Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th November 2010, 10:34   #2956
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 283
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Nope that's the best price you would get for it. You might at max get a bluetooth headset free from croma or something for 200~300 bucks more. Open market is better you get 18 months warranty. Sim locked handsets only get 12 months. Well you're looking basically at OS upgrade and a newer handset then. That's about it. Along with new apps. But then again that's OS dependent.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 10:53   #2957
Senior - BHPian
 
MileCruncher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,985
Thanked: 351 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
Well you're looking basically at OS upgrade and a newer handset then. That's about it. Along with new apps. But then again that's OS dependent.
Actually my 8310 has already had quite a few OS upgrades and is running V4.5.0.37 . I would still keep using it if my battery hadn't gone phat and the panel has also cracked. Getting it up would cost me about 4K but the value of a good piece of the phone is only 2.5k so any further investment doesn't make sense. Also the low internal memory is not allowing me to use all the new apps on BB App World.

Can you suggest any other handset that meets my needs?
MileCruncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 11:31   #2958
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 283
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

There isn't anything else and from what I know of usage of my phone having just a few apps also my phone tends to be a little laggy!

Just something BB owners have to live with I guess. But OS6 is a world better though from 4.5! Trust me its waaaay better! And integration of apps has been getting better.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 12:16   #2959
BHPian
 
vibhu_f430's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 194
Thanked: 62 Times
Default 9780 !!

Hey guys,

Got the 9780 yesterday ! Iam in love with OS6 ! The UI is more polished than before, but, its a lil fiddly to use. I used to use a 8900 before.
Got it for Rs26500.

Cheers !
vibhu_f430 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 20:17   #2960
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 283
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

@vibhu welcome back to the BB fold and congrats on the massive upgrade! Do review the handset for all here.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2010, 23:07   #2961
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 283
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Here's an interesting article... KB14320-How to maximize free space and battery power on the BlackBerry smartphone its on maximising memory and battery. I have two other tips to add once you finish. Reduce backlight. It will save you a LOT of battery believe me. Mine is down to 10. Believe it or not it is CRISP. And secondly try and use bedtime mode. Or the auto on/off function. Unless you're the work-specialist who needs emails even in sleep.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 11:42   #2962
Senior - BHPian
 
arjunrudra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: chennai
Posts: 1,515
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Guys need your help !
Im on the blackberry unlimited monthly pre-paid plan from vodafone.
And offlate after a bit of browsing , I see that my balance has been dropping considerably.

So i contacted vodafone and they told me that i have sent many MMS's , which in my knowledge have never sent anything.
Are emails and BBMs considered as mms ?
And also are pictures sent via bbm charged ?

They also told me to go to setting and go to internet option and change the option CONNECT VIA to blackberry from Vodafone live .
Can you please help me do the same , not able to find the connect via option or even the internet option.

I have a Blackberry torch.
arjunrudra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 12:11   #2963
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Arjun, It's under advance options. Advance options>Browser>Browser.

But I ain't sure if it gonna help you or not. Since it is normal browser profile which can be changed not wap one. And as far as mms are concerned they are transferred via wap. Try and stop sending pictures via bbm and keep an eye over balance.

Hope it should help.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 12:56   #2964
BHPian
 
mukeshgoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 734
Thanked: 368 Times
Default

Arjun, to be on safer side, please deactivate Vodafone Live becasue you are anyways on BB unlimited.

To deactivate send an SMS to "CAN VL" to 144 from your prepaid vodafone.
mukeshgoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 13:34   #2965
BHPian
 
valhallen.282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 283
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mukeshgoel View Post
Arjun, to be on safer side, please deactivate Vodafone Live becasue you are anyways on BB unlimited.

To deactivate send an SMS to "CAN VL" to 144 from your prepaid vodafone.
Please do not do anything like this it also deactivates your edge usage. To solve your problem open browser>general options>default browser. Change this to hotspot/internet browser for wifi/BBEDGE.

Also if you send pictures to a contact on your BBM that is a phone number and not a BBPIN it will be an MMS this is denoted by a cell-phone symbol next to the contact name instead of a BB conversation symbol.

If you are on prepaid please use vodafone mobile connect for browsing via the laptop they have a 4GB for Rs.99/ plan.
valhallen.282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 15:20   #2966
Senior - BHPian
 
arjunrudra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: chennai
Posts: 1,515
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhallen.282 View Post
Please do not do anything like this it also deactivates your edge usage. To solve your problem open browser>general options>default browser. Change this to hotspot/internet browser for wifi/BBEDGE.

Also if you send pictures to a contact on your BBM that is a phone number and not a BBPIN it will be an MMS this is denoted by a cell-phone symbol next to the contact name instead of a BB conversation symbol.

If you are on prepaid please use vodafone mobile connect for browsing via the laptop they have a 4GB for Rs.99/ plan.
Sorry to sound so dumb , I am still not able to find browser options.

Can you please explain to me in detail about how to set it up ?

Presently what im doing is opening the browser and then going to options but im unable to find default browser.!
arjunrudra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 22:54   #2967
BHPian
 
quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Blore
Posts: 543
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

bookmyshow app is not loading on my phone. It gives an error regarding internet connection however i am on 899 unltd & everything except this app works fine.

Anyone else facing this issue ?

Or any other app you recommend to book movie tickets etc ?
quadra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2010, 01:08   #2968
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Just installed OS6 on my 9700! Boy, this thing is AWESOME! Lovin' it
Akki_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2010, 10:27   #2969
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunrudra View Post
Sorry to sound so dumb , I am still not able to find browser options.

Can you please explain to me in detail about how to set it up ?

Presently what im doing is opening the browser and then going to options but im unable to find default browser.!
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifti...ml#post2161857
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2010, 12:20   #2970
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,213
Thanked: 529 Times
Default

Does BB support pdf files. I downloaded the delhi metro map pdf in the documents but its not opening up. Any ideas?
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks