Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th August 2009, 17:03   #1231
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 562
Thanked: 117 Times
Default

I have faced that twice in the last 2 months of BB9000 usage and each time I just press down on the ball and move it upwards, and presto its solved...
mav2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2009, 14:45   #1232
BHPian
 
maverick555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haryana
Posts: 78
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

can anybody tell what is the current price of Curve 8320
and howz the phone overall?
maverick555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2009, 16:50   #1233
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick555 View Post
can anybody tell what is the current price of Curve 8320
and howz the phone overall?
I use 8310, 8320 = 8310+WiFi. In my opinion, 8310 is a good phone, decent battery life and rugged body. May be you should try newer curve 8520?
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2009, 17:08   #1234
BHPian
 
maverick555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haryana
Posts: 78
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

thx any idea wats the current price of 8310 and are there any softwares that dont work with 8310(msngrs etc.)
maverick555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2009, 20:44   #1235
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

I would advice against the 83xx series phones, for just saving a couple of grand you lose out on a much much newer and feature rich os. And new hardware ofcourse. I feel the price point of the 8520 is excellent for anyone looking to buy their first (or new) berry. Although I am yet to check out how good the optical trackpad really is.
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2009, 23:02   #1236
BHPian
 
maverick555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haryana
Posts: 78
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

just checked the dummy of 8520 at Mobile store ,feels so cool new ruberised finish is good.
Well im also impressed with the feature list itsa offering at price tag of 15990
maverick555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2009, 23:31   #1237
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick555 View Post
just checked the dummy of 8520 at Mobile store ,feels so cool new ruberised finish is good.
Well im also impressed with the feature list itsa offering at price tag of 15990
Yes, its a good phone but with Airtel lock. Unlocking is available at a price ($25). You can try and negotiate it for little lesser around 15K.
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2009, 03:05   #1238
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,350
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

Wow... 8310/8320 for 10K is a good deal. I got mine hardly 2 months back for 15k and that too after shopping around for quite sometime. Prices keep dropping on the 83XX models.

8310/8320 are good fones. Battery life is good and its very rugged. Simple to use and configure. Supports almost all the iM's.

if you have too many applications open you will run out of space at times. 8310 with the GPS on at all times will eat the battery.

Biggest grudge is they don't support Flash!
csentil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2009, 11:31   #1239
BHPian
 
jgsolo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pondicherry
Posts: 61
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funda2max View Post
I use 8310, 8320 = 8310+WiFi. In my opinion, 8310 is a good phone, decent battery life and rugged body. May be you should try newer curve 8520?
No, 8320 = 8310+WiFi-GPS!!
jgsolo27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2009, 17:29   #1240
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgsolo27 View Post
No, 8320 = 8310+WiFi-GPS!!
Yes, My bad! Thanks for that.
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 15:37   #1241
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
No it is not. Believe me I can confirm that it is not.

After using BB services for 3 years (unlimited plan), I got an iPhone. I removed my SIM card and inserted it in the iPhone and nothing worked. Put the same SIM back in my BB and I could surf and chat and receive mails.

I tried calling and explaining to the airtel guys who insisted that my GPRS was on and everything should work. Finally I realised that nobody understands what is going on.
I called 121 and requested that my MO be switched on. I was informed of a fixed monthly charge plus x amount per MB etc.
The next day everything worked on the iPhone. I then called 7070 and requested to disconnect my BB services. They did not do it and I got charged for both BB and MO. later they disconnected my BB services.

After I lost my iPhone I went through the same rigmarole in reverse. Please do not confuse MO with BB. Using a connection with BB, you can surf the internet, only using BB handsets. Use the same SIM with a BB connection in a regular GPRS handset and you canot surf, send or recieve emails. For that you need MO.
With MO you can send recieve data, surf the internet and use the phone as a modem.
OK, so BB services will not work on other phones and MO will be needed.

But will MO work on a BlackBerry phone, without BB services?

The scene is, I have a AirTel MO connection, which I use on a PalmTreo 750. Now I am gonna buy a BB storm but do not want to avail BB services (push mail is not really needed, POP works fine for me). So will my AirTel SIM with MO enabled, let me surf the net and configure POP mail on BB?

Please reply urgently, I want to buy this phone asap.

Cheers

Nitin
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 15:47   #1242
BHPian
 
discobiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: hydravad
Posts: 83
Thanked: 115 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntomer View Post
So will my AirTel SIM with MO enabled, let me surf the net and configure POP mail on BB?
By default, no.

Unless there is someway around it which i highly doubt.
discobiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 15:47   #1243
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

Hey Nitin, it can be done. BB can work fine on MO if you dont want to use push email. Get it home and we will help you get it configured.
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 16:12   #1244
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Hmmm... two conflicting answers!!!

>> discobiscuit

Have you ever tried and telling from experience or is it just a guess.

>> quickdraw

If BB can be configured to work on MO, is it a straight-forward configuration. Like my last four phones - Noika E61, N73, E71 and Palm Treo 750, downloaded the MO settings themselved and net and mails worked without any explicit configuration, will I need to do something else for a BB storm?

The reason I want to stick with MO is - I pay ony 99 per month for unlimited data download, BB will turn out to be about 8 times more expensive, not really worth it.

Thanks

Nitin
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 18:15   #1245
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

Yes they will work, but you have to understand most of the legacy applications (the inbuilt email client, bb messenger, bb maps etc) wont work on the MO connection. But you can install the GMail App to pull emails and also other apps to configure your other accounts. The Messenger apps also do work but some might not. I am not really sure (some of the legacy messenger apps) but there are all in one apps like IM+ etc that work with all the clients so that can replace having GTalk, Yahoo etc running simultaneously. The configuration is pretty straight forward. You will need the APN (Access Point Name) Port setting (if any) and Username/Password (If any).

Like I said ill be glad to help you out with it, let me know what all you intend to run. Also take a look at some of the previous pages of the thread there are a lot of useful applications and utilities listed there. Also many people had the same problem as yours and that has been discussed earlier as well. I can see you luckly have a old gprs plan which is very very cheap. You're lucky and should not change the plan because now-a-days most of the plans are quite expensive. Also any specific reason that you're going in for the storm? You should consider the new 8520, its priced very very well and I feel is much better for business use. Storm is more of a multimedia oriented BB and the Storm 2 is due soon, so you will have resell loss because of buying a product at the end of its life cycle.

Regards.

Last edited by quickdraw : 20th August 2009 at 18:17.
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks