Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th January 2009, 21:38   #256
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,575
Thanked: 269 Times
Default

Oh Anil, that sounds too simple. Means its as equal as pairing a bluetooth device ! I have never used the wi-fi feature on any gadgets, so didnt have any clue. Now I am searching for the security risks on using a wi-fi modem. I have heard in the past that your neighbour also can tap your wi-fi modem signals, no idea how its possible in the present, advanced settings. Anyway, thanks for the info, I will upgrade my airtel modem soon !
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 22:02   #257
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Read up on setting WEP/WPA security for your router or modem. The BB should work with either of them switched on.
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009, 11:35   #258
BHPian
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 414
Thanked: 61 Times
Default Research in Motion to sell unlocked Blackberry in India

Research in Motion to sell unlocked Blackberry in India

Good news for smartphone customers in the Indian market.
Research in Motion has announced that they are now going to sell unlocked Blackberry smartphones in the Indian market.
Till now they have been offering these smartphones locked in partnership with mobile service providers.
RIM vice president (India) Frenny Bawa spoke about their plans: “We recognize the need for an India-specific business plan as it is one of the fastest growing markets. Blackberry is perceived as a niche brand in India as it is not widely available. While the enterprise segment may have been our genesis, we now want to focus on the consumer segment which represents a large opportunity.”
RIM has gone into a collaboration with Redington India for their distribution network in the Indian market.
Bawa said: “Till now, the distribution and sales in India was handled through telecom operators. Redington will set up a retail trade channel across the country and sell unlocked Blackberry handsets. One of the key barriers to growth in India was the lack of a nationwide distribution channel. We have a retail distribution model in Western Europe and Latin America which is quite successful.”

Source:
Research in Motion to sell unlocked Blackberry in India
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 04:20   #259
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

For the BB users. Try and see if you can get the Bolt browser beta from boltbrowser.com

The referral code is CrackBerry. Pretty nifty. Its a java browser based on webkit and renders sites very fast.

Edit: It sure is a beta - couldn't save the post after I edited it.

Last edited by mohit : 17th January 2009 at 04:34.
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 06:52   #260
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

I am yet to install the bolt beta. Its really nice to see that the Storm and the Curve 8900 (Javelin) got launched here. But the prices still are about 3000 ish more then the prices abroad. Which is still better then before when we had differences running into 5 digits!

Blackberries are targeted at net savy users in USA and same should be done here as well. I am sure if the bring down the unlimited plan to 500 rupees or offer any kind of subsidies on the handsets they would have a surefire winner on their hands. Considering BB's are a de'facto standard for someone to be in touch 24/7 worldwide.
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 11:48   #261
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,136
Thanked: 1,895 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
Research in Motion to sell unlocked Blackberry in India

Good news for smartphone customers in the Indian market.
Research in Motion has announced that they are now going to sell unlocked Blackberry smartphones in the Indian market.
Till now they have been offering these smartphones locked in partnership with mobile service providers.
RIM vice president (India) Frenny Bawa spoke about their plans: “We recognize the need for an India-specific business plan as it is one of the fastest growing markets. Blackberry is perceived as a niche brand in India as it is not widely available. While the enterprise segment may have been our genesis, we now want to focus on the consumer segment which represents a large opportunity.”
RIM has gone into a collaboration with Redington India for their distribution network in the Indian market.
Bawa said: “Till now, the distribution and sales in India was handled through telecom operators. Redington will set up a retail trade channel across the country and sell unlocked Blackberry handsets. One of the key barriers to growth in India was the lack of a nationwide distribution channel. We have a retail distribution model in Western Europe and Latin America which is quite successful.”

Source:
Research in Motion to sell unlocked Blackberry in India
Finally we will be able to see smaller gap between grey market and official BB phones. Nokia almost killed the grey market with their pricing, hope blackberry does the same so the phones are more affordable.
Setting up just a distribution might not be enough, they need good service centers in each metro at least.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 21:23   #262
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
I am yet to install the bolt beta. Its really nice to see that the Storm and the Curve 8900 (Javelin) got launched here. But the prices still are about 3000 ish more then the prices abroad. Which is still better then before when we had differences running into 5 digits!

Blackberries are targeted at net savy users in USA and same should be done here as well. I am sure if the bring down the unlimited plan to 500 rupees or offer any kind of subsidies on the handsets they would have a surefire winner on their hands. Considering BB's are a de'facto standard for someone to be in touch 24/7 worldwide.
If wishes were horses! I pay $20 for 500 MB of data. US is little better but there too you are looking at this much at least for unlimited data.
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 17:31   #263
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

Yes but 500 seems a lot better then the 900 I am paying now. In any case did anyone get the desi Javelin or Curve 8900 yet? I am planning on getting my hands on it. Its the only BB I havent used yet. Selling my Storm in the classifieds section in case anyone is interested.
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 18:39   #264
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,575
Thanked: 269 Times
Default

Hey bro, are you a dealer of BB sets ? The number of ads that are in the classified section doesnt give the picture of an excessive BB user, but a clean reseller impression. Whatever it is, if you have some special deals for members here, that would be greatly appreciated. People are sick and tired of buying locked handsets for a higher cost from the authorised outlets. I wanted to upgrade to storm from pearl, but the loss in exchange made me rethink again. I am holding myself back now.
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 12:36   #265
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

I have a basic question - Can a BB handset be used akin to a normal handset i.e.
1. On a GPRS plan (not BB Plan)
2. Occasional pulling of emailing (not 24x7 push email)

My usage of email is sporadic as I don't want to be available 24x7 for official work. Right now, I am using Nokia E51 with a GPRS plan on which I pull emails as and when needed.

I just want to know whether the same usage can be applied on a BB handset as well, or does it necessarily require a BB plan?

Also, will I be able to use BB Messenger and other IM applications (YM, GTalk etc) on a basic GPRS plan as effectively as on a BB plan?

Last edited by nishantgandhi : 30th January 2009 at 12:37.
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 14:28   #266
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,575
Thanked: 269 Times
Default

A BB handset will show its real talent only when you are subscribed to a BB plan. Otherwise its only the name that you carry around, not the functions. GPRS, Mobile Office and none of such plans will function on a BB handset without any of the BB plans activated. That is my experience, if anyone has a different user-experience, please share and elighten us. A BB handset with wi-fi will be the only exception that can be used for browsing, none of the messengers will function through wi-fi too.
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 14:54   #267
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
A BB handset will show its real talent only when you are subscribed to a BB plan.
Agreed, its made for push email over high speed EDGE network so obviously it will work best under those conditions
Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
Otherwise its only the name that you carry around, not the functions. GPRS, Mobile Office and none of such plans will function on a BB handset without any of the BB plans activated.
Thats my doubt and I cannot digest that GPRS and MO wont work AT ALL on a BB handset. Thats why I put up this query. I am really keen to know why BB plan is a necessity for making even simpler things like GPRS/MO related functions. AFAIK, they will work, but on a use-as-per-need basis vs the 'unlimited, always on' BB plan
Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
A BB handset with wi-fi will be the only exception that can be used for browsing, none of the messengers will function through wi-fi too.
I have read quite the opposite on CrackBerry and other forums. In fact, BB site itself mentions that you can use WiFi to send/recieve emails, make calls under the UMA protocol and also use the messager functions.

Can someone please clarify??
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 15:08   #268
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,490
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
I have a basic question - Can a BB handset be used akin to a normal handset i.e.
1. On a GPRS plan (not BB Plan)
2. Occasional pulling of emailing (not 24x7 push email)
----
Also, will I be able to use BB Messenger and other IM applications (YM, GTalk etc) on a basic GPRS plan as effectively as on a BB plan?

1) Yes
2) You will need 3rd part app like logicmail for email and opera for browsing

IM app havent tried yet, but i guess since its 3rd party it should work, built in BB messenger highly unlikely to work.

But as commented above, without BB connection dont put your money into BB. Instead i suggest something from Nokia's new series of business phone, trust me they are really good.
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 17:28   #269
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

You can use MO and other GPRS APN on a BB.

But like said before it wont be the same, you can sync emails over WiFi and also do some browsing etc. I will always suggest a BB over anything else but if you are not going to be on BIS plan then the other handsets with wifi seem promising as well. Also I've replied to your PM
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2009, 22:37   #270
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,575
Thanked: 269 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
Thats my doubt and I cannot digest that GPRS and MO wont work AT ALL on a BB handset. Thats why I put up this query. I am really keen to know why BB plan is a necessity for making even simpler things like GPRS/MO related functions. AFAIK, they will work, but on a use-as-per-need basis vs the 'unlimited, always on' BB plan
As I said above, none of the GPRS, MO, EDGE functions will work on a BB handset without any of the BB plans activated. I tried it myself and contacted the support for all of those services but was clarified many times that BB plan is the basic for anything. But someone who has a BB plan do not need MO or GPRS or any such things too. A BB handset will display 'GSM' when its used as a normal phone, it changes to 'EDGE' when any BB plan is activated and shows 'GPRS' when its at a non-EDGE area while still being in any BB plan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
1) Yes
2) You will need 3rd part app like logicmail for email and opera for browsing
IM app havent tried yet, but i guess since its 3rd party it should work, built in BB messenger highly unlikely to work.
GPRS do not work on a BB handset as a standalone service like the Rs.99/- monthly plans on the other mobiles. I have tried it in vein. And the 3rd party software like Opera etc. are not supported even with a BB plan. Email softwares, IM apps etc. none of them are officially supported out of any BB plan, I have no idea if anyone can use them by cracking some code in the handset or doing some other short cuts. If there is a solution, I will be the first one to use it with excess joy and happiness. Even if someone can guide on how to use normal Yahoo Messenger on a wi-fi, I will be experiencing Joy ! I have googled too much, asked too many questions to lots of friends and collegues (BB addicts for many years) all over the world, none could help so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
You can use MO and other GPRS APN on a BB.
Please tell us how you can do that without a BB plan. It will be a method useful for many. I dont like to pay Rs.899/- a month if you can enlighten on how to use atleast GPRS on a BB handset.
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:38.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks