Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: MNP: Will you switch operators ?
Yes, I will definitely switch. I think there is a better service provider available in the market. 148 34.91%
Nopes, I am happy with my mobile operator so won't switch. 105 24.76%
No, I will not switch. I am not happy with my operator but I know the others are equally bad. 83 19.58%
Not Sure: Will wait and watch. 88 20.75%
Voters: 424. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st January 2011, 16:19   #151
MCR
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 709
Thanked: 185 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

I have opted for a switch from Airtel to Vodafone. Guess what, Airtel had just called asking the reason for switch. Then they offered me the same plan as Vodafone. But I made it clear I wanted to Switch. I am loving it.
MCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 17:19   #152
Senior - BHPian
 
Spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Panaji - Goa/Bangalore - Karnataka
Posts: 3,240
Thanked: 600 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post
Care to share ? Let us all know how good Airtel thinks it is.
Deleted them. One of them talked about being Bharat ka mobile phone provider something on those lines.
Spitfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 17:32   #153
BHPian
 
abdriver2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 330
Thanked: 23 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Am i the only one wanting to shift to MTNL?
You are not alone. In Mumbai, MTNL has some of the lowest tariffs, but customer service may be an issue. Also MTNL refills are not as widely available as others.

I have 3 Vodafone prepaids and 1 Reliance CDMA prepaid. Reliance has been the best so far.

I am planning to switch from Vodafone to Loop since they are offering a 99Rs. Corp plan which includes 250 minutes and 150 messages + CUG free. My monthly usage is only about 90 minutes of talktime + 15 SMS. Hence I am looking for the ultracheapo plans only. So far prepaid has been cheapest, but the Loop plan is interesting.
abdriver2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 17:33   #154
BHPian
 
DDDHRUV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 113
Thanked: 9 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Am i the only one wanting to shift to MTNL?
I too am prepared to switch from VODAFONE to MTNL specifically to experience "3G". The catch is whether MTNL can provide microsim for my iphone 4.
DDDHRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 17:37   #155
BHPian
 
abdriver2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 330
Thanked: 23 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DDDHRUV View Post
I too am prepared to switch from VODAFONE to MTNL specifically to experience "3G". The catch is whether MTNL can provide microsim for my iphone 4.

If they don't, you can always get someone in Heera Panna to cut the sim to size.

I have a friend waiting to unlock his iphone 4, any pointers?
abdriver2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2011, 18:53   #156
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,766 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

MTNL provides a micro sim.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 19:46   #157
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Any TBHP-ians availed MNP so far (esp. Haryana guys) ?
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 22:13   #158
BHPian
 
DDDHRUV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 113
Thanked: 9 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by abdriver2000 View Post
If they don't, you can always get someone in Heera Panna to cut the sim to size.

I have a friend waiting to unlock his iphone 4, any pointers?
Sorry no expertise in this direction as mine is an factory unlocked piece from Hongkong courtesy a friend coming down.
DDDHRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 22:21   #159
BHPian
 
DDDHRUV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 113
Thanked: 9 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
MTNL provides a micro sim.
Thanks for the information.
I casually applied for number portability and have been bombarded by Vodafone asking me to reconsider and offering better plans and some freebees. I recollected my deposit of Rs 4000.00 paid some 13 years back towards ISD and STD which Vodafone repeatedly refused to adjust against current bills all these years inspite of repeated requests from my end. Today strangely they promptly agreed to send me the cheque for the same. I'm loving it.

Last edited by DDDHRUV : 22nd January 2011 at 22:23. Reason: Syntax error
DDDHRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2011, 23:01   #160
BHPian
 
aman9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 5 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mithun View Post
Any TBHP-ians availed MNP so far (esp. Haryana guys) ?
I have changed from Airtel to Vodafone on the first day itself!
The porting is expected to happen before the 27th.

Hope I have a better experience with Vodafone then I had with Airtel. Especially in the Customer Care(?) department.
aman9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2011, 00:02   #161
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aman9393 View Post
I have changed from Airtel to Vodafone on the first day itself!
The porting is expected to happen before the 27th.

Hope I have a better experience with Vodafone then I had with Airtel. Especially in the Customer Care(?) department.
I am sure there will be no difference once the honeymoon period is over. Will airtel take you back ? Is there anything like that ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2011, 01:18   #162
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Will airtel take you back ? Is there anything like that ?
To re-iterate this point, do the service providers have a choice or discretion to accept a customer or not ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2011, 09:15   #163
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,268
Thanked: 4,424 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
To re-iterate this point, do the service providers have a choice or discretion to accept a customer or not ?
There are nine or so checkpoints that the donor operator has to check before releasing a customer. If those are ok, then
the recipient operator has to take him in.

Edit: Aman9393 will now have to spend at least 90 days with Voda before being eligible to port again.

Last edited by Eddy : 23rd January 2011 at 09:16.
Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2011, 11:47   #164
Senior - BHPian
 
sachinj12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: B'lore/Chicago
Posts: 1,183
Thanked: 160 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by abdriver2000 View Post
Vodafone and Reliance also require you to recharge with 200 in 6 months.
Guys, you sure of that? My recharge has not exceeded 150 in the last year and the number is still functional. Its Vodafone,by the way.
sachinj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2011, 11:54   #165
Senior - BHPian
 
safari_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bengaluru / Bagdal
Posts: 1,055
Thanked: 371 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Anybody with TataDocomo in Bangalore? They have pretty decent post pay plans, especially the 3G ones. Planning a switch from Airtel. What do you think?
safari_lover is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile operators in India - Plans pricing and services tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 105 20th April 2017 21:25
AC Switch OFF or Blower Switch OFF Peter Technical Stuff 24 29th June 2011 12:02
Tata's small car may become taxi operators' choice kpbhatt Commercial Vehicles 20 19th December 2007 10:21
SX4 : The new flavor among cab operators? benbsb29 The Indian Car Scene 52 25th October 2007 11:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:51.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks