Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP Worldwide > The International Automotive Scene

Old 4th May 2013, 01:53   #2551

Smile Student looking for a used car

Hello Bhpians,
I'm a student who is on the lookout for a reliable and fuel efficient used car. This will be my first in the U.S. I would be logging approximately <50 miles a day. My budget is limited to $2000. I am contemplating buying a 2002 Hyundai Accent (manual). More details can be found here http://cleveland.craigslist.org/cto/3766834799.html

Do you think this is a good proposition for a student on a really tight budget?
I've been searching for cars that meet my criteria on craigslist. I've noticed that Chevy's and Jeeps are really low-priced. I'm unsure about their reliability and fuel efficiency though. Please advice!

Thank You,
Sree.
sreepy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2013, 09:12   #2552
Team-BHP Support

Being a student, you probably live close to your university, I presume?

A car is definitely an attractive proposition but I suggest you wait before you get a job.

By a bicycle instead & use public transportation.

Insurance rates are going to be sky high, plus with added car maintenance plus fuel costs will barely be affordable.

Your on-campus job pays enough to cover your basic living expenses - mainly rent & food. Everything else is a luxury.

I know because I've been there.
aah78 is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2013, 17:39   #2553

Default Re: Buying, Owning, Driving and Maintaining a car in North America

Quote:
Originally Posted by aah78 View Post
Being a student, you probably live close to your university, I presume?.......I know because I've been there.