I think it would fit. If not, I'd need to unpack and distribute the contents into the hand baggage suitcase and the laptop backpack.
I may be sounding finicky, but I am one of those types who prefers to carry the original packing and unpack before expectant eyes at home

Last edited by vnabhi : 5th January 2011 at 07:30.
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XBox 360, Playstation and other gaming consoles DCEite Gadgets, Computers & Software 1430 14th August 2017 23:56
The Playstation 2 Thread: Questions, tips, prices etc. Sheruken Gadgets, Computers & Software 320 6th January 2014 17:40
Move over Microsoft & Google. Apple is now the most valuable tech company!! GTO Shifting gears 12 28th May 2010 11:05
Playstation 2 repair in Mumbai. iceman7 Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 27th November 2008 14:57
nitroxx's 300 GB Playstation 3: DIY and pictures nitroxx Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 1st October 2008 10:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks