Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th April 2010, 10:02   #2116
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 629
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Sohail, the chap you recommended was useless. He promised me spot action repair in 30mins and landed up keeping the phone for 3 days with no progress. I got fed up and took the phone back today.

Can someone please recommend a good bb repair center? Need to repair a 8520 that's not catching network. Tried updating the software but seems like a hardware issue.
Sahil, did you try J. P. electronics in Khar? Just call him first before sending it over and ask him if he can fix it. I've never had much of a problem with him, though he is expensive.
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2010, 10:04   #2117
BHPian
 
SohailPistawala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 431
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Sohail, the chap you recommended was useless. He promised me spot action repair in 30mins and landed up keeping the phone for 3 days with no progress. I got fed up and took the phone back today.

Can someone please recommend a good bb repair center? Need to repair a 8520 that's not catching network. Tried updating the software but seems like a hardware issue.
Oops Sahil, was a different experience for somebody i know hence i recommended. My Bad.
SohailPistawala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2010, 10:23   #2118
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,140
Thanked: 1,901 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilkalvani View Post
Sahil, did you try J. P. electronics in Khar? Just call him first before sending it over and ask him if he can fix it. I've never had much of a problem with him, though he is expensive.
I did send it to JP, he couldn't repair it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SohailPistawala View Post
Oops Sahil, was a different experience for somebody i know hence i recommended. My Bad.
I take that back, the phone seems to be catching network a lot better now Although not perfect yet. But I'm going to try and use it for a few days before I look for a place that can perfect it back to normal.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2010, 11:01   #2119
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 106
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Bsnl 3g

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
Sounds very interesting, anyone using this? How does one get a BSNL card anyways?
Just walk into any CSC of BSNL in your city and you should be able to get it very easily. Don't try any third party dealers. There should be a CSC (customer service center) with any major exchange.
deepakchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2010, 16:47   #2120
BHPian
 
Xehaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 845
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

Could someone please tell me how do i go about checking prices with Redington & how to order in case i want to go for it?
Xehaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 17:48   #2121
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,711
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

My 8520 has been giving me problems for the past couple of days. The call just keeps getting disconnected after a few minutes and I keep getting a call failed message. Today while picking up the 2nd call it just froze, had to take the battery out to shut it down.
The current version on the BB is 4.6.1.272. Is there an updated one I could to move to?
I hope there is and it solves these issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Can someone please recommend a good bb repair center? Need to repair a 8520 that's not catching network. Tried updating the software but seems like a hardware issue.
Oops just saw your post, i hope its not an inherent issue with the 8520.

Last edited by sammyboy : 16th April 2010 at 17:54.
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 18:38   #2122
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,140
Thanked: 1,901 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyboy View Post
My 8520 has been giving me problems for the past couple of days. The call just keeps getting disconnected after a few minutes and I keep getting a call failed message. Today while picking up the 2nd call it just froze, had to take the battery out to shut it down.
The current version on the BB is 4.6.1.272. Is there an updated one I could to move to?
I hope there is and it solves these issues.



Oops just saw your post, i hope its not an inherent issue with the 8520.
The 5.0 version is out. Go to crackberry forums and get the link, should solve your problem
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 18:53   #2123
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,711
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
The 5.0 version is out. Go to crackberry forums and get the link, should solve your problem
Thanks Sahil, i will do that immediately.

Nandish, thanks a zillion for helping me out with this bro.
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 20:11   #2124
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Leaked: OS 5.0.0.610 For The BlackBerry Curve 8520 | CrackBerry.com
Fresh, just leaked today. Try it.

Leaked: OS 5.0.0.610 for the BlackBerry Bold 9000 & BlackBerry Curve 8900 | CrackBerry.com
This one's for 8900 or 9000 owners.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 15:30   #2125
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 629
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Came across this web-site

Mumbai Backberry Service Centre - Mashood Shooping

Service Centre for Blackberry's. Hope it helps in some way.
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2010, 20:46   #2126
Distinguished - BHPian
 
JayD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochin! At last
Posts: 3,194
Thanked: 1,989 Times
Default

Guys, sorry for the noob question, but can normal GPRS be used on a BB? I'm planning on getting one, but want to know if there is any option to browse(unlimited/at least 500mb) on a BB other than the 899 plan.
JayD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2010, 22:51   #2127
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Guys, sorry for the noob question, but can normal GPRS be used on a BB? I'm planning on getting one, but want to know if there is any option to browse(unlimited/at least 500mb) on a BB other than the 899 plan.
No you cannot use it without subscribing to the Horrible speed plan.
However if your device has a WLAN then you can use your home/office connection to browse but the speed offered on most Blackberry Data Plan is pathetic, ofcourse the Old Topic of 3G license is still being cooked and cooked by our govt.

And most shocking for everyone would be even if you pay Rs.899/999/1049 for data plan, any data transfer done using tethered modem would be billed as per per minute usage.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 10:08   #2128
BHPian
 
anmolbedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 58
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@ghpk,

Apparently I have been using GPRS without subscribing to Data plan on blackberry. I have only BIS email plan @299 and GPRS @99. If u need some info on how to get the same, PM me.


Anmol
anmolbedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 11:06   #2129
BHPian
 
SohailPistawala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 431
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

It is never To late to join the BB Group so Finally a BB PIN 21D64A5E
SohailPistawala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 11:38   #2130
BHPian
 
mukeshgoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 734
Thanked: 368 Times
Default

I have installed official BlackBerry Firmware v5.0.0.860 on BB 8520. Loving it for last 2 days.

Download:
https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...2B6049B8D9A202

Instructions:
Newest 8520 OS 5.0.0.509 Wind Hellas - BlackBerry Forums at CrackBerry.com

Do not forget to delete vendor.xml file from the folder C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader before installation.

Regards,
MG.

mukeshgoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:51.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks