Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th July 2011, 10:37   #3556
BHPian
 
slicvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KA 19
Posts: 733
Thanked: 354 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Read some good news, India might be one of the first to get the new Bold 9900. Possibly by this month end itself.
Sahil, did you get the 9900? Any reviews? Dealer in my place quoting 70,000 for it
slicvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 10:41   #3557
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jam-luru
Posts: 257
Thanked: 55 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
You can use any old sim that you want in your BlackBerry. You can surely use the voice and sms services without a problem.

If you do not want to use data services, make sure you switch it off in Options. Here's a tip how to do that:

Turn off data service
  • Depending on your wireless service plan, you might be able to turn off data service (email, PIN and MMS messages, and browser service) on your BlackBerry® device so that only phone and SMS text messaging services are available.
  • In the device options, click Mobile Network.
  • Perform one of the following actions:
    To turn off data service, change the Data Services field to Off.
    To turn off data service when roaming, change the Data Services field to Off When Roaming.
  • Press the Menu key.
  • Click Save.
NielGuy - I get the message "Invalid Sim" !!
It works perfectly fine if I connect my original SIM with BB data plan from Airtel in the old handset
LonelyPlanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 11:30   #3558
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,897 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicvic View Post
Sahil, did you get the 9900? Any reviews? Dealer in my place quoting 70,000 for it
I highly doubt any dealer has it. The phone has not been released anywhere.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 12:10   #3559
BHPian
 
slicvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KA 19
Posts: 733
Thanked: 354 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I highly doubt any dealer has it. The phone has not been released anywhere.
Well, its available here in mangalore. Here's a picture.
Attached Images
 
slicvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 12:13   #3560
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,897 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

oh damn ! that means the phone's have been leaked out of the reddington distributors warehouses. RIM has not yet released the phone for sure, anywhere!
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 12:18   #3561
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,427
Thanked: 678 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicvic View Post
Well, its available here in mangalore. Here's a picture.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
oh damn ! that means the phone's have been leaked out of the reddington distributors warehouses. RIM has not yet released the phone for sure, anywhere!
I spoke to my regular Mobile guy and he too told me some dealers he knows have got access to some stock of BB 9900 and this material has come in from Middle East / HK.

I don't really take his word as a final thing but he sure knows what he is talking about. He is ringing me back asap with the Price offer.
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 12:40   #3562
Senior - BHPian
 
coolclouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Garden City
Posts: 1,787
Thanked: 505 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
GPSLogger II (available in the app world) is an excellent tool to record gps tracks.
Hi,

I am using Curve 8900 on Reliance GSM with `Lite' plan for push mail.
Can I use GPS tracker apps in Reliance GSM network? What is the data plan required, if possible?

As per Reliance and Aircel customer care, Blackberry GPS will not work in India!! Is it true?


Thanks,
coolclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 15:06   #3563
BHPian
 
Neilguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 172
Thanked: 51 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonelyPlanet View Post
NielGuy - I get the message "Invalid Sim" !!
It works perfectly fine if I connect my original SIM with BB data plan from Airtel in the old handset
Your BB handset might be locked to Airtel. Is the new sim card from Airtel too? Check your unlock status with the below tip:

1. Options > Advanced Options > SIM Card (OS 6:Type Sim Card and select the item from within Options)

2. Press keys M E P D (not case sensitive)

NOTE about SureType keyboards: You will have to "double-tap" the P, so you are actually entering M E P P D

3. The Network field should say DISABLED. If it says ACTIVE it is still locked.

An Invalid SIM error is often an indicator of a locked phone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolclouds View Post
I am using Curve 8900 on Reliance GSM with `Lite' plan for push mail.
Can I use GPS tracker apps in Reliance GSM network? What is the data plan required, if possible?
GPSLogger II does not use any data, it only uses gps coordinates acquired from the phone and logs it. This data can later be viewed in external mapping programs to view your tracks, speed and other statistics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolclouds View Post
As per Reliance and Aircel customer care, Blackberry GPS will not work in India!! Is it true?
BlackBerry Maps application does not work in India as BB doesn't have map data for India, but GPS surely works. But you could use an external mapping application like Google maps for BB. If your phone does not have GPS, Google Maps uses approximate aGPS using cell tower triangulation.

Also, Google Maps (or any other data requiring application) will NOT work with 'Lite' plan. You will need the full BB plan to use data with external applications.

Last edited by Neilguy : 25th July 2011 at 15:17.
Neilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 16:01   #3564
Senior - BHPian
 
coolclouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Garden City
Posts: 1,787
Thanked: 505 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
Your BB handset might be locked to Airtel. Is the new sim card from Airtel too? Check your unlock status with the below tip:

Thanks for the info. I am going for Rs. 599 data plan on a trial basis and planning to download Google maps/Latitude. Can I use GPSLogger II with this plan?

Last edited by mobike008 : 25th July 2011 at 16:30. Reason: Please DO NOT quoting large text, videos and pictures as it inconveniences our mobile users. Thanks!
coolclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 16:27   #3565
BHPian
 
Neilguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 172
Thanked: 51 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolclouds View Post
Thanks for the info. I am going for Rs. 599 data plan on a trial basis and planning to download Google maps/Latitude. Can I use GPSLogger II with this plan?
GPSlogger is a standalone application and does not use any data, so Yes, you can use it with (or without) any data plan on BB.
Neilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 18:57   #3566
BHPian
 
Steve_Austin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 74
Thanked: Once
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonelyPlanet View Post
NielGuy - I get the message "Invalid Sim" !!
It works perfectly fine if I connect my original SIM with BB data plan from Airtel in the old handset

@ LonelyPlanet - Had the exact same issue, called-up Airtel Customer Care and got the unlock code (in roughly 30+ days) and set my BB free (How much of time and effort i spent on this with Airtel Customer Care is anybody's guess).

Airtel Broadband Support # 9845907070

Your phone unlock procedure will depend on your handset model. A google for it will guide you.

All the Best!
Steve_Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2011, 20:57   #3567
Senior - BHPian
 
coolclouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Garden City
Posts: 1,787
Thanked: 505 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
GPSlogger is a standalone application and does not use any data, so Yes, you can use it with (or without) any data plan on BB.
Thanks, I downloaded GPSLogger and is working fine.
coolclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2011, 07:24   #3568
BHPian
 
Sunilrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mangalore
Posts: 764
Thanked: 535 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicvic View Post
Sahil, did you get the 9900? Any reviews? Dealer in my place quoting 70,000 for it
In India the release could happen thru a soft launch on August 15th and a commercial availibility could take place sometime around September 15th, as BB India is awaiting the inauguration of the First BB Experience Zone of India. as regards price its the simple economics of demand v/s supply. the UK release versions scheduled for August 12th could cost about 48-50 ex Bombay on account of Shipping + Customs. 70K is a good Price if you want it badly and flaunt it as a status symbol as a week ago the price was 80K and on June 29th about 7 units got sold for 1.25 lakhs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
oh damn ! that means the phone's have been leaked out of the reddington distributors warehouses. RIM has not yet released the phone for sure, anywhere!
The Phone is Not Leaked by redington Distributors warehouses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
I spoke to my regular Mobile guy and he too told me some dealers he knows have got access to some stock of BB 9900 and this material has come in from Middle East / HK.

I don't really take his word as a final thing but he sure knows what he is talking about. He is ringing me back asap with the Price offer.
The Units that are coming in are not from UAE/HK. the AT&T ones that have come in some could be unlocked and some ahd to be trashed. also the PIN and IMEI of these Handsets got blocked by RIM as a result of which BBM and BIS/BES get suspended permanently.

same is the case with the handsets coming in from the Vietnam route. within 15 minutes of 'Registering on the Network' and activation of BIS/BES and usage of BBM you get a call from the BB engineering services Department in Vietnam politely telling you that they do not want to know the source from where you got the handset, but that till BIS/BBM is available to enjoy it. after that in about an hour all services are blocked by RIM at their end, as the PIN/ESN Number is marked as bad. and then all you can do is Flaunt the handset as a mere calling phone.

as regards India pricing it could be in the range of 30990-32990/- the 9900 will be released first, followed by Torch 9810 in october, 9860 Monaco (Full Touch) sometime around November.

this handset that is shown in the above pics is sourced from Canada and is running version 7.0.0.261 Bundle 1346 and trust me the key Pitch is so good that you just feel like going on and on with the Phone. definitely the Best BB after Bold 9000!

finally here are a few pics in my hand
Attached Images
   

Last edited by Sunilrj : 26th July 2011 at 07:50. Reason: Additional Info
Sunilrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2011, 08:12   #3569
BHPian
 
Sunilrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mangalore
Posts: 764
Thanked: 535 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Some More Classic Ad-Quality Pics!
Attached Images
   
Sunilrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2011, 11:23   #3570
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jam-luru
Posts: 257
Thanked: 55 Times
Default Re: Blackberry Phones and Services in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve_Austin View Post
@ LonelyPlanet - Had the exact same issue, called-up Airtel Customer Care and got the unlock code (in roughly 30+ days) and set my BB free (How much of time and effort i spent on this with Airtel Customer Care is anybody's guess).

Airtel Broadband Support # 9845907070

Your phone unlock procedure will depend on your handset model. A google for it will guide you.

All the Best!
Thanks Steve
I logged a case with Airtel and they have given me an SLA of 3 days. Lets see when I get my unlock code !!
LonelyPlanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:06.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks