Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > What Car? > Hatchbacks

Old 10th May 2010, 23:05   #1
BHPian

Default 1000 km/month, 5-6.5 Lakhs, Please advice. EDIT: Bought Fabia!

This is my first car. Have been visiting this forum for the last several months regularly. Polo and Figo pushed my decision by a few months. Micra or Etios do not inspire me to wait further, so have decided to take the plunge. Please advice.

Small family, with a one year old and parents, and a rare fifth passenger possibly. Will be primarily used for office commute, roughly 1000 km/month, highway, hilly region. Planning to have it for atleast 10 years. Speed is not a issue, I am a sedate driver. Not sure if I should go for a Diesel. I have circled on the Punto-Multijet-Emotion, or the Figo-TDCi, if it were to be.

Punto-MJT:
+ves
: Pure S. E. X on the street. Excellent build, ride quality, adequate space, good engine, good mileage, can stretch my budget a bit for the Emotion-worth it. Reasonable discounts (850 pieces sold in April), not much of a waiting period.
-ves: Poor plastic quality - the glove box was broken in the TD vehicle, infamous A. S. S (have things improved with Fiat First?), no Bluetooth,USB in ICE.

FIGO-TDCi:
+ves
: Good build, ride quality, space, VFM, within my budget, good mileage.
-ves: Practically no bumper, no power windows in rear (wifey says a strict no!), no adjustable rear head rest, absolutely no discounts.

I am a strict no for the Maruti/Suzuki badge simply over the rattling issues, in virtually every model in their line up. If wishes are granted in a buffet, would have preferred the K12M on a Punto, with Polo interiors. That being ruled out, my only other choice on petrol is the i20 kappa. Or should I go for the Polo?.

i20-kappa:
+ves:
Excellent interiors, spacious, stylish, good A. S. S., good feature list, decent mileage.
-ves: not so good ride quality, bit over priced (do they have any discounts?), wannabe badge.

VW-Polo-Petrol:
+ves: