| |
| LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | The Duster is at best a Crossover with strong SUV like abilities. The XUV is NOT an SUV per se - it is merely a Crossover. A bit of a sheep in wolf's clothing if you will. While I would unhesitatingly throw some bad roads , rough areas, off road scenarios and other tough situations at my Yeti (when I change its tyres to tougher ones) and definitely at the Duster (if it comes to India with 4WD and tough tyres), I would always hesitate with the Current Gen XUV because it has not yet bedded down in the marketplace with all its fiddly things and electronics. I am sure as time goes by, the Gen 2 and Gen 3 XUV's will have ironed out all the hassles of the Gen 1 XUV, but I, for one, cordially decline to pay to become an M&M XUV real world guinea pig. I would much rather wait before buying that vehicle because despite all its bulk, features and attractive pricing etc, it is a first time effort for M&M and requires much more time in the real world to prove itself beyond a doubt, as the Scorpio managed to do, over time! Plus of course I have personal issues with the XUV's fit, finish, overall quality aspects and so on which I will not compromise on. Perhaps for an SUV/ Crossover buyer right now, it may make sense to consider this new Pajero Sport version which is based on a truck chassis. Or perhaps things like the Korando and Rexton, both of which are quite proven outside of India and may come along here at a nice-ish price. |
| |
| | ||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Feb 2008 Location: Mumbai
| Quote:
.No doubt I would never think of putting a XUV or a Duster (unless I see it in the metal) where I dare to put my Scorpio at the moment. Pajero Sport is a good alternative but I feel it will be expensive to maintain until they start manufacturing / assembling in India. And as far as Korean vehicles are concerned I am not too keen. Let me wait to see what comes out in the form of the new Endeavour since the new Fortuner has been a letdown. Last edited by m_upreti : 13th March 2012 at 20:29. | |
| |
| | |
| BHPian Join Date: Feb 2008 Location: Hyderabad
| ^^ just adding some fuel to the fire I have my own yardstick to determine something falls to SUV genre or not. It (yardstick) is derived from several factors (in the order): 1. Chassis - ladder frame vs monocoque vs tube-frame 2. Suspension geometry and type 3. Engine 4. relative H-point values 5. body [pillers] 6. Ground clearance |
| |
| | |
| BHPian | Guys, great discussion going on but I think we are going little OT, by discussing more about XUV issues and crossover elligibility. Anyone has any new information about Duster? or anybody with hands on experience on Koleos? |
| |
| | |
| BHPian Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: Mumbai
| The budget definitely doesn't speak well on the expected pricing of the car (large cars). A huge leap of 5% additional tax on large cars would further add to the already inflated prices in our country. Ah duster! |
| |
| | |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Feb 2008 Location: Mumbai
| Everything is quiet, may be the company will come out with more information after analysing the post budget impact on the pricing of the vehicle. |
| |
| | |
| BHPian Join Date: Aug 2011 Location: Patiala
| I went to Renault dealer in Patiala, Padam Motors, according to them duster is likely to be launched in july with an expected price tag of 8.5 to 10 lac. No info on engine specs though. Also they mentioned that no dealer training has happened yet so launch is not that near. |
| |
| | |
| BHPian Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Mumbai
| Waiting eagerly for the launch in June. Atleast they should have made the brochure available. This is surely going to heat up the competition in the sub 10 lakh range where there are a very limited number of options. 1. Mahindra Scorpio 2. Tata Safari 3. Mahindra Bolero Add to the above, Sumo / Spacio range from Tata. Right now, people looking for compact SUV's are forced to select between the above as there is no option available. I wish there are more such launches from other manufacturers (Toyota, Nissan, Ford, Maruti (they should plan to launch the Gypsy with a diesel powerplant and improved suspension, it might be a big hit). Lets see whats in store. Cheers, Yogesh. |
| |
| | ||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Dec 2008 Location: Bangalore/Hassan
| Quote:
) and my budget is around 10-11 Lakhs. It is disappointing to see there are very limited options in this particular segment. My family has used all the available options available right now (Scorpio, Bolero, Sumo, Sumo Grande, even the Innova) except Safari, and we are looking for a change.I hope the Renault Duster is priced right. It looks tailor made for our conditions. Lets see how it goes. Last edited by addyhemmige : 20th March 2012 at 11:16. | |
| |
| | ||
| BHPian Join Date: Oct 2011 Location: bangalore
| Quote:
I too was looking for a diesel vehicle (not mini-SUV per say) in the budget of 10L that can move 5 passengers in comfort for long highway trips. Since sedans in this range (except Sunny maybe) just manage 5 passengers, I had high hopes on Duster. Moreover, Duster has the reputation of being VFM around the world. I was so eagerly awaiting the launch and announcements of price. Now i am a little worried that Duster might move out of my budget range . The wait till June is going to be tougher now. | |
| | (1)
|
| | ||
| BHPian Join Date: May 2007 Location: DELHI
| Quote:
| |
| |
| | |
| BHPian | Agree with @Ampere. I, for one, would like to buy a 5-seater SUV. Or a nice station wagon. Combi Scout? Adventure? Skoda/Fiat - are you listening? I am hoping that the Duster and Ecosport and other compact SUVs sell a lot and the Yeti comes down in price that I could buy ![]() |
| |
| |