Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > What Car? > Hatchbacks

Old 9th October 2007, 22:05   #1
BHPian

Default Should i go for this Palio?

Its Palio 1.2 - 2002 model - 27K kms done - 2.75 lac quoted and negotiated to 2.2 lac.

I am new to driving. So test driving was done by my friend.
He absorbed below issues.

1. Topends for the first 3 gears were tested. He says, the car is atleast 10 to 15 km/h speed lesser than what it is supposed to do..the limiter comes to pic soon. By just sitting in the car, i myself can feel the car gasping while reaching the max speed for that gear..looks strange.
I mean, whatever topend it attains, it should stay calm..not like gasping or jerking.

2. There is a wild jerk in the car while releasing clutch during every gear change.

we also took the car to Greentracks blr and got it tested. Their further feedback below:
1. Tappet noise is there.
2. Engine oil leak is there. May be the oil seal to be changed.
3. Battery is not getting charged properly..wiring to be tested.

My friend owns a palio and he says i can go ahead and buy this car.
But i would like to have expert views here before deciding.

Last but not least,...this car is of Gold colour..the last colour i would choose for a car..
We have checked few other Palios..but not satisfied..would like to check few more options..but doing test drive and reaching the garage for checkup in this blr traffic looks like himalayan task.

plz give your suggestion guys..whether i should go ahead and buy this or wait to check other options.
Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2007, 00:07   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

http://www.carwale.com/mycarwale/car...spx?id=1054378

Felt like the asking price was high! And carwale prices confirm that.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2007, 00:26   #3
Distinguished - BHPian

2.2 looks more like a dealer price, not a private party sale price.