Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th October 2010, 21:36   #2716
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 403
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

neat ! how can we upgrade? (are we allowed ?? ) LOL
One more question? will the new OS take care of number registry issues like my previous post - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ml#post2091300
jus asking coz this is important too - for eg. my cousins's land line and a hair saloon in a city 200Km away have the similar numbers but diff STD codes. when my cousin calls it registers as the hair saloon. it gets after a while. I found out I have 11 such numbers
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2010, 19:30   #2717
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 543
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

If we take a BB airtel / vodafone connection abroad & the phone is working there, can we still use BBM to chat with folks in india ??
Is that chargeable ??
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2010, 19:42   #2718
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadra View Post
If we take a BB airtel / vodafone connection abroad & the phone is working there, can we still use BBM to chat with folks in india ??
Is that chargeable ??
Yes they will charge if you are not in India.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2010, 01:16   #2719
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
Hi in case you intend to use the basic gprs service you can with the wap browser the bis guys told you not to use.
*HOWEVER* you CANNOT use any app that connects to the BB service so you have to get the generic chat and messenger programs like I'm plus and browsers like bolt and opera.
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadra View Post
If we take a BB airtel / vodafone connection abroad & the phone is working there, can we still use BBM to chat with folks in india ??
Is that chargeable ??
Yes and it's kind of expensive. Better to get a local card if you plan to stay a few days.
Akki_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 19:28   #2720
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Getting BB 8520 for 11300 on ebay.
good deal?
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 20:42   #2721
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default Nuked 8520?

Need urgent help here!

I installed 2 apps on my 8520 today - WorldMate and Opera Mini (ver 4.2). Though I got the warning that Opera Mini is unsigned, I still chose to go ahead with the install, since I didnt like the ver 5.1.

After the Opera install, I did a battery pull (which I think was a grave mistake!).

Now I'm stuck with what is called 'The White Screen of Death' or 'The Hourglass of Death'. The phone refuses to boot up. The red LED comes on and when it goes off, the white screen with the hourglass keeps flashing for a few minutes. However it does not go beyond that and the entire cycle repeats.

I tried the safe mode i.e. holding the escape key during start up. But the phone refuses to boot in safe mode too.

What is the problem here?

Also, as luck would have it, I dont have a recent backup of data. The last backup was made sometime last month. Is there a way to retrieve data from this nuked phone and then re-install the OS?

My primary concern is data. I dont mind OS reinstall etc.

.
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 07:58   #2722
BHPian
 
Xehaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 845
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

Hey Nishant,

Try the following steps for BACKING UP your data:
1 - Disconnect your computer from the internet.
2 - Open BB Desktop Manager (BBDM).
3 - Connect your phone to computer & see if BB Desktop Manager recognises it. (Remember to open BBDM before connecting your phone)

IF YES (It is recognised)
Its your lucky day & you should back up all your data immediately.

IF NO (Not recognised)
Try removing the battery from the phone & then connecting it to the computer (wihout the battery). BBDM recognises it - Backup.

Try the following for RESTORING YOUR PHONE back to normal:
(All your data & 3rd party apps will be erased)
BlackBerry 101: How to Reload the Operating System on a Nuked BlackBerry | CrackBerry.com
Xehaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 14:56   #2723
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Thumbs down Vodafone BB Service

Guys i am using BB 8900 with Rs 299 service. Few of my friends who are not in Punjab circle are using FULL BB service for Rs 599. I went to their vodafone store to activate the 599 service and they said they don't have any such service for Punjab. Its either 299 or 1099

While Airtel is providing the FULL BB service for Rs 899 Vodafone Punjab is selling same for 1099. Looks like a downhill for vodafone. Thats leaves me no choice to either move onto prepaid and enjoy BB service for mere Rs 399 or wait for portability and shift to Airtel or someone else.

I have this same number for past 5+ years and don't wanna get rid of it.

Last edited by abhibh : 15th October 2010 at 14:59.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 15:26   #2724
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 20
Thanked: Once
Default

You are right. Pricing of BB services is inconsistent among many states in India. What is further intriguing that you get get unlimited BB services as low as Rs.5 per day on prepaid whereas you have to pay Rs. 300 per month for the same service if you are on rental. Strange but true.
vivekparmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 15:31   #2725
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,515
Thanked: 7,190 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekparmar View Post
You are right. Pricing of BB services is inconsistent among many states in India. What is further intriguing that you get get unlimited BB services as low as Rs.5 per day on prepaid whereas you have to pay Rs. 300 per month for the same service if you are on rental. Strange but true.
Its not hard to guess why. You may know that prepaid to postpaid customer ratio is almost 90% to 10%. I am a customer part of 10% and customers like me usually dont flinch in paying a premium as a large percentage of these customer bills are paid by someone else

To lure such a large prepaid customer base the best carrot is always a price slash. Dont you think?
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 16:05   #2726
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Quick question to all.
WIll be getting BB soon.
Advise on internet plan needed.

Do we have 599 plan for vodafone in NCR or i may get any other new connection.
Thanks.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 18:15   #2727
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 543
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xehaust View Post
Hey Nishant,

Try the following steps for BACKING UP your data:
1 - Disconnect your computer from the internet.
2 - Open BB Desktop Manager (BBDM).
3 - Connect your phone to computer & see if BB Desktop Manager recognises it. (Remember to open BBDM before connecting your phone)

IF YES (It is recognised)
Its your lucky day & you should back up all your data immediately.

IF NO (Not recognised)
Try removing the battery from the phone & then connecting it to the computer (wihout the battery). BBDM recognises it - Backup.

Try the following for RESTORING YOUR PHONE back to normal:
(All your data & 3rd party apps will be erased)
BlackBerry 101: How to Reload the Operating System on a Nuked BlackBerry | CrackBerry.com
does bb have service centers in india like nokia care ??
What is the procedure to get the phone fixed for hardware failures ??
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 23:44   #2728
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Quick question to all.
WIll be getting BB soon.
Advise on internet plan needed.

Do we have 599 plan for vodafone in NCR or i may get any other new connection.
Thanks.
Yes i think there is 599 plan in Delhi.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2010, 00:05   #2729
BHPian
 
Xehaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 845
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadra View Post
does bb have service centers in india like nokia care ??
What is the procedure to get the phone fixed for hardware failures ??
Though surprising, but the answer is no.
You will have to hunt around for an independent shop that specialises in fixing a bb. But i have heard of Redington service centres. Perhaps someone who has fixed their bb can comment on this.
Xehaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2010, 03:00   #2730
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

So if there are no dedicated service centres for blackberry what use is the warranty to us?
Anyone here who has claimed warranty?
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:14.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks