| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| The Indian Car Scene Swifts, Vtecs, Mahindras, Nanos and everything else on the Indian Car Scene. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #61 (permalink) | |
| BANNED Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Mumbai
| Quote:
GTO - He is right. We hope no one from Honda is reading this thread Last edited by VahanPujari : 18th September 2009 at 16:16. | |
| |
| | #62 (permalink) | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | Quote:
That said, yes, the Superb makes the Accord (and other more expensive cars) look naked when it comes to features. Further, as long as the actual sales numbers of the Accord are respectable (which they are), I don't see anything wrong with its performance. Or is being no.2 in a segment the next reason to criticise Honda? Quote:
You missed the CRV, but I'll add it here anyways. Now that's a car that you can call "terribly overpriced" in its current position (alongwith the CBU Camry). What Honda needs to do: - Alloys + Climate control for the City - Features to match the Altis on the Civic - More features for the Accord - Better price for the CRV & Jazz. Enough of OT. Please restrict our discussion to the City. Accords & others can be discussed on the sales analysis thread. Quote:
- Best in class performance - Best in class fuel efficiency - Best in class reliability & durability - Best in class upkeep / maintenance costs - Best in class resale value (only the SX4 comes close) - Best in class interior room and packaging - Best in class brand No car ticks all the boxes, but the City does tick nearly all of the important ones. Last I checked, that is the exact definition of an ALL ROUNDER. As earlier posted, Honda & Toyota have never been about the features in any market. If they matter more to you than the other more important things (to me), you are free to pay for other brands. Hey, its a free market! Honda & Toyotas class-leading loyalty / return customers do a good job of indicating which requirements are most important to the market. Two relevant paras: Quote:
And no, it isn't so much about the Honda badge either. Else, the Jazz would have been a superhit. At the end of the day, it is all about the product.
__________________ GTO Work backward from your imagination, not forward from the past!
Last edited by GTO : 18th September 2009 at 19:23. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| |
| | #63 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: Faridabad(Home), Weekends-(Delhi,Noida,Gurgaon)
| very Interesting and Intense discussion going on since morning(and am following it intently). Cant contribute due to constraints in office but will try to input my views over the weekend. Till then let me have some happy reading ![]() @GTO and Vahanpujari- IMO you both are correct in your own right and i appreciate the comments been inputted.
__________________ Adversity causes some men to break, others to break records! Regards HVJ Last edited by harry10 : 18th September 2009 at 20:41. |
| |
| | #64 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: bangalore
| Well I was one of the minority in saying that ANHC is not overpriced (though skimping a bit on equipment) when it was originally launched. People compared NHC iDSI 'ugly' (my perception) people mover to the sleek ANHC with 115 horses, iVTEC, 15" wheels et al. They should compare the NHC VTEC to the ANHC, and the ANHC outscores the NHC VTEC on almost all parameters other than interiors, and possibly rear seat comfort ? Like I said in the one of the posts below, ANHC is probably the only car launched with more features, safety, comfort, space and host of other aspects 6 years down the road from the last selling OHC 1.5 and 1.5VTEC whose price remained almost same... http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post991887 (EDIT: Now Launched :All New Honda city (Indian version)-full specs & features .) http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post1073722 (EDIT: Now Launched :All New Honda city (Indian version)-full specs & features .) Last edited by lancer_rit : 18th September 2009 at 21:06. |
| |
| | #65 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | I am not a honda fan but there is no doubt about the reliability of Hondas or the vfm. Here in USA I drive an Accord with 1lac 53 K miles on it of which my contribution is nearly 20,000 miles. The only thing I had to spend was to refill AC gas. Recently I did a 1000 mile round trip and it is still a hoot to drive.
__________________ Don't take life too seriously, no matter what you do you won't come out of it alive |
| |
| | #66 (permalink) |
| BANNED Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: New Dlehi
| Well i have come to an understanding that VFM meaning is different for different people. Honda to its credit has a wonderful engine and a brand name which they have built over a long time with a lot of hardwork and noones else can take it away from them. The only close competitor which comes close to both the above factors is the SX4 which has the Maruti tag attached to it. For anyone buying Linea P- he gives more importance to looks and features and willing to take the risk with Fiat tag. He saves 1L for it over City and gets more features with an excellent ride and handling and is happy. For anyone buying City- he is willing to shell out 1L extra to get peace of mind as is considered when you buy a Honda car. For him VFM is a good refined 118PS engine with a good service backup by Honda. He is willing to shell out 20-25k for alloys and gives a damn about ACC etc. When i was buying a car, even after booking Linea i had a few doubts in mind and knew i had taken a risk with my 7L but then my requirements were of a solid build car with a class leading ride and handling and gizmos to satisfy me as the car had to be used on highways and finally went in with Linea over City. Regarding ANHC being overpriced, it may be for a Linea or an SX4 owner but those who have experienced Honda's good service and their cars they swear by it and have atleast 2 Honda's in their garages. For them H badge is enough to spend a Lac extra with engine power being second preference. |
| |
| | #67 (permalink) |
| BHPian | Aren't the honda spares quite expensive compared to others in it's category ? I remember having seen a comparison chart of linea and other sedans, city spares were the most expensive of the lot. Also, the "Overview of the Service" in the "Test Drive" forum for City did not rank honda highly on the a.s.s . EDIT : Noted the discussion on the cost of spares in the last page.
__________________ October 2009 Grande Punto E Pk Multijet Last edited by sdp1975 : 18th September 2009 at 21:36. |
| |
| | #68 (permalink) | |
| BANNED Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: New Dlehi
| Quote:
Dont know how they came to this conclusison. People here have completed 10-12k kms in Lineas and havent seen anything being changed which costed them some thousand bucks or their suspensions or fuel pumps changed. Accident parts are also most expensive for City acc to that list, eg electric ORVM costs 1400 for Linea and SX4 and 3k plus for City which is almost double. Even difference in prices for front and rear bumpers was wide. | |
| |
| | #70 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Bangalore
| I fell in love with ANHC on the first drive. There is no doubt about it being the most balanced performer. But, (and this is a big-but), it scraped a speed-breaker as soon as I got out of the Ecospace on to the service road. In cities like Bangalore it is a deal-breaker. If only honda does something to raise the GC, I may find myself saving up for it. Cheers, Su-47
__________________ I thought this is a free world! Outta here... |
| |
| | #71 (permalink) | |
| BHPian Join Date: Sep 2005 Location: On The Net
| Quote:
On VFM, precision engineering is priceless. Last edited by pmbabu : 18th September 2009 at 22:28. | |
| |
| | #72 (permalink) | |
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
__________________ Honda - Providing the least Kilo per Lakh since 1948. | |
| |
| | #73 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Hyderabad
| Well this is highly debatable as per me.Of this lot Linea has proportions matching corolla/Civic. Compared to them the interior space is less. But compared to C-segment cars, it IS the most spacious. One of my major requirements was a spacious car and it had to feel bigger than our zen (especially the back seat). And I checked with my full family and here are our observations: Linea: Most spacious City: 2nd best space after Linea SX4: spacious front but back seat can only fit 2 Fiesta: most cramped and same as our zen Maybe this perception is because of the low roofline of Linea?
__________________ Fiat LINEA Emotion Pack FIRE 2009 Maruti ZEN LX 2002 Toyota COROLLA VE 1999 (Sold) |
| |
| | #74 (permalink) | |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Quote:
Shan2nu
__________________ "Why walk up the Stairway To Heaven, when u can drive down the Highway To Hell........... | |
| |
| | #75 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | In my view, ANHC is certainly overpriced for what it offers! But, it sells in good nos even though overpriced because of the Honda badge! People are ready to pay a premium for Honda cars coz for them Honda offers reliability, FE and Resale value! Unless other brands match up on all these attributes, Honda would continue to sell well in our country! But, Honda's strategy of milking its brand image may not work for long, look what is happening to Jazz! And other car makers are catching up on their strong points slowly & steadily.
__________________ Finney, Bangalore Fiat Palio 1.2 NV - 2004 Last edited by finneyp : 18th September 2009 at 23:03. |
| |
![]() |
« New Car PreDelivery Inspection List Part I, II, III and IV (by Kishor kulkarni)
|
A Mercedes SUV. Does it not sound right? »