Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > What Car? > Hatchbacks

Closed Thread

Old 14th September 2006, 17:45   #1

Question

Hello everyone. I have been researching for my first car for the past 6 months now, and I feel I have done enough of it and want to proceed with the buying part. My initial list had 6 cars, which was finalized to finally 2 - Wagon R VXi and Indica TD DLX.

However, I am still confused between the two. Following are the points that I am considering for shortlisting my car -
1) I will travel around 1600 kms a month, including one outstation trip of approx 350 kms.
2) For me, fuel efficieny is important as I had started earning only last year and dont want to spend a large part of my salary on fuel. I have other financial priorities also.
3) I'm 6'1'', and single. Hence, except for 1 month in which my parents will visit Delhi, I will be driving Solo.
4) Since I might start visiting places around Delhi with a few friends, I need a car safe enough for the highway in terms of stability and sturdiness.
5) I will probably change the car after 4 years.

Now many people will argue that I might not need a diesel for 1600 kms a month, but like I said, i dont want to spend much on fuel. The price difference in ex-showroom prices of the models mentioned is Rs. 35,000 which can easily be recovered in 18 months as per my running in case of Indica TD.

I had also considered Palio 1.2 ELX, Swift Vxi, Getz GLS also, but they all lost because of the fuel efficiency point. Many people say that my needs are more fulfilled by Indica TD, but unforunately things that still create doubts are Taxi image in Delhi and Long time reliability. On the other hand, the fear of having an unfortunate event(God forbid) in a Wagon R on the highway scares me and stops me from going ahead with it. Hence the confusion.

I would be really appreciative if you guys can help me out. Thanks.
Old 14th September 2006, 18:54   #2
BHPian