Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd September 2009, 23:32   #1321
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,085 Times
Default

hi can someone help me out quickly. i want to upgrade my phone to os 5. now will i lose all my applications and have to reinstall them? i have backed up my phone memory. is there anything else i need to back up?
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 09:11   #1322
JVH
Senior - BHPian
 
JVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,021
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
I did play around with it at chroma, I have to say I really liked it over my 8900.

------

Honestly if you dont need the GPS (Google maps works great with A-GPS) I think you should definately go in for the 8520 its a fantastic product at a amazing price point!

Thanks!
I do need the GPS. So, 8900 it is for me.
JVH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:31   #1323
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
i read somewhere that bbm 5 dosent work on os5 thats why i asked this question.
BBM5 comes preinstalled with 5.0!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritayan View Post
can someone help me with google map jar file, i don't have a data plan
160+ BlackBerry Application list with OTA download links | TechNama

Use wifi browser to download the apps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
hi can someone help me out quickly. i want to upgrade my phone to os 5. now will i lose all my applications and have to reinstall them? i have backed up my phone memory. is there anything else i need to back up?
No you will not lose all your applications, data, calander or anything. But you should back them up anyways to be safe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JVH View Post
Thanks!
I do need the GPS. So, 8900 it is for me.
Good choice, post pictures when you get it. Infact why dont all the new BB users post some pics of their BB's?
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:35   #1324
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,085 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
BBM5 comes preinstalled with 5.0!!!

nope. i think it comes with 4.7
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:39   #1325
BHPian
 
discobiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: hydravad
Posts: 83
Thanked: 115 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
nope. i think it comes with 4.7
its comes preinstalled with OS v5

My bluetooth is kinda messed up on 5.0. Any idea why thisis happening or a possible solution?

Says "Reconnection is progress. Please try later" - when i try to plan to search for devices

Last edited by discobiscuit : 3rd September 2009 at 12:42.
discobiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:45   #1326
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,085 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by discobiscuit View Post
its comes preinstalled with OS v5

My bluetooth is kinda messed up on 5.0. Any idea why thisis happening or a possible solution?

Says "Reconnection is progress. Please try later" - when i try to plan to search for devices
ok great. how is 5 running on your bold? i think i will upgrade today then. did u use the link which quickdraw posted?
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:55   #1327
BHPian
 
discobiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: hydravad
Posts: 83
Thanked: 115 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
ok great. how is 5 running on your bold? i think i will upgrade today then. did u use the link which quickdraw posted?
yes.

its running great. no issues what so ever with the upgrade part, and restoring part. it is also very stable and dont have to worry about crashes or it hanging, etc.

the issues that i am facing are -
1. Dont have apps yet. I guess they have to upgrade their apps soon for them to work with 5.0. This includes gtalk, facebook, maps and flickr (the only apps i use).

2. Issues with finding people when searching with bluetooth. (See above post)

that's all i went through so far. it has been only a day since i downloaded it
discobiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:57   #1328
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,085 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by discobiscuit View Post

the issues that i am facing are -
1. Dont have apps yet. I guess they have to upgrade their apps soon for them to work with 5.0. This includes gtalk, facebook, maps and flickr (the only apps i use).
which maps? google maps? i also use apps like viigo.. hopefully that one will work.

surprisingly when i had bricked my phone and restored it i lost texas holdem. will i get it back?
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:01   #1329
BHPian
 
discobiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: hydravad
Posts: 83
Thanked: 115 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
which maps? google maps? i also use apps like viigo.. hopefully that one will work.

surprisingly when i had bricked my phone and restored it i lost texas holdem. will i get it back?
yes, and yes

no clue about viigo, never used it
discobiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:46   #1330
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,085 Times
Default

ok update people - the os5 link from quickdraw is .190 and i think there is a newer version .191 available. also the bbm on it is NOT 5 and is 4.7. bbm 5 is NOT compatible with os 5 as of now.
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 16:58   #1331
BHPian
 
discobiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: hydravad
Posts: 83
Thanked: 115 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
ok update people - the os5 link from quickdraw is .190 and i think there is a newer version .191 available. also the bbm on it is NOT 5 and is 4.7. bbm 5 is NOT compatible with os 5 as of now.


any link for the .191?
discobiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 22:47   #1332
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
nope. i think it comes with 4.7
Yes, its actually 4.7 I just checked. Sorry my bad!

Quote:
Originally Posted by discobiscuit View Post
its comes preinstalled with OS v5

My bluetooth is kinda messed up on 5.0. Any idea why thisis happening or a possible solution?

Says "Reconnection is progress. Please try later" - when i try to plan to search for devices
Its still kind of beta, so you can expect this. Bluetooth works fine with my 8900 though. Try deleting the device and re-pair it. Whats that you're trying to do actually? Is it a headset?

Quote:
Originally Posted by discobiscuit View Post
yes.

its running great. no issues what so ever with the upgrade part, and restoring part. it is also very stable and dont have to worry about crashes or it hanging, etc.

the issues that i am facing are -
1. Dont have apps yet. I guess they have to upgrade their apps soon for them to work with 5.0. This includes gtalk, facebook, maps and flickr (the only apps i use).

2. Issues with finding people when searching with bluetooth. (See above post)

that's all i went through so far. it has been only a day since i downloaded it
What? I have GTalk and everything else on mine (not facebook) try going to the blackberry homepage in Browser, and download the apps from there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
which maps? google maps? i also use apps like viigo.. hopefully that one will work.

surprisingly when i had bricked my phone and restored it i lost texas holdem. will i get it back?
Viigo crashed on mine, I am yet to re download it and try it out again, will keep you posted. Viigo guys are the usually quickest to release new versions so I am sure the 5.0 compatible one is out there already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
ok update people - the os5 link from quickdraw is .190 and i think there is a newer version .191 available. also the bbm on it is NOT 5 and is 4.7. bbm 5 is NOT compatible with os 5 as of now.
Oh sorry my bad. I didnt check, actually this is the first time I could actually upgrade the OS because of presence of windows machines around me. I actually remembered the leaked screenshots of sometime back so I assumed it was all fine and dandy, what the change-log between 4.7 and 5.0 BBM anyway? 190 is working fine for me so far, I am quite sure you will be bumping yours to 191 do provide feedback and link please. This time you are the bali ka bakra

Quote:
Originally Posted by discobiscuit View Post


any link for the .191?
Ditto! We are on a roll here guys!
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 23:43   #1333
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,085 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post


Oh sorry my bad. I didnt check, actually this is the first time I could actually upgrade the OS because of presence of windows machines around me. I actually remembered the leaked screenshots of sometime back so I assumed it was all fine and dandy, what the change-log between 4.7 and 5.0 BBM anyway? 190 is working fine for me so far, I am quite sure you will be bumping yours to 191 do provide feedback and link please. This time you are the bali ka bakra



Ditto! We are on a roll here guys!
bbm5 has a few differences. does 4.7 have the barcode? i love the emoticons in bbm5, lol.

im waiting till bbm5 comes out for os 5 then i am upgrading.
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2009, 02:46   #1334
BHPian
 
quickdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 979
Thanked: 1,202 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
bbm5 has a few differences. does 4.7 have the barcode? i love the emoticons in bbm5, lol.

im waiting till bbm5 comes out for os 5 then i am upgrading.
So its just the Bar Code and the icons eh? Well I can live without that for a couple of days. Missing my facebook app though.
quickdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2009, 11:11   #1335
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,139
Thanked: 1,898 Times
Default

How exactly does the barcode work? Can I download bbm5 OTA?
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of Bappa, Blackberry, Beach and a Beige beauty - My trip to Ganapatipule JoshMachine Travelogues 4 16th July 2013 14:21
Blackberry Pearl 8100 Sahil Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 10th September 2009 20:14
blackberry's for banglore cops whatcanthisbe Shifting gears 11 30th May 2007 22:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks