Go Back   Team-BHP > Indian Cars > The Indian Car Scene!!

The Indian Car Scene!! Palios, Vtecs, Mahindras, Octavia RS' and everything on the Indian Car Scene.

Old 5th January 2007, 13:33   #1 (permalink)

Post New engines on Maruti vehicles by 2008

Maruti Udyog Ltd will replace its entire F-series of engines--currently rolled out in models like the Maruti 800, the Alto, the Wagon R and the newly launched Zen Estilo—with the more advanced K-series by the end of 2008.

The K-series engines are not only Euro-IV compliant but also more fuel-efficient. The government has mandated compliance with Euro-IV emission norms by 2009. The new engines would also offer a higher brake horsepower.

“To begin with, K10 engines would replace the F10D engines of the Wagon R and the Zen Estilo. The K12 engine will replace the G13B engine of the Swift and the Esteem later,” the sources said. When contacted, a Maruti spokesperson declined to comment. The cars with the new engine would be sold in the domestic as well as the export market. “We have been made aware of the development and we are tailoring our plant to cater to the needs,” one supplier confirmed to FE.

Cars fitted with this series of engines are expected to be slightly costlier than the cars with existing F-series engines.
The carmaker is setting up an engine manufacturing unit at Manesar with an investment of Rs 2,500 crore. The new unit will have initial capacity to roll out 1,00,000 units of engines which would be further expanded to 3,00,000 units.

Source : FINANCIAL EXPRESS

Last edited by navdeep : 5th January 2007 at 13:48.
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 13:36   #2 (permalink)

Nice news .... The more govt. is taking their hands out of Maruti more aggressive they are becoming in marketing and rolling new features and cars.

Pleas tell us the source of this news..
Old 5th January 2007, 13:40   #3 (permalink)
Super-Admin

Maruti Udyog Ltd will replace its entire F-series of engines--currently rolled out in models like the Maruti 800, the Alto, the Wagon R and the newly launched Zen Estilo—with the more advanced K-series by the end of 2008.
We are going to see the 800 through 2009!! And I thought it has barely a year or two left.

Change the way you think, and watch the world change around you.
  • Please don't PM for support. Use the Contact Form instead.
  • Please read the *NEW* Team-BHP FAQ section for all your queries.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 13:46   #4 (permalink)

Yeah we will still see 800 compete with TATA so called 1 Lac Car for sure.

We are going to see the 800 through 2009!! And I thought it has barely a year or two left.
Old 5th January 2007, 13:46   #5 (permalink)

maruti is gearing up for compitetion its going to face by the end of 2010
Old 5th January 2007, 15:08   #6 (permalink)
Team-BHP Moderator

Not much difference to an end-user. Required more from the manufacturer's PoV to meet legalese
Old 5th January 2007, 21:32   #7 (permalink)

The latest issue of OD has pegged the Japan Spec K-Car Cervo as being tagged to replace the 800.

If that is the case then possibly the 800 could get discontinued or it could be stripped further to compete with the proposed tata 1 L Car
sreedotk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 23:06   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by sreedotk View Post
The latest issue of OD has pegged the Japan Spec K-Car Cervo as being tagged to replace the 800.

If that is the case then possibly the 800 could get discontinued or it could be stripped further to compete with the proposed tata 1 L Car
Dont think the cervo would be as cheap as the 800...

Now then... Cervo seems more suited to have replaced the zen, than the estilo... And know what... The Cervo comes with optional 4WD in japan... Hope they replace 800 with alto, with Cervo above alto and below estilo... he he...

Guys... is this the car featured in OD??? (or is it some older generation models which have cheap dies available???)

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 5th January 2007 at 23:09.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2007, 00:59   #9 (permalink)
elf

Ooh boy! Definitely like CrAzY dRiVeR's idea... this should've replaced the Zen instead of the Estilo.
elf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2007, 07:56   #10 (permalink)

Yep CrAzY dRiVeR that is the one shown in OD. I too like your idea of placing it as a alternate to the Zen.

The best bet would be to phase out the 800 and bring the alto down to 800 cost and slot this in between the twin tango Wagon brothers ( or is it Sisters)

Sree
sreedotk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2007, 14:16   #11 (permalink)

news flashed on CNBC TV 18 " Maruti Swift Diesel will be having 75 bhp engine " !!! nice move
vahss_11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2007, 16:17   #12 (permalink)

Damn maruti...... If they would have launched this K-Car Cervo instead of Estilo then the sales would have been much much better...
Old 6th January 2007, 16:41   #13 (permalink)

I guess Cervo would have costed much more than Estilo so does not make sense to enter Swift's territory...
Rodeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2007, 14:23   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by vahss_11 View Post
news flashed on CNBC TV 18 " Maruti Swift Diesel will be having 75 bhp engine " !!! nice move
I still doubt it will be 75BHP as swift DDiS is 68BHP all over AFAIK. But lets hope its 75 BHP

Last edited by abhibh : 7th January 2007 at 14:25.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2007, 15:42   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by sreedotk View Post
Yep CrAzY dRiVeR that is the one shown in OD. I too like your idea of placing it as a alternate to the Zen.
The best bet would be to phase out the 800 and bring the alto down to 800 cost and slot this in between the twin tango Wagon brothers ( or is it Sisters)
Standing in the showroom, i felt wagonR is the big brother and estilo is his cute sister...

Originally Posted by vahss_11 View Post

I hope so...

cant belive how much Maruti has changed in the last two years...

CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote