Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread

Old 12th June 2012, 12:19   #1

Default ... and I'm revvin'!!

Hello,

Its been over three months since I received a confirmation of registration at this forum. I've written countless introductions, but never thought any of them was 'good' enough to post. So I continued to silently follow the forum while I kept putting off the day I would take the plunge. So here I am today. What follows is a short history of nearly everything... about cars in my life.

I'm an Indian, which is the only way I can describe myself successfully, considering how we have ancestors and relatives from different parts of the county. My ancestors and relatives are mostly from the northern regions. I work as a project manager for a telecom software company. BSc(H) Maths and MCA seem like a lifetime ago...

I have really, really basic knowledge of cars. In fact, to tell you the truth, I've never really liked to drive... till yesterday. So here's how it happened.

I tried to learn how to drive when I turned 18, and when the lessons from the driving school were over, my father took me out on the road. I almost ran into a traffic policeman! Needless to say, my father did not try again. Then, when I got married, I felt I would be able to silently get through my life with the dependable driver I got free with a husband. But life had different plans for me. Our work places are now in complete opposite ends of our city, so I needed to get mobile, and soon. My husband was a little more successful in teaching me to drive, and we bought my first car - nice blue Maruti 800. After a year or two, I felt that I had grown enough as a driver to move to a Chevy Spark, which I have been driving for the past five years. Though nice enough, I viewed both cars as means to take me to work and back. And work is only 10 km away. But yesterday, everything changed...