Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: MNP: Will you switch operators ?
Yes, I will definitely switch. I think there is a better service provider available in the market. 148 34.91%
Nopes, I am happy with my mobile operator so won't switch. 105 24.76%
No, I will not switch. I am not happy with my operator but I know the others are equally bad. 83 19.58%
Not Sure: Will wait and watch. 88 20.75%
Voters: 424. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th April 2014, 14:24   #436
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hibbing, MN
Posts: 73
Thanked: 21 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quick question guys when you port from one company to another, do you have to convert to Postpaid? I am using Vodafone prepaid and switching to Tata Docomo but they will only allow me to port if i take an postpaid connection with them!
Diamond_dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2014, 15:08   #437
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PGT//BLR//STR
Posts: 1,966
Thanked: 1,374 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond_dawg View Post
Quick question guys when you port from one company to another, do you have to convert to Postpaid? I am using Vodafone prepaid and switching to Tata Docomo but they will only allow me to port if i take an postpaid connection with them!
No. Porting is simpler if it's Prepaid.
silversteed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2014, 18:22   #438
BHPian
 
BoneCollector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MFP
Posts: 898
Thanked: 1,259 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond_dawg View Post
Quick question guys when you port from one company to another, do you have to convert to Postpaid? I am using Vodafone prepaid and switching to Tata Docomo but they will only allow me to port if i take an postpaid connection with them!
They are trying to rip you. Last year I ported to Airtel from Docomo as it was getting pretty expensive with frequent signal drops and difficulty in getting recharge done here. There is no rule that you have to get a postpaid connection only when you migrate. I feel that Docomo has lost its license at many places so acting pricey. They had all of a sudden withdrawn Tata postpaid and Photon service from Bihar last year. Check again.
BoneCollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2014, 11:45   #439
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,552
Thanked: 6,310 Times
Default

My experience with porting.
From : Reliance Postpaid CDMA Number.
To: Reliance GSM Prepaid.


Went to webworld. Submitted the application and got a new sim.
Gave driving license which had the address as the phone connection.

Did this on Saturday.
On Thursday got an sms that the request is processed and to start using the new sim after some setup at particular time periods.
Friday morning the new GSM sim is fully functional.

bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2014, 14:31   #440
Senior - BHPian
 
coolclouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Garden City
Posts: 1,787
Thanked: 505 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
My experience with porting.
From : Reliance Postpaid CDMA Number.
To: Reliance GSM Prepaid.


Went to webworld. Submitted the application and got a new sim.
Gave driving license which had the address as the phone connection.

Did this on Saturday.
On Thursday got an sms that the request is processed and to start using the new sim after some setup at particular time periods.
Friday morning the new GSM sim is fully functional.

Now the downtime is very little. When I ported from Reliance CDMA post paid to Reliance GSM post paid, my number was not reachable for some days. Maybe I did it during initial days of porting.
coolclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2014, 14:47   #441
Oxy
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 157
Thanked: 147 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
My experience with porting.
From : Reliance Postpaid CDMA Number.
To: Reliance GSM Prepaid.


Went to webworld. Submitted the application and got a new sim.
Gave driving license which had the address as the phone connection.

Did this on Saturday.
On Thursday got an sms that the request is processed and to start using the new sim after some setup at particular time periods.
Friday morning the new GSM sim is fully functional.

Well this is not really an example of porting is it? It's the same operator.
Oxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2014, 14:59   #442
Senior - BHPian
 
dass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,037
Thanked: 427 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

I am shifting my wife's number from Airtel to BSNL, just for the good prepaid plans BSNL has. Let us see how the whole process goes and I will post an update once the process is complete.
dass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2014, 15:21   #443
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,552
Thanked: 6,310 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxy View Post
Well this is not really an example of porting is it? It's the same operator.
Well,
the process is the same,
the forms are the same,
the setup is the same,
the sms's I got called it porting,
the agents in the webworld called it porting.


I now wonder just what it was that I did.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2014, 18:22   #444
Oxy
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 157
Thanked: 147 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
I now wonder just what it was that I did.
Well the thread title says "Will you switch operators", so assumed porting to mean changing the service provider.
Oxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2014, 19:53   #445
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxy View Post
Well this is not really an example of porting is it? It's the same operator.
These two are different operators that are owned by same parent company.

Reliance Communications Ltd. and Reliance Telecom Limited (later has GSM)
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2014, 13:03   #446
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 60
Thanked: 23 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

I'm planning to shift from BSNL to Airtel. I have a basic doubt. After porting to Airtel, While my number is being called, Will there be any delay to establish the connection ?
I presume network operator is being identified using initial few digits of mobile number. If so, when every time my existing BSNL number is being called, will it first goes to BSNL network and later call will be switched to Airtel network? If yes, will this cause delay of few seconds? As I'm novice in telecom, can someone pl throw some light?
VSRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2014, 16:33   #447
Senior - BHPian
 
coolclouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Garden City
Posts: 1,787
Thanked: 505 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VSRK View Post
I'm planning to shift from BSNL to Airtel. I have a basic doubt. After porting to Airtel, While my number is being called, Will there be any delay to establish the connection ?
I presume network operator is being identified using initial few digits of mobile number. If so, when every time my existing BSNL number is being called, will it first goes to BSNL network and later call will be switched to Airtel network? If yes, will this cause delay of few seconds? As I'm novice in telecom, can someone pl throw some light?
AFAIK, it will NOT route through BSNL, so no delays with respect to that.
coolclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2015, 13:18   #448
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,268
Thanked: 4,423 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

My dad wanted his number ported from Vodafone to Airtel.

The process went off well at the Vodafone end but the Airtel guys took a full two days to activate the new SIM. It was a disaster, the only reason that I can think off that we were not in our home circle during the switch-off switch-process.

Anyways, Dad is happy with Airtel since Vodafone had major signal problems in Dwarka.
Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2015, 15:40   #449
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Purnea(Bihar)
Posts: 5,025
Thanked: 4,456 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Dunno if it is on-topic, but in Delhi (specifically) I always hear one operator being good than the other in a particular area.

Some days back, my B-I-L's AirTel remained unreachable at certain places in Bharat Nagar (Authority) area, at some places, Faridabad/Sonepat, some other operator has better connectivity. It is weird.

Coming to topic, of the 5 connections we had at home, 4 have been ported, 2 from BSNL to AirTel, 1 from Reliance CDMA to GSM and one from Tata Indicom to AirTel. Didn't face any issue during portability.
Sheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2015, 15:50   #450
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,268
Thanked: 4,423 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

That may be right. Airtel is much better than Vodafone in Dwarka, Delhi.
Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile operators in India - Plans pricing and services tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 105 20th April 2017 21:25
AC Switch OFF or Blower Switch OFF Peter Technical Stuff 24 29th June 2011 12:02
Tata's small car may become taxi operators' choice kpbhatt Commercial Vehicles 20 19th December 2007 10:21
SX4 : The new flavor among cab operators? benbsb29 The Indian Car Scene 52 25th October 2007 11:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:40.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks