Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Introduce yourself

Closed Thread

Old 19th July 2012, 20:17   #1
BHPian

Default Horsepower, resistance, melody and space

Hi Guys

I am Deepak Gupta and I am glad to have been accepted as a member here, itís always a pleasure to be in company of petrol heads, almost like belonging to a clan of hippies who meditate to the sound of music no one else can hear!

I work as an electrical integration engineer at Jaguar Landrover in UK. It has been quite a long journey from the days when I used to lust over and risk a limb to catch a second glimpse of a Jaguar outside my engineering college. I graduated with electronics engineering degree in 2007 and worked in electrical automation with Siemens in Bombay for 3 years. The love for cars was always there, I donít know what made me fall in love with cars and electronics, I guess it was the curiosity to learn more about tiny things making big and beautiful machines work faster and better. I then moved on to UK to get my masters in Automotive Systems from Loughborough University and eventually landed up in JLR with an internship. I started working on a permanent role six months ago. I have been having the time of my life for the past 8 months now, every day is an absolute joy

I do admit that I lack first hand experience of working on cars partly because I never had a car in my house, I bought my first car a month ago and partly because I was too busy fiddling around with circuits and resistors. But I love every bit of my driving here in UK, I have a red Honda Civic 1.6 SE VTEC. A Honda city 1.5 VTEC has always been my dream car to buy in India, I am moving very close to that dream!!

Besides cars and electronics, I worship rock gods like Jim Morrison, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd (the list is too long to post here). Astrophotography is my next desired foray, any one here who has ventured into the amazing world of hooking a DSLR to a telescope ??

Deepak
Old 19th July 2012, 22:39   #2