Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st October 2010, 15:46   #2746
BHPian
 
aa_asif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: KL 07 > KA 03
Posts: 244
Thanked: 35 Times
Default Help Help!!

I've a Cingular locked Blackberry 7290 from US. Could anyone help me with a place to get it unlocked in Bangalore?

Some say that there are plenty around S.P Road. Anybody around who have done it from there?

I'm really stuck here. Help needed very badly!
aa_asif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2010, 17:55   #2747
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 542
Thanked: 52 Times
Default do what you love, love what you do

Got a BB curve 3g for 18600. Got a local made bluetooth free + 1000rs cashback which will come as a voucher from the bank. I can redeem that voucher in croma.

Thanks to Nishant for sorting out my initial hiccups regarding BB.

Its fast, can multitask, shoots decent pic during day,e-mail/sms viewing/sending is crystal clear,clock bedside mode is great,trackpad is like a breeze, websites can be viewed clearly,call quality is clear, what else...o yeah, m loving it

Cheers

Last edited by DerAlte : 22nd October 2010 at 10:16. Reason: Offending part edited out!
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2010, 21:01   #2748
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadra View Post
Got a BB curve 3g for 18600. Got a local made bluetooth free + 1000rs cashback which will come as a voucher from the bank. I can redeem that voucher in croma.

Thanks to Nishant for sorting out my initial hiccups regarding BB.

Its fast, can multitask, shoots decent pic during day,e-mail/sms viewing/sending is crystal clear,clock bedside mode is great,trackpad is like a breeze, websites can be viewed clearly,call quality is clear, what else...o yeah, m loving it

Cheers
I did what I could in my humble capacity mate!
Good to see you are enjoying the phone!

Last edited by DerAlte : 22nd October 2010 at 10:17. Reason: Post editing due to previous post contents being edited
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2010, 21:12   #2749
BHPian
 
Pri2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore / Mangalore
Posts: 194
Thanked: 86 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aa_asif View Post
I've a Cingular locked Blackberry 7290 from US. Could anyone help me with a place to get it unlocked in Bangalore?

Some say that there are plenty around S.P Road. Anybody around who have done it from there?

I'm really stuck here. Help needed very badly!
I know a place in national market -Bangalore where this can be done. It is on the ground floor left lane of that building.
Pri2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 09:09   #2750
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,108
Thanked: 3,687 Times
Default

Incidentally, according to the box Apple iPhones have overtaken BB in sales volumes. So much for us button lovers! We may be headed the way dinosaurs were.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 09:34   #2751
Senior - BHPian
 
arjunrudra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: chennai
Posts: 1,515
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

GOt a blackberry torch the day before yesterday and its simply awesome.
Was the first torch customer in chennai to get the official one brought in my redington. But i do feel the touchscreen is a bit too sensitive and setting up the blackberry with the prepaid 399 plan is becoming very hard.

I have done entering the imei number and the pin number and then it says im an existing customer.
What should i do ? I have never before used a blackberry .

Last edited by arjunrudra : 22nd October 2010 at 09:36.
arjunrudra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 09:39   #2752
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 285
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunrudra View Post
GOt a blackberry torch the day before yesterday and its simply awesome.
Was the first torch customer in chennai to get the official one brought in my redington. But i do feel the touchscreen is a bit too sensitive and setting up the blackberry with the prepaid 399 plan is becoming very hard.

I have done entering the imei number and the pin number and then it says im an existing customer.
What should i do ? I have never before used a blackberry .
What service provider and which city are you in? Your nearest store will not be very helpful as the entire BB backend team is seperate from the store and the service provider team. So calling your BB service system will help. They will provision and preset by unlocking that problem from their end. They will follow it up with giving you a fresh access. I'm guessing yours is not a brand new phone. Else the pin and imei wouldn't be registered
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 10:18   #2753
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunrudra View Post
GOt a blackberry torch the day before yesterday and its simply awesome.
Was the first torch customer in chennai to get the official one brought in my redington. But i do feel the touchscreen is a bit too sensitive and setting up the blackberry with the prepaid 399 plan is becoming very hard.

I have done entering the imei number and the pin number and then it says im an existing customer.
What should i do ? I have never before used a blackberry .
Congratulations on the Torch. I saw it too but the downer for me was the battery. Its 1300mH Li-ion whereas my Bold 2 (9700) has a 1500mH and i already complain that my battery does not even last the whole day. Hear they've reduced it because the Torch was already getting heavier & have opted for the Slim battery. I will wait before upgrading, maybe wait for a future model. Also, if you've been spoiled by the iPhone/iPod Touch experience, the Touchscreen's on BB's just don't cut the ice.

Do post your experiences with your phone though. Enjoy!
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 11:01   #2754
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,176
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default

How much is the Torch in Mumbai grey market? I'm getting one from London for 26,500Rs, good price?
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 11:11   #2755
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,737
Thanked: 6,299 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
How much is the Torch in Mumbai grey market? I'm getting one from London for 26,500Rs, good price?
I think thats a good price. Over here the grey market is still a little more than that. 29-30 last I checked.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 12:47   #2756
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 542
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
I did what I could in my humble capacity mate!
Good to see you are enjoying the phone!
Update: I am hearing a slight static like a chee sound during a call. Its very faint.
Any advice ?
(Posted via bb)
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2010, 09:36   #2757
Senior - BHPian
 
arjunrudra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: chennai
Posts: 1,515
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anilkalvani View Post
Congratulations on the Torch. I saw it too but the downer for me was the battery. Its 1300mH Li-ion whereas my Bold 2 (9700) has a 1500mH and i already complain that my battery does not even last the whole day. Hear they've reduced it because the Torch was already getting heavier & have opted for the Slim battery. I will wait before upgrading, maybe wait for a future model. Also, if you've been spoiled by the iPhone/iPod Touch experience, the Touchscreen's on BB's just don't cut the ice.

Do post your experiences with your phone though. Enjoy!
Yes the battery lasts just a day with browsing and stuff.and touch screen i feel is actually pretty darn good.
Even the apple users like the touch screen a lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
What service provider and which city are you in? Your nearest store will not be very helpful as the entire BB backend team is seperate from the store and the service provider team. So calling your BB service system will help. They will provision and preset by unlocking that problem from their end. They will follow it up with giving you a fresh access. I'm guessing yours is not a brand new phone. Else the pin and imei wouldn't be registered
Im using vodafone from chennai.
The problem was i had lost my prev phone and had to recover my soon and when i did that , vodafone had forgot to update it in the 2nd server(thats what they said) so the registering of the blackberry didnt happen.
arjunrudra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2010, 10:56   #2758
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 285
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunrudra View Post
Im using vodafone from chennai.
The problem was i had lost my prev phone and had to recover my soon and when i did that , vodafone had forgot to update it in the 2nd server(thats what they said) so the registering of the blackberry didnt happen.
Glad to see you are back in action then. Whatever the reason! Good upgrade and hope you don't lose another BB.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2010, 12:39   #2759
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

Hey guys
I use a BB 8520. Today I've installed the Google Maps on the device.
Also I have a Bluetooth GPS Reciver from satguide
Buy Bluetooth Gps Receiver At Best Price From Satguide

I have successfully paired the GPS with the BB and when I go to OPTIONS ---> ADVANCE OPTIONS ---> GPS I can see the Longitude & Latitude of my current location.
It shows the number of Satellites as 7 and Accuracy of 1.2m

Now when I start google maps, the maps still do not show me my current location, but show the location of the nearest cell tower with an accuracy of 1500m.

Does anyone know how to get this work.

Further when I use the inbuilt BB Maps application it show the GPS accuracy as 1.3m but as BB doesn't offer maps for India, its pretty useless.
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2010, 12:57   #2760
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 573
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

@harjeev - try reinstalling google maps while the GPS is paired. It might work.
CrackedHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks