Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Loans & Insurance

Old 30th September 2007, 12:01   #1
BHPian

Default Are loan interests going down ? Floating rate is worth of?

My cousin is @ to buy a new civic
when he asked icici ..they told 11.75%
my cousin same is getting 10.5 % and floating rate from BOB
I intended to buy new safari 2.2

point is Floating Rate of interest is worth or not?
Interest rates are going down ?
neo_trace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2007, 14:26   #2
BHPian

Ya they are going down and getting a floating rate loan would be the wise thing to do.

But im no expert in these things..lets see what the gurus have to say.
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 10:14   #3
BHPian

I have the same query. Could someone please elucidate on the working of the floating rates in terms of car loans. Say I have an EMI payment of 15k as of today when the rates are at 11%. Tomorrow the auto loan rates reduce to 8% (I wish) then does my EMI payment come down? In case of floating it should but I was informed otherwise by someone.

IF the rates do come down then the loan rates would be linked to some benchmark figure (say MIBOR).. is it so? None of the banks I have talked to mentioned this. Why so?
thefreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 10:51   #4
Team-BHP Support

Floating rates will work the same whether it is car loan or the housing loans. The point is that the banks got wise to the fact that the rates keep fluctuating and hence they do not want to get saddled with the low fixed rate disbursals in future. In my case I took a car loan some 2+ years back and till date paying at something around 5.9%. Banks do not want a repeat of this scenario in the future.