Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: MNP: Will you switch operators ?
Yes, I will definitely switch. I think there is a better service provider available in the market. 148 34.91%
Nopes, I am happy with my mobile operator so won't switch. 105 24.76%
No, I will not switch. I am not happy with my operator but I know the others are equally bad. 83 19.58%
Not Sure: Will wait and watch. 88 20.75%
Voters: 424. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th November 2010, 16:41   #91
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,267
Thanked: 4,421 Times
Default

You will have to be with a particular operator for at least 90 days before you can switch. Also, please mention the name and address carefully when you are applying for a port out from an operator. The details should match for the operator to give a go-ahead for a port out.

Also, you will have to clear all outstanding amount. I am not sure about the process if the operator owes you something (prepaid balance, deposit money etc). Will find out.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 22:56   #92
Senior - BHPian
 
tsk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,233
Thanked: 277 Times
Default

We've have about 8 Vodafone connections in family facing Network Troubles when in-doors for the past year. My first complaint to these guys was on 19th November, 2009 followed by numerous follow-ups, new complaints, fake updates from their end etc. Now, I shall happily migrate to Airtel since VF's dog is dead, it no longer follows you wherever you go. Leave apart my home, VF has connection errors almost everywhere now. Then they talk of overtaking Airtel in terms of Subscribers base, all castles in the air. Airtel doesn't have those swanky Stores with up-market staff but surely knows how to avoid customers like me from visiting one.

Last edited by tsk13 : 9th November 2010 at 22:57.
tsk13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 11:06   #93
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,586 Times
Default

I have two connections -GSM on BSNL with 3G and CDMA on Reliance. I am seriously thinking of switching out on one or more, even though service is good on both, and both have an all India footprint. Reasons

BSNL: Tardy in Billing as well as in reconciling cheque payments. I am forced to keep one month's payments in credit, else they keep on adding late payment charges at random. BSNL customer care, or rather the lack of it is legendary. They do not accept on-line payments, so have to go to the exchange every month to deposit a cheque.

Reliance: I have been there from the original DAPO. Service is good, but the availability of handsets is very poor, and prices very high. RUIMs etc. do not work for SmartPhones. Blackberry do not have much more than Curve and Bold on CDMA, and Reliance charges an arm and a leg. Also, if you have a breakdown they will take ages to sort it out. I know of a close relative in Kolkata whose (official) BB has been U/s for over a month and a half and no action. The highest official Android phone is a Samsung on OS 1.1! Also, both Tata and Reliance are actively blocking imported handsets.

We will not sell you a high end current model of a handset (even at a crazy price) and not let you add your own! o I suspect it with be adiós some day.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 11:11   #94
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

I want to switch from reliance simply due to no nice Android or other smartphone based handsets in India. In the west, there are some really nice HTC and Samsung handsets on CDMA, but in India, none of them are available.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2010, 11:23   #95
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,267
Thanked: 4,421 Times
Default

MNP Launch on 25th Nov in Karnal, Haryana.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2010, 11:39   #96
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Yehawww, it OUT !!
Attached Thumbnails
Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?-number.png  

ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2010, 16:55   #97
BHPian
 
indian21r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 731
Thanked: 262 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
Yehawww, it OUT !!
Fianlly it is here. good to see that disruption time is just 2 hrs.
indian21r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2010, 17:00   #98
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,534 Times
Default

I am planning to switch anytime next week.
According to the guy,whom i deal with,they have already recieved the SIM cards and the forms.
They would start ahead with the process tommorow onwards.
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 13:54   #99
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Any idea about the dates when this will start in Noida (UP West).
I was unable to find out any rollout dates for the same.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 13:58   #100
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,267
Thanked: 4,421 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Next in line are the metros for January end. Don't think UP west will be a part of that phase.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2011, 13:59   #101
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Any idea about the dates when this will start in Noida (UP West).
I was unable to find out any rollout dates for the same.
Me too waiting for UP West (Ghaziabad).

I think Noida and Ghaziabad comes under NCR - so it won't be in the same bucket as rest of UP West (think Agra/Saharanpur etc.).

Last edited by DCEite : 3rd January 2011 at 14:00.
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 13:36   #102
Senior - BHPian
 
IronWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Benga-loo-ru
Posts: 1,570
Thanked: 36 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Next in line are the metros for January end. Don't think UP west will be a part of that phase.
Any confirmation on this? And when it will be available in KA?

Am tired of Airtel's connectivity issues at home. Have been complaining with them since Mar/April 2010.
IronWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 13:50   #103
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Is there a web page which shows the timeline for each region?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 16:16   #104
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,267
Thanked: 4,421 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

IronWolf and Tsk: Correction to my previous post. MNP will be live PAN India by 20th January
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 16:28   #105
BHPian
 
praful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 977
Thanked: 410 Times
Default re: Mobile Number Portability: Will you switch operators?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Reliance: I have been there from the original DAPO. Service is good, but the availability of handsets is very poor, and prices very high. RUIMs etc. do not work for SmartPhones. Blackberry do not have much more than Curve and Bold on CDMA, and Reliance charges an arm and a leg. Also, if you have a breakdown they will take ages to sort it out. I know of a close relative in Kolkata whose (official) BB has been U/s for over a month and a half and no action. The highest official Android phone is a Samsung on OS 1.1! Also, both Tata and Reliance are actively blocking imported handsets.

We will not sell you a high end current model of a handset (even at a crazy price) and not let you add your own! o I suspect it with be adiós some day.
There are options to use higher end phones on Reliance, you have to do a bit of jugaad to make them work. I've been using a HTC Touch Pro on my Reliance connection for the past year and a half!
praful is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile operators in India - Plans pricing and services tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 105 20th April 2017 21:25
AC Switch OFF or Blower Switch OFF Peter Technical Stuff 24 29th June 2011 12:02
Tata's small car may become taxi operators' choice kpbhatt Commercial Vehicles 20 19th December 2007 10:21
SX4 : The new flavor among cab operators? benbsb29 The Indian Car Scene 52 25th October 2007 11:51


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:31.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks