Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st September 2009, 15:39   #1306
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
I upgraded to the stable 5.0 today and am totally loving it! Threaded SMS, lovely icons, new interface and so much more. Have to play around with it to see how it works out for me will keep you guys posted on this one.
Which OS version do you have?
Mine is running on 4.6.1.133 and not able to install BBM 5.0
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 16:00   #1307
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,515
Thanked: 7,189 Times
Default

Guys, it would help if someone can point me to a place where i can download the stable version of 5.0 for my Bold
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 17:08   #1308
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

guys stable version of 5.0 allows facebook and twitter ?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 18:14   #1309
BHPian
 
ritayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Back in Delhi
Posts: 226
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Guys I am on Airtel BB 299 plan. apart from mail and messenger what else can I get. Can I get facebook?
ritayan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 18:22   #1310
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,575
Thanked: 269 Times
Default

Facebook is not working on my Vodafone 299 plan, so I think Airtel might have the same limitations too !
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 00:38   #1311
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

here is the download for blackberry messenger 5
BlackBerry Messenger 5.0 Desktop & OTA Download Links | PocketBerry
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 01:34   #1312
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
guys stable version of 5.0 allows facebook and twitter ?
Facebook is at the verge of launch and it looks so so much slicker!

FaceBook 1.7 Coming Soon, Bringing OS 5.0 Compatability With It? | CrackBerry.com

And twitterberry on my 8900 with 5.0 works like a absolute charm! What twitter client are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritayan View Post
Guys I am on Airtel BB 299 plan. apart from mail and messenger what else can I get. Can I get facebook?
Actually sadly no, and most of the OEM Apps will not work over WiFi. Thats a limitation with BB, but you can always push your provider with hate mail and ask them to launch a Rs 500 unlimited plan!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Guys, it would help if someone can point me to a place where i can download the stable version of 5.0 for my Bold
Here you go! Dont forget to delete the Vendor.xml file

MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkydude View Post
My friend wants to purchase BB Curve. He has some query on BB:

1. Are these BB's SIM locked?
2. Can he use his existing Vodafone prepaid connection?
3. If unlocked by after market, will he void the warranty on the BB?
4. How much the BB curve cost?
5. Would you suggest the after market one's?
6. Do we have any dedicated BB outlet?
7. Who warrants the BB's?
1. Depends (you get both locked and unlocked units)
2. Yes, absolutely!
3. Depends again, check some of my earlier posts on the subject.
4. Which curve the 83xx or the 8900?
5. I did not quite understand the question.
6. Yes! Its sold officially at all chroma and major mobile phone stores.
7. If bought from AirTel, Vodafone its them, if bought unlocked Redington India (on behalf of RIM) if bought by grey market usually its the dealer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by discobiscuit View Post
Most of the time when I use my browser on my blackberry, it pops up a message saying "The XML is not well-formed"

7070 (Airtel BB customer care) has no idea what this even means. Trying to see if anyone else had this problem and how they have rectified it.

This is the error screen that pops up

edit - Using OS v4.6.0.282 (Platform 4.0.0.235)
Did you try turning Javascript off?
Try unchecking (enable embedded media) in the browser > options > browser config and also ensure the identification is set to Blackberry

Also clear your browser cache. Even though alternatives exist, it should work fine. Let me know if this helps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
I always go through the tougher road when it comes to such things be it a phone, body building supplement, a new car, always the bitter path ! Now I am getting used to it. I hope I am not paying 274 Rs. for something thats available for 100 Rs. locally !
Sad truth of life, but if we dont fall down how will we know how to get up? Just make sure you PIN me the next time you're buying any BB stuff and you'll be fine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugen_Power View Post
Which OS version do you have?
Mine is running on 4.6.1.133 and not able to install BBM 5.0
Why installing just the messenger bro, go in for the whole OS upgrade. Its official leaked one and its stable I've been using it.

Here's the download link : MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 09:34   #1313
JVH
Senior - BHPian
 
JVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,021
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

quickdraw,

Have you had a dekho at 8520? The reason I'm asking is you have an 8900 curve (Javelin right?) and I'm planning to upgrade to either 8520 or 8900. Is it worth spending extra 5k odd on 8900?
JVH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 09:49   #1314
BHPian
 
discobiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: hydravad
Posts: 83
Thanked: 115 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
Did you try turning Javascript off?
Try unchecking (enable embedded media) in the browser > options > browser config and also ensure the identification is set to Blackberry

Also clear your browser cache. Even though alternatives exist, it should work fine. Let me know if this helps.
Thanks for the suggestion, but this doesn't seem to be working. The browser keeps going back to Airtel Live no matter how many times I change it to Internet Explorer.

I am talking about the first option in Browser Config and not the Browser Identification.
discobiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 12:03   #1315
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post



Why installing just the messenger bro, go in for the whole OS upgrade. Its official leaked one and its stable I've been using it.

Here's the download link : MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
downloaded and installed 5 on my comp. wanted to check one thing. will the applications i have now work with it? google maps, facebook and windows live messenger?
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 15:40   #1316
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,427
Thanked: 677 Times
Default

Guys,

One quick question.. I have to get myself a BB. I am confused weather to get 8310 [approx. 12.5k] or 8520. I am a vodafone customer and was told that 8520 is available only on AIRTEL. Is there any possible way to unlock it, cuz i really liked the phone compared to 8310/8320, both look same and outdated.

Also if unlocked will it void warranty?

Please advise. One more thing my budget is max 16k, so thinking of other BB's in league is out of question for me. Nokia recently got the push email service and which works pretty decently. So if not BB then E63 is the phone for me i guess.
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 15:42   #1317
BHPian
 
discobiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: hydravad
Posts: 83
Thanked: 115 Times
Default

thanks for the link quickdraw.

now, gtalk isnt working anymore. so i am assuming none of the apps are built for the 5.0
if yes, which ones are readily compatible?
discobiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 20:04   #1318
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVH View Post
quickdraw,

Have you had a dekho at 8520? The reason I'm asking is you have an 8900 curve (Javelin right?) and I'm planning to upgrade to either 8520 or 8900. Is it worth spending extra 5k odd on 8900?
I did play around with it at chroma, I have to say I really liked it over my 8900. I initially thought that I wouldnt feel so much at home on the optical trackpad thing. But I was actually quite at home on it. And the biggest added bonus is that it will never fade or need to be changed. Even though the 8900 uses the Black trackball thats supposed to be design to resist such issues. I feel that at times it does clog up a bit. And then again its a personal thing a friend of mine said the tactility with the trackball is better. But given a choice I would want to shift to a trackpad anyday. The reason that I didnt buy it yet is because it doesnt have GPS and I am a big time GPS nut, and moreso my 8900 will heavily depereciate if I sell it now. I just made myself happy by buying some stuff for the curve and satisfying my gadget cravings. Honestly if you dont need the GPS (Google maps works great with A-GPS) I think you should definately go in for the 8520 its a fantastic product at a amazing price point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by discobiscuit View Post
Thanks for the suggestion, but this doesn't seem to be working. The browser keeps going back to Airtel Live no matter how many times I change it to Internet Explorer.

I am talking about the first option in Browser Config and not the Browser Identification.
Can you post a link to that page here? I would love to try it out and see myself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
downloaded and installed 5 on my comp. wanted to check one thing. will the applications i have now work with it? google maps, facebook and windows live messenger?
Like I mentioned before most of the Apps work fine, the only thing is 1.7 facebook isnt out yet. But will be out very very soon. All the other apps that you might use (like messengers, Google Maps) work fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
Guys,

One quick question.. I have to get myself a BB. I am confused weather to get 8310 [approx. 12.5k] or 8520. I am a vodafone customer and was told that 8520 is available only on AIRTEL. Is there any possible way to unlock it, cuz i really liked the phone compared to 8310/8320, both look same and outdated.

Also if unlocked will it void warranty?

Please advise. One more thing my budget is max 16k, so thinking of other BB's in league is out of question for me. Nokia recently got the push email service and which works pretty decently. So if not BB then E63 is the phone for me i guess.
Get the 8520 it can be unlocked easily. Its simply far superior to the 83xx series Curve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by discobiscuit View Post
thanks for the link quickdraw.

now, gtalk isnt working anymore. so i am assuming none of the apps are built for the 5.0
if yes, which ones are readily compatible?
Reinstall GTalk, it should work fine. Most of the Apps except Facebook are already in place. Its just a matter of a couple of days. Its gonna be out soon!
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 21:15   #1319
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post




Like I mentioned before most of the Apps work fine, the only thing is 1.7 facebook isnt out yet. But will be out very very soon. All the other apps that you might use (like messengers, Google Maps) work fine.

i read somewhere that bbm 5 dosent work on os5 thats why i asked this question.
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 21:21   #1320
BHPian
 
ritayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Back in Delhi
Posts: 226
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

can someone help me with google map jar file, i don't have a data plan
ritayan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks