Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd April 2010, 12:07   #2131
BHPian
 
SohailPistawala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 431
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Mukesh : whats the difference between the old and new?
SohailPistawala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 12:12   #2132
BHPian
 
SumitBahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 975
Thanked: 217 Times
Default

How do i join the BB group?
Should I post my PIN here?
SumitBahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 12:13   #2133
BHPian
 
mukeshgoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 734
Thanked: 368 Times
Default

The interface is faster plus there are more features in the new one. Just Google to know the changes.
mukeshgoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2010, 21:06   #2134
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Guys, sorry for the noob question, but can normal GPRS be used on a BB? I'm planning on getting one, but want to know if there is any option to browse(unlimited/at least 500mb) on a BB other than the 899 plan.
Go ahead. It works. BSNL GPRS working great in a BB 8320 since Sep 2009.

Not subscribed to any other Blackberry plans and the set was an open market ones.

Needs a little hacking for the BB browser to work on GPRS. Else Opera Mini does fine.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 15:28   #2135
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 49
Thanked: Once
Exclamation Bb 8900

Hi. I have a BB 8900 which is locked to Vodafone. Actually, its a new set which I havent used and am gifting it to my wife. The probelm is that she is with Airtel and doesnt want two nos. So I need the following advise from you guys

1. Can we unlock from Vodafone to Airtel
2. If so, how can we do it? Can anyonbe recommend from experience any place in Bangalore that would do it or a website that they have used and are happy with?
3. What would it cost to unlock?
4. If I subscribe the 299 plan for her + the Rs.99 internet plan on airtel, will it be good enough for a little browsing once in a while (mostly google for address, phone no, direction and a little info)

Thanks,

Victor
victor0012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 15:45   #2136
BHPian
 
SumitBahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 975
Thanked: 217 Times
Default

Hi

AppWorld is not working on my 9700 from past couple of days.
I use AppWorld via WiFi. I am currently on BIS 299 plan.

It says "DNS Error" whenever I launch AppWorld.

PS. I can browse via WiFi.

Any idea how to rectify this?
SumitBahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 17:41   #2137
Senior - BHPian
 
vkochar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Delhi / Agra / London
Posts: 2,030
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

@sumit - upgrade your apworld application on your BB. I just did mine and it is now working. I have a 8520 and I had a similar problem.

I am also on the 299 plan and I am now able to download applications from wi-fi.
vkochar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 18:16   #2138
BHPian
 
mukeshgoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 734
Thanked: 368 Times
Default

Just now installed Apworld first time.

Any recommended applications?

BTW, I am also on 299 plan. Downloaded it through WiFi.
mukeshgoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2010, 18:47   #2139
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by victor0012 View Post
Hi. I have a BB 8900 which is locked to Vodafone. Actually, its a new set which I havent used and am gifting it to my wife. The probelm is that she is with Airtel and doesnt want two nos. So I need the following advise from you guys

1. Can we unlock from Vodafone to Airtel
2. If so, how can we do it? Can anyonbe recommend from experience any place in Bangalore that would do it or a website that they have used and are happy with?
3. What would it cost to unlock?
4. If I subscribe the 299 plan for her + the Rs.99 internet plan on airtel, will it be good enough for a little browsing once in a while (mostly google for address, phone no, direction and a little info)

Thanks,

Victor
1, 2, 3: Contact Vodafone regarding this. Tell them you are travelling abroad and need the unlock code because you don't want to pay roaming charges. Make up some details if they ask you when and where. If they refuse, escalate it to the Nodal Officer. Stay adamant that you want your handset unlocked. They are required to provide the unlock code to you, do not pay anyone a single penny to do this. Once you have the unlock code, just follow this guide:
How To Unlock RIM Blackberry Curve 8900 | Mobileslate

The Vodafone rep will give you the Network MEP code, enter it in the above screen.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2010, 11:19   #2140
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 49
Thanked: Once
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
1, 2, 3: Contact Vodafone regarding this. Tell them you are travelling abroad and need the unlock code because you don't want to pay roaming charges. Make up some details if they ask you when and where. If they refuse, escalate it to the Nodal Officer. Stay adamant that you want your handset unlocked. They are required to provide the unlock code to you, do not pay anyone a single penny to do this. Once you have the unlock code, just follow this guide:
How To Unlock RIM Blackberry Curve 8900 | Mobileslate

The Vodafone rep will give you the Network MEP code, enter it in the above screen.

Thanks. Will give it a shot.
victor0012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2010, 17:13   #2141
Senior - BHPian
 
nairrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Payyannur-Kannur district
Posts: 2,106
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

Any one using BB Storm 2 (9550)?
any opinions/suggestions about this handset.?

Which one is the best between storm 2 and Bold 9700?

Thanks
nairrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2010, 12:28   #2142
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Why OS5
a) It's fast
b) Nice touch with SMS stitching thingy
c) More Options to play around with.

Shortcomings of OS5 (Been on it from the last two days)
a) "My number" seems to be stick on the Screen, can it be removed somehow ?
b) No Stand-by Option, did anyone noticed it?? We can no longer go into standby by pressing button right above the phone.
c) I miss the Single Multimedia Screen through which we can Photos, Videos, Songs, Voice Notes from a single point (Love the interface). Hate entering into Folder and selecting individual application.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2010, 12:31   #2143
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,139
Thanked: 1,900 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nairrk View Post

Which one is the best between storm 2 and Bold 9700?

Thanks
I personally like the 9700 much better !


The 8520 is going to feel some serious heat from Nokia's new budget qwerty's, I mean the C3 model at Rs.5300 is just brilliant !
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2010, 12:31   #2144
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jam-luru
Posts: 257
Thanked: 55 Times
Default

Looking for a SmartPhone for personal use (email & phone only) and here is my findings.

Entry level BB for 14K or entry level Nokia SmartPhone for 5.5K ?
Why is there so much diff and what advantages do I get in buying a BB.
LonelyPlanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2010, 12:53   #2145
BHPian
 
SumitBahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 975
Thanked: 217 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I personally like the 9700 much better !


The 8520 is going to feel some serious heat from Nokia's new budget qwerty's, I mean the C3 model at Rs.5300 is just brilliant !
Just checked C3.
Didnt appeal to me aesthetically.
It runs on Series 40, it is fast, but not meant for multitasking.

To the original query, I would choose 9700 over storm 2. 9700 is best BB till date.
SumitBahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:49.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks