| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| The Indian Car Scene!! Palios, Vtecs, Mahindras, Octavia RS' and everything on the Indian Car Scene. |
| View Poll Results: If in the market for a hatch, would you buy the Palio Stile 1.1? | |||
| Yes | | 12 | 23.53% |
| No | | 39 | 76.47% |
| Voters: 51. You may not vote on this poll | |||
![]() |
| | #76 (permalink) | ||||||
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
Though I owned a zen and a baleno, my all time favourite cars are the OHC Vtec and the Elantra Crdi. And I respect them dearly for what these products are. And praise or critisize the above mentioned cars or take reviews with a pinch of salt. A few of the ardent FIAT fans make it sound like FIAT is the beginning and FIAT is the end. And you guys have never driven anything but a FIAT all your lives. Nor can take any review with a pinch of salt even if its backed by logic or facts. Or according to you everything Anti-Fiat is all but blabber. Most of you are beginning to sound like "I would surely pray a premium for the Honda Logo alone" even if it means I dont get features on par with the competitive cars. "Fiat deserves a premium even if they dont get their act together". Yes, you see me talking against a Jap maker. And that too a honda and a suzi. Its not hard to give credit where its due and accept the cons with a pinch of salt. Rather than beating about the bush saying what other manufacturers are doing. If yes, why doesn't Fiat change the trend just like MUL is beginning to with the launch of the SX4?
__________________ I am proud of you, binzy boy !!! Keep up the good work. Last edited by mclaren1885 : 24th May 2007 at 14:11. | ||||||
| |
| | #77 (permalink) | |
| BHPian Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Mumbai
| Quote:
You therefore, now, are officially being labelled as a YAFZ (Yet another FIAT zealot - pronounced YafZee)
__________________ For all your days prepare And meet them ever alike When you are the anvil bear, When you are the hammer, strike. | |
| |
| | #79 (permalink) |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Hell rider yaar ye national pride kahan se aa gaya? See the difference between you (the Fiat car owners) and "japanese" car owners (as ET put it) is that the latter are complaining about the Fiat Palio Stile 1.1 L, but you are for some reason taking as an insult to all Palio/Fiat owners. Now someone said if it was Maruti Palio Stile 1.1 L, it would have sold like hot cakes and no one would have criticised it. Well thats completely wrong. Did you see the fate of Maruti Versa? Almost everyone was unanimous in criticising it.And it showed in sales figures. And then criticism of SX4 for not putting the VVT engine. Its not as if any car comes from your favourite car manufacturer's stable you blindly appreciate it. No. Atleast i am not like that. Dont know about others. And Swift succeeded inspite of being a downgraded engine was because @ 5 lacs it offered something which was never offered in a small car, ultra modern looks, auto climate a/c, abs, airbags coupled with nice performance and FE and what not! Last edited by DCEite : 24th May 2007 at 14:10. |
| |
| | #80 (permalink) |
| BHPian | Lol... ok about "why" buy... ... hmmmm could because of the following:1. Space 2. Build quality 3. new design and looks 4. Better fuel economy 5. Value for Money Should not buy because of: 1. Performance 2. Poor resale
__________________ NeoOnWheels FIAT Palio 1.2 Sport Wishlist: Linea 1.9 MJD (2009) Last edited by neoonwheels : 24th May 2007 at 14:13. |
| |
| | #82 (permalink) |
| Team-BHP Moderator ![]() | Someone mentioned about comparing a Palio Stile 1.1 and a Getz Prime 1.1. Good lets see which sells more. Any one bother to put up sales report, 0-100 report, braking distances, in gear timings, LWB of both cars et all. I know it will be a tough fight .And I have sat in both the cars - The Getz has interiors that are far better than the same old ones in the Palio. And the Getz has A.S.S thats light years ahead of FIAT's A.S.S. or is it TATA's A.S.S now ? Still the Getz doesn't sell - how will the Palio sell ? ![]() |
| |
| | #83 (permalink) | |||
| BHPian Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Mumbai
| precisely my point. back up to page 2 or 3 and check it out. Quote:
I am not taking it as an insult to all FIAT owners. Please see my relevant post and the point I have referenced in page 2/3. Quote:
I am willing to bet a fair amount that if it had indeed been a Maruti Stile, it would have definitely sold better. I won't go as far as to say that it would have sold like hot cakes. But definitely better than now, yes. At the bare minimum people wouldn't complaining or questioning the rationale behind its existence. Quote:
FWIW, at the time the Palio was launched, it too offered a package almost none offered in a small car. Times have moved on, and the Palio is no longer cutting-edge, but then to be fair to FIAT, it does reflect in the sticker price as well. Its not like they are commanding a premium, are they ???
__________________ For all your days prepare And meet them ever alike When you are the anvil bear, When you are the hammer, strike. | |||
| |
| | #84 (permalink) |
| BHPian | Right.... Now the million dollar question is.... "Why Getz did not sale" specially after you narrowed down so many good things about it... FIAT has big time failed in their management and marketing.. I see "Rupa frontline underwear" Ad more than I see Palio stile 1.1 ad....People still are unaware of FIAT and their presence in India.. FIAT you need to bring Punto and Linea as fastttttttttttttt as you can...
__________________ NeoOnWheels FIAT Palio 1.2 Sport Wishlist: Linea 1.9 MJD (2009) |
| |
| | #85 (permalink) | |
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
WHY BUY? 1. Space (Better/equal options exist) 2. Build quality (I don't want to comment on that! Do you mean heaviness?) 3. new design and looks (Agree, but it doesn't appeal to many and what about the interior design??) 4. Better fuel economy (You need to read the first post of this thread repeatedly!) Should not buy because of: 1. Performance 2. Poor resale (shall we say worst?) 3. Unsafe (Brakes, one of the worst in the whole industry) 4. Poor A.S.S. 5. Expensive to maintain when compared to competition 6. Unpredictable (Or should it be unreliable?) 7. Long in the tooth (Applies to many cars in competition too) 8. Poor history
__________________ The squeaking wheel doesn't always get the grease. Sometimes it gets replaced!! | |
| |
| | #86 (permalink) |
| Team-BHP Moderator ![]() | Guys, Brilliant and persistant marketing can only bring notice to the product. ultimately the product / company has to be good enough to stand the test of time. You all can jump all over me but I will not agree that repeating the FIAT Stile ad will do anything positive to the sales figures. |
| |
| | #88 (permalink) |
| BHPian | [quote=speedzak;447184]A quick look into it. WHY BUY? 1. Space (Better/equal options exist) 3. new design and looks (Agree, but it doesn't appeal to many and what about the interior design??) 4. Better fuel economy (You need to read the first post of this thread repeatedly!) Should not buy because of: 3. Unsafe (Brakes, one of the worst in the whole industry) 5. Expensive to maintain when compared to competition 6. Unpredictable (Or should it be unreliable?) 1. Ok, now tell me, thread started has compared Santro and Palio, do you think Santro is as spacious as Palio... you must be kidding... 2. New design and looks: I agress rear end suc** 3. Better fuel economy: Compared Santro,.. could be.. compared to swaift, U-VA, Getz prime: I dont agree.. 4. Unsafe brake: I never foudn that.. They are spongy but not worst.. You need to get used to 5. Expensive to maintain: Compared to Santro could be.. compared to Swift... Swift has costly spares than Palio... 6. Unpredictable: We have people runnign their FIATs more than 1L KM... but then it is not reliable.. rt??
__________________ NeoOnWheels FIAT Palio 1.2 Sport Wishlist: Linea 1.9 MJD (2009) Last edited by neoonwheels : 24th May 2007 at 14:29. |
| |
| | #89 (permalink) | |
| BHPian Join Date: May 2006 Location: Bangalore
| Quote:
Any good car maker job is to sell a good /reliable/ VFM product to the consumer and back it by good after sale service.... IT HARDLY MATTERS to cosumer how they do it. | |
| |
| | #90 (permalink) | |
| Newbie Join Date: May 2007 Location: Bangalore
| Quote:
Better option for FIAT would have been to bring in the Palio 1.3D.Sure, Fiat got their strategies wrong.Either they make good products and no attempts were made to advertise those products or they make untimley products (like Palio 1.1 stile).I hope they don't repeat this mistake in future. | |
| |
![]() |