Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > The Indian Car Scene

Old 17th September 2012, 10:29   #1
Distinguished - BHPian

Lightbulb Indian Manufacturers - Warranty on repairs & replaced parts

To cut a long story short, I am currently in discussions with Apra Auto, one of Maruti's stellar service centers regarding replacement of turbocharger (which was replaced by them about six max seven months back as a paid service). It has failed within 10,000km and is currently spewing oil. (the SwiftD has done short of 90k)

I want to understand other manufacturers' practice in this regard:
Nissan / Renault and even Tata provide a 1 year warranty on repairs.

As someone who isn't averse to expensive preventive maintenance (this bill is coming to 50k courtesy the gearbox and clutch packing up), I am feeling fed up that Maruti does not have a clear policy on warranty on repairs at authorized service centers. This is not a wear and tear part like a clutch which can be abused. I am an energetic driver but my car stays well within 100 kph and 2500 rpm. I don't even know what to do to prevent it from failing.

If I am unable to gain any comfort on the quality of the turbocharger work at their top-of-the-line A.S.S despite personal relationships, I'll sell my Swift and NEVER buy a Maruti again. esp when competent options like the Nissan are available at a competitive price.

Here are the links:
http://www.nissan.in/en/web/header/header_12403.htm
http://renault.co.in/aftersales/WarrantyforRepair.html

Thanks for any advice - but please keep it clean and no Maruti bashing for the heck of it.

EDIT as Requested:

Tata, Skoda, Ford offer Warranty on repairs & components
Maruti does not.
I think Toyota does not offer this warranty either.

Last edited by GTO : 19th September 2012 at 10:53. Reason: As requested
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2012, 11:04   #2
Team-BHP Support

Default re: Indian Manufacturers - Warranty on repairs & replaced parts