Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2009, 19:02   #1531
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

I dont know whether this has already been posted on this thread or not but Guys just came across this news!!!
two newer models of Blackberry maybe launched in the near future!!!
Blackberry BOLD 2 & STORM 2!!!
Checkout these links

BlackBerry Bold 2 coming 21 October - mirror.co.uk

Blackberry Onyx to be Announced on T-Mobile, AT&T Oct 21 Unwired View

SOME PICTURES
Name:  STORM 2 gsmarena_001.jpg
Views: 1222
Size:  108.5 KB



Name:  bold 2 bbonyx1009.jpg
Views: 6894
Size:  84.9 KB
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 00:01   #1532
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilkalvani View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw
BlackBerry Messenger 5.0 is officially out! Download it from the BB Homepage on your BB.
Thanks for that, just downloading now!
<--- The barcode thing is pretty neat actually. Scan it with your camera and add the person to your messenger!

Last edited by mohit : 9th October 2009 at 00:03.
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 14:41   #1533
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Ok guys have a problem. I downloaded the GTalk messenger on mom's 8520 and got the 299 pre-paid plan activated on the phone. But the error i get while signing in is that you are not authorised to use this application with your current plan. Anyone facing the same issues? Do i have to make changes in settings, etc.?

Please help me out.
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 16:35   #1534
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

Please also mention which network provider is used when you put such enquiries. Mine is a 299 plan from Vodafone, I never faced any issues with Yahoo, Google, Msn, BB messengers till now right from the time 299 plan was introduced.
shajufx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 17:02   #1535
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
Please also mention which network provider is used when you put such enquiries. Mine is a 299 plan from Vodafone, I never faced any issues with Yahoo, Google, Msn, BB messengers till now right from the time 299 plan was introduced.
The carrier is Airtel. Plan activated: Personal Plan 299
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 17:09   #1536
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 340
Thanked: 265 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilkalvani View Post
The carrier is Airtel. Plan activated: Personal Plan 299
Why did you d/l the Gtalk application. Was it not already there in your Instant messaging folder where you find windows live messenger, yahoo messenger, gtalk and BB messenger?

Try the Gtalk from this folder. It should work with the 299 plan ,since they claim it works.
riteshritesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 17:11   #1537
BHPian
 
anmolbedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 58
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@Anil,

Can you check if the EDGE is written in Capital letters on the phone... if its not, then gtalk wont connect on personal plan. You can disable / enable the mobile network from connections for further troubleshooting.

Anmol
anmolbedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 17:46   #1538
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by riteshritesh View Post
Why did you d/l the Gtalk application. Was it not already there in your Instant messaging folder where you find windows live messenger, yahoo messenger, gtalk and BB messenger?

Try the Gtalk from this folder. It should work with the 299 plan ,since they claim it works.
It was not there with the software on the phone. But yes, Gtalk is in the IM folder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anmolbedi View Post
@Anil,

Can you check if the EDGE is written in Capital letters on the phone... if its not, then gtalk wont connect on personal plan. You can disable / enable the mobile network from connections for further troubleshooting.

Anmol
yes, EDGE is there bro, i set up her email accounts online and have been chatting with her via BB messenger. But my sisters in the US don't have BB's (iPhone freaks) and they can chat with mom only via Yahoo Msngr, MSN and Gtalk.
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 18:11   #1539
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 340
Thanked: 265 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilkalvani View Post
It was not there with the software on the phone. But yes, Gtalk is in the IM folder.



yes, EDGE is there bro, i set up her email accounts online and have been chatting with her via BB messenger. But my sisters in the US don't have BB's (iPhone freaks) and they can chat with mom only via Yahoo Msngr, MSN and Gtalk.
So , MSN and Ymessenger also don't work?
riteshritesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 18:14   #1540
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,736
Thanked: 337 Times
Default

HI Anil, when i got my 8520, the messenger icon's were already there in the IM folder.
On clicking the links on it, it used my WiFi connection and downloaded and installed the messengers. I have since been able to use all messengers perfectly on the Airtel 299 plan.

Its possible that the BB is trying to download the messenger using the 299 plan and hence the error. Use the Wifi and then download the messengers from the links in the IM folder.Should work. All 3 messengers work flawlessly Yahoo, Gtalk and MSN along wit the BB msgr on the 299 Airtel plan
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2009, 18:30   #1541
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by riteshritesh View Post
So , MSN and Ymessenger also don't work?
Ya all 3 don't work...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyboy View Post
HI Anil, when i got my 8520, the messenger icon's were already there in the IM folder.
On clicking the links on it, it used my WiFi connection and downloaded and installed the messengers. I have since been able to use all messengers perfectly on the Airtel 299 plan.

Its possible that the BB is trying to download the messenger using the 299 plan and hence the error. Use the Wifi and then download the messengers from the links in the IM folder.Should work. All 3 messengers work flawlessly Yahoo, Gtalk and MSN along wit the BB msgr on the 299 Airtel plan
I will get back home by 8.30ish so i will try again and update.
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2009, 14:43   #1542
BHPian
 
Xehaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 845
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

How can i download BBM 5.0 on my phone?
I also have the 299 plan so its not allowing me to download OTA.
Generally, i just copy paste the OTA link into a software on the computer & download it but havnt found the OTA link for BBM 5.0
Someone help me out
Xehaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2009, 15:05   #1543
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,733
Thanked: 6,292 Times
Default

try one of these

http://m.driftdevilstorm.com/bb/apps...5/5.0/BBM5.jad

BBHybrids Forums - Downloads - BBM 5.0.0.33 For OS 5.0.0
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2009, 16:52   #1544
Senior - BHPian
 
V-16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 4,575
Thanked: 836 Times
Default

Just got a call from Reliance, they have launched the latest BB Tour. Hurrah, at last. Have booked mine already. Will be getting it by the 15th they said. Its 27,999/- and is a world phone with CDMA and a GSM connectivity.
V-16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2009, 08:07   #1545
BHPian
 
nisarg86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 392
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Guys. Just got the Tour from states. it is unlocked. but not activated. On the top it says Activation required. I am using Vodafone.
nisarg86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:59.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks