| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| The Indian Car Scene!! Palios, Vtecs, Mahindras, Octavia RS' and everything on the Indian Car Scene. |
![]() |
| | #46 (permalink) | |
| BHPian Join Date: Feb 2008 Location: Coimbatore
| Quote:
__________________ Remember that nobody will ever get ahead of you as long as he is kicking you in the seat of the pants. | |
| | |
| | #47 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: Bangalore
| Instead of bringing in new car as a CBU and pricing it so high, what fiat needs to concentrate on is their existing models such as the palio , petra, siena and adventure and mainly their A.S.S and building the fiat brand image. Only then can they even think about selling high-priced cars. |
| | |
| | #48 (permalink) |
| BHPian | True, but having had the same models for so many years, their India image must have taken a low tech kind of look. With these new models, they will be able to establish that they know how to make hot stuff, its just their service department that they need to spruce up. But then again, it does seem like two separate companies, one catering to the masses and the other like some overpriced exotic snob group. I am not completely sure how much the bread and butter part of the company will gain from this activity.
__________________ Regards, Prabuddha |
| | |
| | #49 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Weekdays at DetroitOfIndia (Chennai) & Weekends at VeniceOfTheEast (Alappuzha).
| Quote:
__________________ A bad worker blames his tools. Bad drivers blame the car's rattles for bad performance on track. :-) | ||||
| | |
| | #50 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Feb 2008 Location: Chennai
| I agree with all the points that supremeBaleno has put up. No matter whether its a CKD or a CBU, putting up a car at 22L does never make any sense. At times I wonder who are the ppl who strategise such moves. And anyone who has "money to throw", would not mind throwing a couple of lakhs more and get the Merc or the Audi.
__________________ Reality continues to ruin my life - Calvin to Hobbes ---- Pulsar 180 DTSi - June 2005 |
| | |
| | #51 (permalink) |
| Newbie Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: New Delhi
| I am really looking forward to that. Any Clue when this will actually happen ? I'd love to see a scoop on it someday, by whoever gets to own it first ![]()
__________________ Man when perfected is the best of animals, but when seperated from law and justice, he is the worst of all. |
| | |
| | #52 (permalink) | |||||
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004 Location: Mumbai
| We have been told that we will get the fully loaded 1.9L JTD 150bhp Bravo. Quote:
A sample of a few: Blue&Me (Bluetooth+USB) : Not sure if Blue&Me will work here though. Steering wheel controls for Blue&me and Radio/CD. Height and Reach adjust steering. (does the SRV have it?) Cruise Control. ABS+EBD 6 Airbags (Not sure how many Rs.15 lakh cars sporting the H logo give you 6 airbags). SRV gives you only one for the Driver! 17" Alloys (maybe 16" ones for India). Extremely hot looks and an engine that will put 20 lac rupee cars to shame (Skoda Laura) Source is from Fiat's UK website. Quote:
Fiat's challenge would be to have spares readily avaliable for the Bravo. They can't keep a 5 lac rupee car customer satisfied, how the hell will they keep a 20 lac rupee customer satisfied?! ![]() To be honest, Yes, even I feel the Bravo is over priced. They should have gone in for SKD's here. At about Rs.12-15 lacs it would be at a correct price point. BUT, we are forgetting one thing. Why did Fiat and Tata come out with the CBU Bravo and 500? The job of these cars is to spruce up Fiat's image in India before the GP and Linea come in. Today, Fiat = Palio in India. Fiat needs to push the 'super flop Palio maker' image out of the car buyers mind. Fiat probably suspects that the average Indian car buyer wouldn't give the GP and Linea a chance simply because they are cars that the 'Palio maker is making'. Yes, we all know that Fiat needs to improve service etc etc but thats something that takes a very long time to do and Fiat doesn't have the time. If they decide to go in for the long route and launch the GP and Linea in 2010 with good after sales service in place then we will crib that the cars are already outdated! Yes, even with the 500 and Bravo, the GP will never remotely challenge the almost 10K per month sales of the Swift even though it will easily be a far superior car.
__________________ Some people drive cars. I drive the Palio. Last edited by amit : 12th April 2008 at 11:42. | |||||
| | |
| | #53 (permalink) | |
| BHPian Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: mumbai
| Quote:
P.S.: India might be shining with various exotics landing on our shores every 3-4 weeks, but I doubt whether Indians have come of age to buy a hatch which is priced over Rs.20lakh...a step that fiat has taken light years prior to the car looking like a car meant for the Indian market (with all those features). Hope it does not end up becoming a four wheel version of the Yamaha RD350 which is appreciated and purchased more than ever today after production stopped about 20 years ago. Please don't forget that even the Mercedes C-class(W203) which was priced between Rs.20-30lakh was said to be overpriced...it was a luxury sedan and not a hatchback unlike the Bravo and Mercedes enjoys a great brand image the world over and everyone is aware of Fiat's brand image in India.
__________________ CHEERS Thank you Team-Bhp...thanks for everything. :-) Last edited by Jayabusa : 19th April 2008 at 00:13. | |
| | |
| | #54 (permalink) |
| BHPian | If its 22 Lakhs, I know I can buy the latest Toyota Camry for that much amount. And I know that Camry offers quite a few things. The Bravo could be for the enthusiasts for whom the Ride and the Driving pleasure is VFM above everyrthing else. It would be like a palio 1.6 in the 4-5 lakh segment, the one for the enthusiasts in the luxury segment. Even a sales estimate of 500 per YEAR would be a little high for Bravo at a price tag of 22 Lakhs. But we never know.
__________________ Red Santro 1999| Palio 1.6 GTX | Bajaj Scooter 150cc 1999 | Last edited by Technocrat : 21st April 2008 at 17:49. |
| | |
| | #55 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | 20 lakhs for a Fiat? Typical style of the country that is famous for pizza, Mafia, Fiat, and lately Bruni (?). Fiat would have to hire its domestic Sicilian Mafiosi to force people to buy with a gun placed to their heads. When has any `Fiat' sold at Rs. 20 lakhs or even its equivalent. For that price, normally we can get 6-7 new Fiats or 30-40 old Palios.
__________________ For one who sees Me in all beings and sees all beings in Me, I am never lost, nor is he ever lost to Me. |
| | |
| | #56 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | Must be something wrong with Fiat's press release/media reports. Perhaps Rs. 22 lakhs is Fiat's target for Bravo's sales in year.
__________________ For one who sees Me in all beings and sees all beings in Me, I am never lost, nor is he ever lost to Me. |
| | |
| | #57 (permalink) | |
| BHPian Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: Coimbatore
| Quote:
Sometimes even car manufacturers go grazy, and make jokes a lot with thier market study and products. ![]() | |
| | |
| | #58 (permalink) | |
| BHPian Join Date: Jun 2005 Location: mumbai
| Quote:
Personally I feel, both would launch sometime in early 2009. ![]() | |
| | |
| | #60 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
But it still sold in good volumes initially. Only the popular A.S.S. made them a failure. So we never know how many takers there will be. But the price seems a little high no doubt. It would be wiser to wait for an official announcement on the price, as there may be many rumors on the price factor of a car to be launched.
__________________ Red Santro 1999| Palio 1.6 GTX | Bajaj Scooter 150cc 1999 | | |
| | |
![]() |