Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > The Indian Car Scene


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd December 2011, 13:13   #361
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ............
Posts: 3,260
Thanked: 4,212 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prash View Post
Can you please explain how the seat belt warning buzzer be temporarily or permanently disabled?
Quote:
Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
To temporarily switch off the buzzer, get in the car, wear the seatbelt, switch on ignition for 25 seconds & switch it off, then remove seatbelt.
The buzzer volume could be set to zero by pressing MENU ESC>Buzzer Volume>Zero. The buzzer will become mute. I hope, the buzzer volume setting is applicable to belt buzzer too as I have not set it zero so far.

Last edited by J.Ravi : 3rd December 2011 at 13:19.
J.Ravi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th December 2011, 11:26   #362
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ............
Posts: 3,260
Thanked: 4,212 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prash View Post
Can you please explain how the seat belt warning buzzer be temporarily or permanently disabled?
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Ravi View Post
The buzzer volume could be set to zero by pressing MENU ESC>Buzzer Volume>Zero. The buzzer will become mute. I hope, the buzzer volume setting is applicable to belt buzzer too as I have not set it zero so far.
As I suspected, the buzzer volume setting is not applicable for the belt buzzer. Just now, I tested it and found that belt buzzer cannot be muted. FIAT has correctly designed it in such a way that the belt buzzer cannot be silenced even if the buzzer volume is set to zero!
J.Ravi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th December 2011, 01:52   #363
Newbie
 
Amneo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 17
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Awesome Thread Guys. Bought a Linea E-pack yesterday and have been online going through all the threads. Thanking everyone who have posted on this thread for the valuable info . Bought a used Linea 2010 for 6 L with 35k on the odo :-).
Amneo is offline  
Old 5th March 2012, 18:03   #364
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,756
Thanked: 1,553 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

I have a query regarding follow me home headlamps,arent they supposed to come on automatically when ignition key is taken out?
in the scorpio they come on automatically,however in the linea they need to be turned on by pulling the stalk,is it or am i doing anything wrong?
akshay4587 is offline  
Old 5th March 2012, 19:07   #365
Senior - BHPian
 
rameshnanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,231
Thanked: 813 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
I have a query regarding follow me home headlamps,arent they supposed to come on automatically when ignition key is taken out?
in the scorpio they come on automatically,however in the linea they need to be turned on by pulling the stalk,is it or am i doing anything wrong?
Thats true. You need to pull the stalk for the headlamps to work. Its not automatic. For each pull, the headlamp will remain on for 30 seconds.
rameshnanda is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2012, 21:12   #366
BHPian
 
subbarao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 237
Thanked: 39 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
10) Pull you headlamp stack once after car is switched off & key is taken out, follow me headlamp feature is activated. even that is customizable! pull lever once, headlamp stays on for 10 seconds. pull lever twice, headlamp stays on for 20 seconds, pull thrice, stays on for 30 seconds!
Hi,

Just checked for the time you mentioned, it will starts from 30seconds with increment of 30 seconds & ends at 210 seconds, it's not the 10seconds.
subbarao is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th March 2012, 23:24   #367
BHPian
 
jaisha8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Trichur, Kerala
Posts: 358
Thanked: 98 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Now that FIAT has come up with a new upgrade kit to rectify the Ground Clearance problem in FIAT LINEA, just wished to know if anyone has done an upgrade on their Linea's and how much is the difference in mm/ inch now. Also please put in the total price charged by the Service centre for the complete job.
These details would be very useful to owners who wish/ plan to upgrade their GC problem.
jaisha8 is offline  
Old 16th March 2012, 23:31   #368
Senior - BHPian
 
rameshnanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,231
Thanked: 813 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaisha8 View Post
Now that FIAT has come up with a new upgrade kit to rectify the Ground Clearance problem in FIAT LINEA, just wished to know if anyone has done an upgrade on their Linea's and how much is the difference in mm/ inch now. Also please put in the total price charged by the Service centre for the complete job.
These details would be very useful to owners who wish/ plan to upgrade their GC problem.
I need to correct you before I reply. Actually, its not the kit to rectify the GC Problem. Its the kit to enhance the GC. If anyone wishes to do it can opt for it. Even if this is not done, its no problem at all.

Yes. Few have already done the GC upgrade. I enquired with TAFE, Chennai they confirmed me that the total cost is Rs. 10,900.
rameshnanda is online now  
Old 17th March 2012, 00:49   #369
BHPian
 
jaisha8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Trichur, Kerala
Posts: 358
Thanked: 98 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by rameshnanda View Post
I need to correct you before I reply. Actually, its not the kit to rectify the GC Problem. Its the kit to enhance the GC. If anyone wishes to do it can opt for it. Even if this is not done, its no problem at all.

Yes. Few have already done the GC upgrade. I enquired with TAFE, Chennai they confirmed me that the total cost is Rs. 10,900.
Yes, you are correct, to increase the GC and thanks for your feedback. I was told at Hyson Motors (Thrissur) that it would cost around Rs. 20k. So before giving my car, just wanted to make sure if the price tag for this upgrade is +/- same through out India; but I feel Hyson is charging exhorbitantly on this. I received a message from FIAT India on my Facebook that the price is Rs.10900/.
I shall wait for replies from other members as well.
jaisha8 is offline  
Old 17th March 2012, 00:53   #370
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,756
Thanked: 1,553 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaisha8 View Post
Yes, you are correct, to increase the GC and thanks for your feedback. I was told at Hyson Motors (Thrissur) that it would cost around Rs. 20k. So before giving my car, just wanted to make sure if the price tag for this upgrade is +/- same through out India; but I feel Hyson is charging exhorbitantly on this. I received a message from FIAT India on my Facebook that the price is Rs.10900/.
I shall wait for replies from other members as well.
10.9K is just for the spares.
Installation and other charges are extra.
akshay4587 is offline  
Old 17th March 2012, 00:59   #371
BHPian
 
jaisha8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Trichur, Kerala
Posts: 358
Thanked: 98 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
10.9K is just for the spares.
Installation and other charges are extra.
Yes I read that as well on the mail, but still would it be 20k plus?
jaisha8 is offline  
Old 17th March 2012, 01:05   #372
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,756
Thanked: 1,553 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaisha8 View Post
Yes I read that as well on the mail, but still would it be 20k plus?
20K plus seems inflated,someone who has upgraded,can update here.
akshay4587 is offline  
Old 17th March 2012, 09:45   #373
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 628
Thanked: 132 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

I have never felt the need to upgrade. But then my drives are in mumbai/pune and around. if one is careful you can avoid scraping. sometimes i wonder if this gc issue is overhyped in case of Linea. Honda City (173 mm), Ford Fiesta (new, 156 mm), Figo have GC numbers below Punto/Linea. How come there are no complaints about this.
Palio_2005 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2012, 14:55   #374
BHPian
 
prakash_ajp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 494
Thanked: 719 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by Palio_2005 View Post
I have never felt the need to upgrade. But then my drives are in mumbai/pune and around. if one is careful you can avoid scraping. sometimes i wonder if this gc issue is overhyped in case of Linea. Honda City (173 mm), Ford Fiesta (new, 156 mm), Figo have GC numbers below Punto/Linea. How come there are no complaints about this.
There are other factors as well that contribute to this. For e.g. the longer wheel base is a significant factor. Having said that, I haven't felt the need to upgrade either. May be when my suspensions are due for a replacement, I will go for it.
prakash_ajp is offline  
Old 4th June 2012, 13:18   #375
BHPian
 
jaisha8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Trichur, Kerala
Posts: 358
Thanked: 98 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - "Did You Know?" Series

I faced the below problem.
I sent the below mail to Fiat customer service and received reply on their assurance to resolve the problem at the earliest the same day.

While going to Chengalpet (TN) yesterday (26.May.12), at Salem the Air conditioner failed and hot air was blowing. Due to the urgency of reaching our destinatione we continued in that hot climate to Chengalpet and also returned back early morning today to Thrissur without aircondition. Whole journey was pathetic as the kids could not bear the summer heat in TN and had to suffer it all along.
We use the car for long trips only in Emergencies and we had to drive as Train tickets were not available.
Even after a complete service at Hyson Motors, we had to suffer like this means, the very purpose of doing the Service at regular invervals is defeated and I am very upset about it.
I would be obliged and appreciate it if you could please kindly arrange to depute your Service representative tomorrow (28.5.2012) to look at the vehicle.
I sent this mail today to FIAPL.

I arrived from abroad yesterday and my wife informed me that as of yesterday, we have not heard anything from Hyson Motors (Fiat Service center at Thrissur) despite grievance reported by her to you on 27th May and your subsequent assurance in the below mails that our grievance would be resolved at the earliest. Also, subsequently she had sent you a reminder mail on 31st May for which there was no response.
.
Hence, I have delivered my car (Fiat Linea - KL08AQ 4567) today morning at 9.00 am to Hyson Motors for rectifying this problem of 'Non working Air conditioner'.

Later I received a call from Hyson Motors at 12.00 PM informing that one rubber pipe is damaged which needs replacement and the gas needs to be re-filled up and it would cost Rs.5000/- and would not be covered under warranty as my car is over 3 years old now. SA informed me that the cost of pipe itself would be Rs.2500 as it is high quality rubber and would last for long.

So I wish to bring to your kind notice that though my car is over 3 years old, it has run only 16500 kms when this happened and how can the high quality pipe get damaged after running so less kms when it has to last long. So I am sending this mail to you to get your favourable reply and I have advised him to wait and not rectify this until I hear from you on this. I kindly request you to look into this matter and advise us.


I would kindly request the members on this Forum to advise me on this. Do I have to pay the Rs. 5000 and get this rectified or wait for a reply from FIAT. Please advise.
jaisha8 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swift/ Dzire - "Did You Know?" Series.. akash_m Technical Stuff 84 3rd January 2017 18:14
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
Did you know this about 'new' Verna? Stock Tires upsized from 175/70 to 185/65 !!! khadoos baby Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 32 27th June 2008 00:44
"I did not know this" show on National Geographic pjbiju Shifting gears 7 9th April 2008 15:15
Did you know? DCEite Shifting gears 21 15th January 2006 19:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:31.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks