| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Indian Car Dealerships Reviews of Indian Car dealerships and Indian Service Stations. What are your favorite dealerships and service stations? Who have you had bad dealings with? |
![]() |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Newbie Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Bangalore
| Very interesting thread: It could be one of the following: i) Huge demand for Swift diesel: Maybe the huge demand after all - Swift diesel is a beast of a vehicle with 16 kpl city mileage and 22 in highway - Every Swift Petrol owner I have spoken to would want to exchange his Petrol for a diesel.....So most probably it is the demand ii) Problems with the diesel engine If it is so, how come current diesel owners are so happy....Autocar expert says the engine will not give any problems till 2 lakh km........ What is this 'endurance' problem? Maybe the old thumbrule holds after all: "Wait atleast a year before a new vehicle is launched before buying it" Is the Swift diesel engine produced in Haryana going to be exported to European markets? If yes, then I doubt any engine problems.....Suzuki would see to it that nothing of this sort happened |
| | |
| | #17 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
Is this specific to the dealer in Mumbai? Coz my colleague booked one here in Bangalore and I was with him. They have clearly said that it will take 4 months. Might come in earlier, but 4 months is what they quote to be on the safer side. No bookings for the ABS model. Production not yet started is what they claim. If 2 to 4 months is the norm for the Swift Diesel, I wonder how they are giving it in a week's time.
__________________ Everyone is born right-handed, only the gifted overcome it. This is my car and I have my wife's permission to say so. | |
| | |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: thiruvananthapuram
| There was a thread about some engine related complaint in swift diesel, i had posted some comments . http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...when-idle.html |
| | |
| | #20 (permalink) |
| Team-BHP Moderator ![]() | I think the problem is production lines, not a problem with engine. Maruti cannot produce enough of the diesel. As for the engine problem theory I do not buy it because its not a new engine. Its a tried and tested unit and has been internationally called one of the best common rail engines around.
__________________ .--- ..- ... - - .-- --- -- --- .-. . -.. .- -.-- ... - --- --. --- !! |
| | |
| | #21 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
i ve booked the ABS version (Vdi) and there was no issue in people taking a booking for me.
__________________ blog.chowchowbath.com the Bengaluru blog | |
| | |
| | #22 (permalink) |
| Newbie Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Bangalore
| GreekSrik, In an earlier post, you mentioned that: i) You are 27th on the list ii) Maruti has allotted 15 CRDI vehicles per dealer per month In such a scenario, you must get your vehicle in 2 months.... else it is obvious that Maruti has slowed production...Why would they do it? |
| | |
| | #23 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: May 2006 Location: Bangalore
Infractions: 0/1 (4) | Sreeky, I might have missed this but whats made you go for diesel. Swift petrol is a very good option. G13BB is proven, extreamly reliable and fuel efficient engine. About diesel.... I dont know is somebody has same confidence. |
| | |
| | #24 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
Though not exactly relevant to the current topic, but couldn't help asking people in this thread. How much exactly this ABS installation for ? can it be installed in Ldi ? Thanks
__________________ " A machine is only as fast as its slowest part " | |
| | |
| | #25 (permalink) | ||
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
So, go do it.
__________________ Maruti - Everyone comes home with rattles! | ||
| | |
| | #26 (permalink) |
| BHPian | busa and others, sorry that i clarified today and found my car wont have ABS! now i am seriously considering whether 6 lacs for a car without abs is worth it at all no matter what level of refinement the mjd has! also it could trigger off one more review if i am able to test drive the logan today. damn maruti ![]() i am pissed off with them for this non informative attitude. when i test drove they said car has everything. now i realise the price is for no-ABS and no-defogger! now how many cars have you seen without defogger for that price!? Jaggu, does your car have ABS?
__________________ blog.chowchowbath.com the Bengaluru blog |
| | |
| | #27 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | Geeky, Jaggu's car does not have ABS. But, he uses 195 size Good year directional tyres, ask him if the tyres lock up during HARD braking from 80 or 100kph. His answer will help your decision.
__________________ Maruti - Everyone comes home with rattles! |
| | |
| | #28 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | 6 months if u want a DDIS??? My frnd went to book one and said he will haev to wait 6 months for the ABS one and if its a white one then!!!! marketing prank or a joke? he wont be gettign swift coz of that but maybe a THE red hot hatch most of us drool over here at tbhp ![]()
__________________ "She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts, kid." |
| | |
| | #29 (permalink) |
| Team-BHP Moderator ![]() Join Date: May 2004 Location: Bangalore
| Nope mine doesn have ABS, its a Vdi and has only engine immobilizer above Vxi version options. I have driven my car for 240 kms till now, and no skid yet and am driving on a cautious side now since its not very advisable to do hard breaking for first few 100 kms though yday i drove her in lil spirited manner (no alcohol ) and i somehow loved the tyres the way they have changed the cars characteristics, grips solid during cornering and braking. Best part is the rush of 2 to 4 k rpm he he he... point and shoot oh its fun alright.. both makes it feel like a frigging go kart now. Checked oil level and to my surprise the oil color hasnt changed yet hmmm still fresh.. thought diesels engine oil goes dark soon.. light gold reminds you of whiskey and best is when my cousin tells rudra that for the same kms that i have done his vxi fuel guage goes way below, mine just crossed 3/4 mark and soon after the conversation we went for another spin till silk board from ind nagar lol ![]()
__________________ The strength to change what I can, the inability to accept what I can't, and the incapacity to tell the difference. -Calvin |
| | |
| | #30 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | I am also in the market for a hatchback replacement for my WagonR but I have nothing serious going on about it yet. They said 1 month here at kiran motors in Ahmedabad for any swift except with ABS. ![]() And on top of that Kataria motors belongs to my friends uncle (we did a report on them in college times). So maybe a better price too. Why I think swift diesel is taking a long time is because though maruti has lots of customers for swift diesel, maybe other cars like wagonR and Alto are selling more and Maruti has to prioritize whether to let the higher and regularly better selling wagonR and Alto sales loose or let the new swift diesel customers wait. Think as the CEO of Maruti Udyog on what you would do. I would certainly ask the swift diesel customer to wait than let other best selling cars suffer. PS: IT also adds to value and re-sale of the car. ![]()
__________________ boyracer.blogspot.com |
| | |
![]() |