Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd July 2009, 17:29   #1066
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

ghpk, thats a process you might have to do almost every week for a smooth functioning of the handset itself, leave alone other BB outages and network issues. BB handsets are known for this battery pull out and its anyway part of your weekly routine. I do that almost twice a week. This depends on how heavy user you are !
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 18:46   #1067
BHPian
 
da MotorHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 122
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi,
Got the LCD replaced for 4K. Works like a charm now.
da MotorHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 00:41   #1068
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

shajufx, i don't try to fix, unless it really broken.

da_motorHead, care to share the shop name where you got it cheap and fast.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2009, 16:02   #1069
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

ghpk, I dont know what you meant by "fix". I was not talking about the BB handset body. Battery pullout is done when the handset is frozen, do not respond to any circus, act like the screen is stuck etc. So its more of a software issue. Its exactly the same thing what you do with your laptop or desktop PC pressing the "RESTART".
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 03:15   #1070
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
ghpk, I dont know what you meant by "fix". I was not talking about the BB handset body. Battery pullout is done when the handset is frozen, do not respond to any circus, act like the screen is stuck etc. So its more of a software issue. Its exactly the same thing what you do with your laptop or desktop PC pressing the "RESTART".
Please check if you are running the latest Available OS for your operator, i think older OS versions were more prone to get battery Pull solutions.

I don't feel the need of battery pull for entire month, and i use it every hour and take a lots of SNAP from it.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 10:58   #1071
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Hi guys, I have a couple of totally n00b Qns. I am planning to upgrade from the N82 to a BB phone. But the primary needs aint really push mails etc. Just need a QWERTY phone, and I feel the BB has a huge snob value over a E71/E63.

1: How important is 3G in India. Considering the fact that licence auction et al is taking ages. Reason being is it worth paying 8-9k extra for a Bold, when the Javelin I feel is an awesome phone.

2: Is it really mandatory to take a BIS plan ? Cant I use it just like another GSM phone ? Primary requirements include "pocket internet" and GPS. No mails etc for the time being.

3: Univercell in Chennai is selling the Javelin 8900 for 23xxx INR. Will it be locked to any operator ? Or is it a generic phone ? Any other cheaper place where I can buy ? Ezone/Croma ?

Thanks
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 11:24   #1072
BHPian
 
jgsolo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pondicherry
Posts: 61
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fountainheader View Post
Hi guys, I have a couple of totally n00b Qns. I am planning to upgrade from the N82 to a BB phone. But the primary needs aint really push mails etc. Just need a QWERTY phone, and I feel the BB has a huge snob value over a E71/E63.

1: How important is 3G in India. Considering the fact that licence auction et al is taking ages. Reason being is it worth paying 8-9k extra for a Bold, when the Javelin I feel is an awesome phone.

2: Is it really mandatory to take a BIS plan ? Cant I use it just like another GSM phone ? Primary requirements include "pocket internet" and GPS. No mails etc for the time being.

3: Univercell in Chennai is selling the Javelin 8900 for 23xxx INR. Will it be locked to any operator ? Or is it a generic phone ? Any other cheaper place where I can buy ? Ezone/Croma ?

Thanks
If your requirement is only a Qwerty Key Pad and not mails, then there is nothing to beat a N71! (or wait for N72)
UniverCell sells only Operator Locked BB's.
If it is only "Pocket Internet" and GPS, you can try a handset with Windows Mobile OS and Qwerty Key Pad.
BB without a BIS Plan will never be recommended by anybody in this forum.
jgsolo27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 12:07   #1073
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
Please check if you are running the latest Available OS for your operator.
OS issues and upgrades were discussed much in detail many pages back here. So, its nothing to do with the OS version. However advanced version one uses, there are certain situations a phone can hang just like that. Depends on your kind of usage. If a desktop or laptop can freeze once a while, a phone can do that 10 times more. Although mine is a Pearl 8120, I have partners who are using bold and storm, when the phone cant handle multiple programmes running simultaneously, it hangs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgsolo27 View Post
If it is only "Pocket Internet" and GPS, you can try a handset with Windows Mobile OS and Qwerty Key Pad. BB without a BIS Plan will never be recommended by anybody in this forum.
Agree 100% here ! If the purpose is only the snob value, then it makes sense. For your practical usage, a windows OS like HTC variants will do fantastic job.
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 16:15   #1074
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,617
Thanked: 7,727 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fountainheader View Post
Univercell in Chennai is selling the Javelin 8900 for 23xxx INR. Will it be locked to any operator ? Or is it a generic phone ? Any other cheaper place where I can buy ? Ezone/Croma ?

Thanks
BB pricing has taken a plunge in last month. I dont remember the name of the showroom but they were offering BB 8900 for Rs.20xxx in Hyderabad and i am quite sure it was unlocked.
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 16:52   #1075
BHPian
 
spawnofsatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Los angeles/Mumbai
Posts: 707
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

I have heard several answers to this question and I finally need this issue resolved.

I have a BB Storm (yeah I am used to the screen now), and I am usually in Gujarat at our foundry on weekdays and weekends I am in Bombay. My service provider is Vodafone, now my question is, if i get the Bb plan will I be charged roaming? I use it mainly for email and BB Messenger, dont care too much about surfing and youtube and such. I would like to have my MSN and yahoo messenger on at all times and receive notifications as and when I get emails. Any suggestions?
spawnofsatan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 17:41   #1076
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,617
Thanked: 7,727 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnofsatan View Post
I have heard several answers to this question and I finally need this issue resolved.

I have a BB Storm (yeah I am used to the screen now), and I am usually in Gujarat at our foundry on weekdays and weekends I am in Bombay. My service provider is Vodafone, now my question is, if i get the Bb plan will I be charged roaming? I use it mainly for email and BB Messenger, dont care too much about surfing and youtube and such. I would like to have my MSN and yahoo messenger on at all times and receive notifications as and when I get emails. Any suggestions?
Wow, thats a good question, probably the first of this type on this thread. Logically, SP should not charge for roaming for BB basic plan. But, you never know.

Anybody knows, please post the right answer
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2009, 18:03   #1077
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,636
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnofsatan View Post
My service provider is Vodafone, now my question is, if i get the Bb plan will I be charged roaming?
I have a BB plan from vodafone, I travel once a while and use the similar things what you mentioned. Anywhere within India, as long as you are under the vodafone network (be it city or a village) you get the complete service without any extra charges. Your emails will be delivered even if its a GPRS area. Messengers work best on EDGE, I doubt if it can work on edge and gprs. To safeguard your usage of roaming into other networks, put the network on manual mode for Vodafone only. So, no more worries.
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2009, 11:00   #1078
BHPian
 
Xehaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 845
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
I have a BB plan from vodafone, I travel once a while and use the similar things what you mentioned. Anywhere within India, as long as you are under the vodafone network (be it city or a village) you get the complete service without any extra charges. Your emails will be delivered even if its a GPRS area. Messengers work best on EDGE, I doubt if it can work on edge and gprs. To safeguard your usage of roaming into other networks, put the network on manual mode for Vodafone only. So, no more worries.
Thats right. I did the same on my trip to Kerala & there were no extra charges to me.
Xehaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2009, 13:15   #1079
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

facebook updated to 1.6.0.21 or something ...
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2009, 11:04   #1080
BHPian
 
SumitBahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 975
Thanked: 218 Times
Default

I have BB Bold.
I am using the BIS plan from Airtel.
Can you guys tell me how to get the maximum battery life from the phone?
On my phone, these applications are running 24X7
2 Email accounts
Yahoo Meesnger
GTalk
BB Messenger
AIM
Windows Live Messenger
Cricinfo App
Facebook App
UberTwitter
Accuweather
Maybe a few more apps.

Also, yesterday I received a message that Application memory is almost full.
When i checked, it shows 850MB free on phone, 3GB free on card and 3 MB available on applications.
Is there a way to fix that.

Thanks

Last edited by SumitBahl : 9th July 2009 at 11:06.
SumitBahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:29.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks