Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th October 2009, 09:32   #1501
BHPian
 
jgsolo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pondicherry
Posts: 61
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anmolbedi View Post
Hey Guys,

I have managed to get Blackberry 8900 work on Emails and Internet complete access with only email lite plan on Airtel and normal Rs. 99 GPRS. That was a long troubleshooting but yes, I can now browse internet on my BB8900 with only rental of 299+99. Yipeee !!

Google maps, Amaze, All internet applications are also working !!!
Hi!

Waiting for details!! Airtel sometime back refused to provide BISLITE Plan@299 along with GPRS (any plan). Sure the details would be useful for us.
jgsolo27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 11:47   #1502
BHPian
 
woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 126
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

My 1.5 yr old N95 is giving me lot of problems these days. Thinking of getting a new phone. Just wanted to know, does it makes sense to buy a blackberry without going for the BIS plan. Will normal GPRS/EDGE work? I have a vodafone connection.
woof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 11:48   #1503
JVH
Senior - BHPian
 
JVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,021
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woof View Post
My 1.5 yr old N95 is giving me lot of problems these days. Thinking of getting a new phone. Just wanted to know, does it makes sense to buy a blackberry without going for the BIS plan. Will normal GPRS/EDGE work? I have a vodafone connection.
Please read through the thread. A BB without a BIS plan is useless. Not recommended.
JVH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 13:18   #1504
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,515
Thanked: 7,190 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgsolo27 View Post
Hi!

Waiting for details!! Airtel sometime back refused to provide BISLITE Plan@299 along with GPRS (any plan). Sure the details would be useful for us.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Why dont you share the details, will be useful for others.
@Anmol, another guy waiting for same detail. Please be a little detailed so all of us can benefit from this side-stepping trick
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 13:55   #1505
BHPian
 
anmolbedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 58
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Jgsolo27, Jaggu, Mobike008 and all fellow mates...

There is a trick in getting both services.

Step1: Call up BB support at 7070 or email bb.support@airtel.in and get the blackberry email lite plan activated. Dont call up CC till its activated. Once activated configure all your email accounts, gtalk etc. Confirm that your emails are getting delivered without any issue.

Step2: Get an old phone from your freind / if you have another normal phone, put your SIM in it and call up 121 helpdesk and ask them to activate GPRS on your phone, plan choice as per your requirement, lots of plans are available - 99/Rent free/199/299 etc. If the CC asks you which phone you use, tell them you have a GSM phone from which you are talking and you would also need settings for Mobile Office. Just convince them that you dont have a BB. And now wait for GPRS to get activated - should take 4 hours.

Step3: After you get a message from Airtel for GPRS activation, confirm with CC that its is on. Now put your SIM into BB handset, goto Advanced Options-> TCP/IP. Put the APN: airtelgprs.com and in APN authentication, select it to be on but dont put any username or password. Save the settings and come out of the menu.

Step4: open connections -> select mobile network and disable-enable the mobile network so that it would search again on network for Airtel.

Step5: Open Opera (what I use) on your BB and goto options-> disable wifi. And after saving the options, you can now browse the internet without any problem.

And this is how the cookie crumbles !! Yes, finally it should work !!

For any more details you can PM me.

Thanks
Anmol
anmolbedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 13:59   #1506
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,515
Thanked: 7,190 Times
Default

Anmol, thanks, your a smart cookie !

I will try this over the weekend. Hope they dont recognize me as an already existing BB user.
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 14:01   #1507
BHPian
 
anmolbedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 58
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@Mobike,

Thats why you need to convince them, that you use a normal Nokia and not a BB !!

anmolbedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 14:55   #1508
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Oh ok, thanks for the info. Basically you should have both the plans active and then change the APN, gotchaaa!
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 15:25   #1509
BHPian
 
nandishpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 475
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

but as anmolbedi said changing your sim to a normal phone is a compulsion.if you call from the BB handset they will know that you are using a BB handset with the imei #.
nandishpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 15:26   #1510
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 106
Thanked: 17 Times
Default RIM and RIM have officially launched BB8630

Research in Motion (RIM) and Reliance India Mobile (RIM) have officially launched BB Tour 9630 for Rs.27,990 right in time just for you

Source: Fonearena (dot) com / blog

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
If you absolutely have to stick to Reliance and they have agreed to activate a NON Reliance branded blackberry you have a lot of options, go to gsmarena.com and take a look at the BB models there which support CDMA. But in my opinion you would be fine with a Storm or a maybe a nice 8830. But I suggest you put money down for a Tour its definately worth it. And the only good option right now in CDMA.
deepakchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 15:34   #1511
JVH
Senior - BHPian
 
JVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,021
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Thanks Anmol!

Would this also work with a Vodafone connection?
JVH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 16:04   #1512
BHPian
 
jgsolo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pondicherry
Posts: 61
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anmolbedi View Post
@Mobike,

Thats why you need to convince them, that you use a normal Nokia and not a BB !!

After putting my SIM in a Nokia Phone, I called up Airtel CC and got the plan details/rates of MO. The CC Executive himself asked, after explaining the tariff," Sir, you are using a Nokia 3110C, which plan you want me to activate for you?" I have asked him to activate MO 99 and am waiting for the confirmation message! Keeping my fingers crossed. Will post the results once everything is through.
jgsolo27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 16:24   #1513
BHPian
 
anmolbedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 58
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@Jgsolo27,

Best of luck!! awaiting results

JVH,

I dont have a vodafone connection... but it should work with vodafone's APN. APN address: www

Last edited by Jaggu : 7th October 2009 at 16:34. Reason: Back to back posts, use multi quote please.
anmolbedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 16:31   #1514
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Actually you can activate the plan by sending an ACTV "Plan" sms to the 222 number from your handset once you get the Plan Acronym.

EDIT: Shaju: maybe here is the root cause of your problem, Airtel might not have activated the GPRS when you contacted them using BB headset.

Ps: Airtel never could figure out am using iPhone in all my interactions with them, even the IMEI number i had to present to them.

Last edited by Jaggu : 7th October 2009 at 16:34.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 16:40   #1515
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,515
Thanked: 7,190 Times
Default

On second thoughts if you calculate, savings are not that phenomenal.

If you get the annual plan for Rs.6999 it works out to Rs.583/Month and this trick will save you Rs.185/month.

But, i am still going to try this method
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks