Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th March 2011, 17:45   #1
BHPian
 
akhilesh51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jaipur, RAJ
Posts: 626
Thanked: 318 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default Need help with HD DVR installation

Hi,

I have purchased a recently launched HD DVR set-top box of Videocon and scheduled an installation for same. To my horror, when the installation guys came around, they said that the unit can not be installed in my room because I have only 1 satellite connection coaxial cable whereas HD DVR sets require two coaxial cable from SAT.

Now, I have just recently renovated my room and am in no mood to break down walls for second coaxial cable nor am i interested in having a visible cable running the breadth of my room.

So, got on to the net and came across two viewpoints:

1) You actually don't really need second input per say. It is advantageous but not necessary.

2) There are these devices called diplexer (??) which can essentially convert 1 coaxial to 2 coaxial similar having separate L & H polarity.

I had also heard and seen splitters used by local cable-wallahs but apparently these don't work with DTH sets.

Also As a last resort, I am even ready to forgo DVR capabilities on the STB (till a later stage when I could maybe renovate room again) so will a single cable atleast give me single HD feed ?

I urge all the electric / electronic engineers and tech-heads to advise me. Also, ayone having a similar setup from Videocon or Reliance and facing (or have faced) similar problem could please chip in...

... This is kinda urgent since DTH people say that I need to sort this problem before tomorrow evening or they will have cancel my installation leaving me with a 6500/- worth of junk STB.
akhilesh51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2011, 18:43   #2
BHPian
 
drvhplyevraftr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 306
Thanked: 16 Times
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

DVR STBs take 2 input cables and the reason is while you can watch the feed from
one cable, the feed from the second one can be used to record or you could record
2 feeds at the same time while either watching one of the channels that is actually
being recorded or when you are not watching any feed.

That said you can go with only one cable which would mean you can either record
only the channel that you are seeing or you can record something when you are not
actually watching anything.

The diplexer all that would help in this case because you are eventually splitting
only one input feed that comes from your dish. So it would be similar to what I had
said above. i.e. record only what you are watching.
drvhplyevraftr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2011, 19:07   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: bombay
Posts: 63
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

Had a similar problem with my tata sky + box. The chap juts used a splitter box that made one cable input into 2 outputs. And problem solved. cost 100/-
There is no visual difference in quality though the STB shows signal quality down from the mid 80 to around 50.
Hope this helps.
clix22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2011, 20:49   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by akhilesh51 View Post
Now, I have just recently renovated my room and am in no mood to break down walls for second coaxial cable nor am i interested in having a visible cable running the breadth of my room.
Another option is to thread one more coax cable. Electrician can tie a metal wire to end of coax cable and pull it to the point where is leaves wall. Then attach one more cable and pull it back into wall.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2011, 23:00   #5
BHPian
 
HotChillyPepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bang_a_lore
Posts: 605
Thanked: 215 Times
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by akhilesh51 View Post
Hi,

I have purchased a recently launched HD DVR set-top box of Videocon and scheduled an installation for same. To my horror, when the installation guys came around, they said that the unit can not be installed in my room because I have only 1 satellite connection coaxial cable whereas HD DVR sets require two coaxial cable from SAT.

Now, I have just recently renovated my room and am in no mood to break down walls for second coaxial cable nor am i interested in having a visible cable running the breadth of my room.

So, got on to the net and came across two viewpoints:

1) You actually don't really need second input per say. It is advantageous but not necessary.

2) There are these devices called diplexer (??) which can essentially convert 1 coaxial to 2 coaxial similar having separate L & H polarity.

I had also heard and seen splitters used by local cable-wallahs but apparently these don't work with DTH sets.

Also As a last resort, I am even ready to forgo DVR capabilities on the STB (till a later stage when I could maybe renovate room again) so will a single cable atleast give me single HD feed ?

I urge all the electric / electronic engineers and tech-heads to advise me. Also, ayone having a similar setup from Videocon or Reliance and facing (or have faced) similar problem could please chip in...

... This is kinda urgent since DTH people say that I need to sort this problem before tomorrow evening or they will have cancel my installation leaving me with a 6500/- worth of junk STB.
All you need is a RF splitter. Using a splitter will not prevent you from watching a channel and recording another one at the same time. Splitter will not do anything with the frequency spectrum, it will just split the connection into 2. So if the DVR is having dual tuners built in and your service provider enable it in service menu you would be able watch one channel and record another one.
The downside of using splitter is the signal strength will be reduced. But a digital set-top box is tolerant to such issues. As far as the digital tuner inside able to read a 1 as 1, there will be absolutely no quality loss. But you may have problem during rainy season, during that time just remove the splitter and connect it directly to the STB side.

Also I am curious to know how videocon installation guys want to set it up. Are they going to install a second separate dish and LNB for your DVR side tuner? Or at-least a 2 LNB retrofit on same dish? If not, irrespective of whatever they do it is practically the same thing as using a splitter inside your room. May be they put the same splitter near to the LNB (From where the coaxial originating from at dish side). They will ultimately split up the current (uA) from LNB. Please refer to the picture of splitter I am using with my TataSky HD DVR. (In tata sky I do have a provision to watch one and record another one)

By the way any reason for opting Videocon DVR instead of TataSky+ which is costing only 4K? The DVR sold by Tatasky is comparitively better, actually manufactured by Pace (A Philips company) . It can record 620 hours of HD program.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by HotChillyPepper : 4th March 2011 at 23:08.
HotChillyPepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2011, 09:33   #6
BHPian
 
akhilesh51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jaipur, RAJ
Posts: 626
Thanked: 318 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by clix22 View Post
Had a similar problem with my tata sky + box. The chap juts used a splitter box that made one cable input into 2 outputs. And problem solved. cost 100/-
There is no visual difference in quality though the STB shows signal quality down from the mid 80 to around 50.
Hope this helps.
So technically a common splitter will work albeit with minor (?) loss in signal quality. I think it is way better than having nothing at all. Are there any qualities in splitters or good names in this business ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Another option is to thread one more coax cable. Electrician can tie a metal wire to end of coax cable and pull it to the point where is leaves wall. Then attach one more cable and pull it back into wall.
We hadthat as initial thought but stupid electrician at our home stuffed coax cable with electrical cable in the same conduit pipe and now there is no more space for another cable. Moreover, he stuffed it so bad that the coax cable doesn't even move now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HotChillyPepper View Post
Also I am curious to know how videocon installation guys want to set it up. Are they going to install a second separate dish and LNB for your DVR side tuner? Or at-least a 2 LNB retrofit on same dish?
You know the typical words, "Saar, We need two lines from dish. No, Saar, you can not split saar. It is DTH not normal cable."

Anyways, what they do is take two separate connections from LNB (Most LNBs have 4 slots) all the way to STB which has two inputs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HotChillyPepper View Post
By the way any reason for opting Videocon DVR instead of TataSky+ which is costing only 4K? The DVR sold by Tatasky is comparitively better, actually manufactured by Pace (A Philips company) . It can record 620 hours of HD program.
I currently have Tata Sky HD installed in my room and have had SD STB for over 4 years but progressively Tata Sky service has gone from good to bad and now terrible. Further, I am pretty sure that Tata Sky DVR is not HD or that is what is mentioned on their website.

Further, my major gripe with Tata Sky is lack of channels like Ten Action+ and Movies Now HD. I only watch football on sports channels (with occassional cricket when India plays) and Ten Action+ is dedicated football channel featuring champions league matches, etc. Overall, Tata Sky provides least channels.

As far as cost is concerned, As I said Tata Sky DVR is SD not HD hence cheaper. Further, Tata Sky monthly subscription way too expensive especially if you have multiroom.

Also, added benefit is the fact that Videocon warehouse and service centre is leased by us to them so atleast that would ensure prompt service. Imagine, I got STB box and installation team arriving in 30 mins from our call to the person managing service centre.
akhilesh51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2011, 21:04   #7
BHPian
 
sids911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 385
Thanked: 39 Times
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by akhilesh51 View Post
As far as cost is concerned, As I said Tata Sky DVR is SD not HD hence cheaper. Further, Tata Sky monthly subscription way too expensive especially if you have multiroom.
I am using Tata Sky + HD, which is a DVR with HD capability.
sids911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2011, 21:42   #8
BHPian
 
HotChillyPepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bang_a_lore
Posts: 605
Thanked: 215 Times
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by akhilesh51 View Post
Further, I am pretty sure that Tata Sky DVR is not HD or that is what is mentioned on their website.
Tatasky started selling HD DVR. I recoded last India match in HD for 30 mins (of course the last 30 )

Here is the link: DVR, TV Recorder - Tata Sky+ HD
HotChillyPepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2011, 22:45   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
wildon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,412
Thanked: 1,033 Times
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

The device is known as Power Divider / LNB Power divider. Its passes the frequency range from 5-2400 Mhz.

Don't use the normal splitter which only passes the frequency of 5-860Mhz.

Also you have to notice following things.

A power divider passes voltage/power supply to the LNB from the receiver. So if you don't want the second port to be powered opt only for the single pass power divider.
wildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2011, 10:21   #10
BHPian
 
akhilesh51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jaipur, RAJ
Posts: 626
Thanked: 318 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default Re: HD DVR installation trouble??? URGENT HELP REQUIRED !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sids911 View Post
I am using Tata Sky + HD, which is a DVR with HD capability.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotChillyPepper View Post
Tatasky started selling HD DVR. I recoded last India match in HD for 30 mins (of course the last 30)

Here is the link: DVR, TV Recorder - Tata Sky+ HD
Ahhh, my bad. They actually do have HD DVR. Sorry! but still Tata Sky Channel bouquet is meagre or so I think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildon View Post
The device is known as Power Divider / LNB Power divider. Its passes the frequency range from 5-2400 Mhz.

Don't use the normal splitter which only passes the frequency of 5-860Mhz.

Also you have to notice following things.

A power divider passes voltage/power supply to the LNB from the receiver. So if you don't want the second port to be powered opt only for the single pass power divider.
Are there any specific brands that do these products and where can I find them??? I was actually thinking of a Belkin PureAV Video Splitter or contemplating ordering a Monster Cable Splitter cum Booster from US. Do these things make sense???

In the mean time, I have asked local cable-wallah to get me a tata sky splitter as shown by HotChillyPepper.

Last edited by akhilesh51 : 6th March 2011 at 10:23.
akhilesh51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread SS-Traveller In-Car Entertainment 1688 21st August 2017 16:08
Transcend DrivePro 200 Review - Dash Cam / DVR SirAlec In-Car Entertainment 165 10th May 2017 19:40
Car DVR: Upgrading the Lipo battery to a higher capacity? rkg In-Car Entertainment 8 11th March 2015 17:11
The DVR thread (Digital Video Recorder) rrangan Gadgets, Computers & Software 23 4th March 2015 12:03


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks